Humans logo

Being Superman.. Well at least wearing the cape.

This is a story about being fearless in the face of danger, more specifically fire.

By JohnPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Eagle Creek Oregon fire 2020 Image: Author (Me)

This story starts back in mid September 2020 during some wildfires that took place in the Northwest region of Oregon. There were many fires that were taking place around the state and country during this time but this story is specifically about the fire that took place closest to me and the place that I call home. I share this place with my girlfriend and her father who is 70+ years old and has a heart condition and at the time our 60 pound dog "Sugar". Our house is nothing special, but is a somewhat ran down, old blue-ish manufactured home with a lot of yard and outside space. As climate change has taken more of toll on the world, we have noticed significantly hotter days during the summer months. So for as hot as it was and being in the drought that we were in it was only a matter of time before a fire was ignited closer to us in addition to the other fires burning already not too far away from us.

The day started as any other day typically did, just a little more hazy and the air quality a little more poor. At the time I was working from home and my girlfriend was working about 45-1 hour away from our home depending on the traffic and time of day. I took her to work in Portland as I usually would and then got back home and turned on the news to monitor other fires that were being battled in nearby cities and surrounding areas. At that point I was aware of the threat but not worried yet. A couple of hours had gone by and it was time for me to get up from my desk and get some lunch and stretch my legs a little which typically consisted of me going out on the porch and getting some fresh air. The moment I opened the door and stepped outside I knew in my soul that something did not feel right.

Our house is located right off of a highway that connects two smaller cities. I mention this because in addition to the thick smoke that you could taste and the significantly decreased visibility. There were cars racing back and forth frantically up and down the highway. I immediately went back inside not only because I couldn't breathe but because I was in search of my phone so I could log in and check in our local community groups and also check the news and wildfire apps for any update to what I was seeing with my own eyes. After doing some research I found that there had been a fire approaching all along that was not discovered nor discussed until it was seemingly too late. The news, neighbors and local officials said it was to be monitored but to they are working on it and to stay alert our homes area had been moved into "be ready evacuation status". So as calm mannered as I could I called my girlfriend and updated her on the situation and said I would keep her updated.

Image: Oregonlive.com

Roughly about an hour or so has gone by and I now have chewed of every last bit of finger nail I once had on either hand. I am frantically refreshing my news and social feeds and weather apps trying to stay alert to any changes that may affect us. After many times of refreshing the apps and the smoke now creeping into the crevasse's of the house I seen the yellow "be ready" turn to RED "GO NOW"! My heart has now dropped into my stomach and I am now starting to worry.. I call the girlfriend and explain to her the unfortunate circumstance and the possibility of us having to evacuate the house. We both become frantic and emotionally unstable and unaware of what lay ahead for us and with her being away at her office it made things more unsetting and worrisome. I stated to her I would be her updated and do whatever I had to do in order to keep our house and belongings safe.

After maybe another hour or so a couple things have happened. The news has stated that the Riverside Fire is spreading rapidly and there is not end in sight. The police are now going door to door and marking driveways with spray paint which residents have been notified and another mark of them accepting the suggestion to leave or if they are staying. The fire has now jumped the the highway and is pushing into our small town and the Estacada area with no signs of slowing down. I immediately went and notified the neighbors and suggested they leave as I was going to be prepping to do. I call my girlfriend and say to her "We have to leave.. Babe I'm scared" She starts to express her worries and the fact that she is not her to help me pack and help with her dad and dog, Sugar. I hang up with my girlfriend and I start to rack my brain in a nervous panic on what my next step is going to be. I almost collapsed as I started to cry.

With the fire approaching and daylight running out and limited resources I made a decision. I decided to strap on my superman cape and do whatever I could to gather as much as I could and get out as soon as possible. My girlfriends father was very hesitant to help or even consider leaving the house although it may not physically be standing much longer if the fire keeps moving our direction. So sparing the minor details, I gathered everything that I felt was most valuable including my girlfriends pictures of her deceased mother and ashes and irreplicable keep sakes and anything else that cant be replaced. I managed to pack up my full size truck and my mid sized sedan to the brim. Every time I would enter into the house I would find more and more that I felt couldn't be left behind that I would stash in any little space I could. Finally I had to stop. The biggest task came next.

I then explained one last time to my girlfriend's father that he CANNOT stay, it is NOT safe and we have to go, I finally convinced him. I helped him gather as much as we could and we agreed that I would be driving my truck to my mothers in Portland and he would be taking my car to his sister in laws in Gresham. As I prepared to leave the house I stopped and realized my throat is sore from the thick smoke and my eyes were sore and dry from crying off and on and the smoke. I stopped and realized my cape was now tatter and torn and I have been emotionally and spiritually defeated. I knew I had to suck it up and be strong for my girlfriend and her father. As I pulled away from the house the only thing that crossed my mind is all the people that were leaving behind everything they have built or obtained over who knows how long and they may never be able to return or build again. My heart was shattered into a million pieces as I sat in traffic for as far as the eye could see with others evacuating from their home as well.

As we followed the news and the fire updates we maintained contact with our neighbors and people from our area over the next week or so. There were many cases where individuals were trying to take advantage of the situation by stealing cars, boats and breaking into homes that were left unoccupied which led to many sleepless nights and many stressful trips out to the house whenever possible. Fast forward a few more days and we finally got the okay to return home and got the "all clear". So shy of two weeks we returned home to that was still in one piece, not burnt and not broke into and all our belongings in tow. A lot of people were not that fortunate though. Several people in surrounding areas lost their house and everything they once called home. For some, nothing would ever be the same.

www.kgw.com

The silver lining in all of this is that tough times don't last, tough people do. My girlfriend admired my effort that put forth and her father ultimately showed his gratitude toward me for everything I did for his family. Although it was one of the most stressful experiences that I have ever went through I believe I came out stronger and it is definitely a proud moment to look back and realize the seriousness of the situation and how I was able to jump into action and take the steps to keep everyone safe. Its amazing how we as humans react to stressful situations. When we get put into a position where its fight or flight some may be surprised what we are capable of. I am proud of my reaction but more importantly I am proud of every single fire fighter, first responder and every volunteer that put forth the effort to get the fires under control and provide safety and peace of mind to all affected. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart... Thank you.

Johnathon S.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

John

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.