Humans logo

Bettin' Man

By: Joshua Mason

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
9

I woke up Saturday afternoon to the sound of my alarm blaring. I rolled over grabbing my phone my fingers fumbling trying to find the snooze button on it. Thankfully before I could I forced my eyes open long enough to see the words "Races in 5" scrolling across my phone. I finally found the snooze button managing to sit up on my bed all at the same time. Though with this came the quick and immediate punishment of my stomach flipping on itself as my hung over addled brain and body tried to make sense of the sudden change in perspective. After I managed to force my stomach back down to a regular position within my body I stood and stumbled my way over to the radio flicking it on as I grabbed my black betting book. As soon as I heard the sound coming from the radio and had book in hand I went and found my way back to the bed. I sat on the edge of the bed flipping towards the middle of my book trying to remember who I had even bet on for todays race. I had finally broken even with the bookie just last week so of course I had felt invincible and had taken my last $1000 out of the bank for the biggest bet of my life. There was a horse named Sea Bred who was running at 19-1 odds and if I could win today I would have 20,000 in winnings. That was more than enough money to start over my whole life and actually move forward for the first time in a long time. I had even made a deal with God that if I could win today I would stop drinking and betting.

I was snapped from my thoughts by the sound of the horn blaring over the radio. I sat forward on the bed listening for the name of my horse. Finally it came up he was in 4th right now but I knew more than anyone how fast luck could change on the track. I had been through so many ups and downs more than I could even count. The announcer was prattling on then I heard Sea Bred again she was up in 2nd now with only 100 yards to go. I leaned forward on my bed listening intently. All my hopes and dreams were riding on this horse. I could see her pounding the track and in my mind I was there cheering her on. "Come on! Come on!" Suddenly the race was over and they were declaring a photo finish. I hopped up off the bed and started pacing my ears almost swiveling on my skull listening to the radio. The announcer just kept talking not announcing the win and suddenly he stopped "Ladies and gentleman the results are in and the winner of today's race is Sea Bred!!!!" I jumped in the air yelling with joy. Almost fell through my floor as I landed and I could already hear my neighbor yelling for me to shut up but I really didn't care. I had finally won and now I could actually move forward. Get a new apartment away from this squalor and maybe even eat real food now that I wouldn't be drinking. I had never been low on funds really just everything had gone to my drinking and gambling so I had forced myself into this lower place in my life. But now that was all about to change for the better.

I threw on some clothes that didn't have holes in them, grabbed a small duffel bag to put my earnings in, and ran out of my apartment on the way to the bus stop. I was finally going to get a car too. Man the more I thought about it the better everything seemed. I had made sure to grab my book on the way out the door just so my bookie couldn't try to cheat me out of today. He had even signed off in my book as a sign of good faith for today so I really hoped that he wasn't going to try to renege on our deal. As I got out of the apartment building I could see the bus coming down the street towards me. Man it really was my lucky day. I stood at the bus stop bouncing on the balls of my feet waiting impatiently for the bus. It finally arrived and as soon as the doors opened I was running up the stairs swiping my bus card across the scanner and finding a seat. I sat for the bus ride tapping my foot thinking about what all I was going to do with this money. Apartment, clothes, car, and most importantly advancing my education. I had worked in mid management at a loan company for almost 7 years now but what I had really wanted was to start my own business. I had always dreamed to open a shop for tabletop gaming. It was something I had gotten into in high school and was also the only time I had friends. After I left high school I had stopped hanging out with everyone because I had left and gone to a different college out-of-town. But because of those experiences I had decided that I wanted to make my shop for that sort of thing. A place where friends could come together and have the same fun I did. Unfortunately part way through my degree was when the drinking and the gambling started and well it all fell apart rather soon thereafter.

I looked up just in time to see my stop coming up rather rapidly. I got myself ready to move the second the bus came to a stop. The bus stopped and I jumped up rushing past everyone else hopping off the bus. I started running down the street my bookie was only a block away now. I could even hear myself humming 'I've got a Golden ticket.' I reached my bookies place and finally calmed myself down some before knocking on the door. The door cracked open then suddenly swung open to my bookies smiling face "You did it buddy! You won. So now the real question? You really going to give it up? I'm not going to see your ugly mug on my doorstep no more." I nodded "Yeah. This is it for me. It is time for me to get my life back on track. I'm going to finish college and actually open my shop. One way or another." The bookie brought me into his house where I could already see his desk in his office with a small pyramid of cash sitting on top of it. He swept me off into the office and took my duffel bag out of my hands. He took a seat behind his desk and began to move the money into the bag for me. I was still standing there dumbfounded at the money my mind racing far ahead as a smile started to take over my face until I was grinning from ear to ear. My bookie finally finished putting all the money into the bag standing back up and putting it into my hands. "There you go buddy. 20 grand in fifties for ya. Well I guess this is goodbye huh?" That finally managed to snap me out of my daze "Huh? Yeah. I mean I'll keep in touch just no more bets for me." I put the bag down at my feet and pulled my bookie in for a hug as I could feel myself start to cry "Thank you. You really have no idea how much this means to me. Thank you so much for everything over the years. All my ups and downs and everything in between." My bookie just laughed and patted my back "Hey man it's all good. I'm just glad to see you happy for the first time in a long time. You take that money and go start your new life." I let go of him and picked up the bag nodding. Without another word I turned and walked out the door towards the beginning of the next chapter of my life.

humanity
9

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    I'VE THOUGHT ABOUT DOING THAT, BUT I AM AFRAID I'LL MAKE MY SITUATION WORSE. UPBEAT READ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.