Humans logo

Being in a Marriage After Being a Single Mom

By: Karly Krull

By Karly KrullPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

I found out I was pregnant with my son Viktor in February of 2017. I was with my son's Father for almost three years before we called it quits. I dated someone else briefly but, could not move forward from the relationship I had with my ex. One night my son's father came over, we made up and our son Viktor was conceived. We managed to work things out throughout my entire pregnancy but, things did get bumpy again and we called it quits once more. We stayed separated and did not get back together again. Truth is the feelings were still strongly there I found even after we both got into different relationships. Nick and I were truly in love but, all I will say is that he got involved with the wrong people and things and that is what caused us to not continue our relationship.

I continued to move forward in my life after being in some relationships that once again were not working out. I then decided it was better for my son and I if I stayed a single Mom for awhile. I always have and always will put my son Viktor first. Eventually, I met the man who is now my husband. My husband's name is Joe. There is actually quite an age difference between my husband and I. I am going to be twenty four next week and my husband will be forty eight in August. Some of you reading this may already be thinking, "What?!" or, "She's just a gold digger!" but, these things are not the case.

I met my husband at a friend's memorial day picnic in May of 2019. Joe was actually who approached me and showed interest. He was so much older I just thought he was being friendly but, he thought I was attractive and wanted to get to know me better. I discovered this after I had told my friend I was leaving the picnic and he overheard this and proceeded to ask for my number. I gave him my number because, he was very sweet and I am glad that I did. We got to know each other better and started dating soon after. Very shortly after Joe and I started dating my son's father passed away. The wrong people and wrong things in his life eventually got the best of him. It is sad and still upsets me. Nick will always have a piece of my heart but, I must continue to live life. I moved forward and stayed with Joe.

In November of 2019, Joe and I got a place together. The following month on December 19, 2019 Joe proposed! I said yes because, even if it did seem to move a little fast I knew in my heart I had found a wonderful man. Being truthful at first when we started dating the age difference did bother me somewhat because, I suppose I cared to much of other people's reactions. It was in fact a big change and adjustment for friends and family of mine but, the more they got to know him and the more I got to know Joe as well the less it got to me. Today, I think nothing of it and this relationship has taught me that age is just a number. It is a very cliche' saying but, it is true. I was and still am happy to see that my friends and family adjusted to the age difference as well. I am just happy to be with someone who makes me happy and cares for Viktor and I.

Joe truly is caring, selfless, thoughtful and always there for my son and I. Nothing against my son's father but, after Nick passed away Joe really did step up to the plate and become an amazing father figure to Viktor. Truthfully, Joe is actually the only father figure Viktor has ever had. When Nick passed away Viktor was only about one and a half and he is now three and a half. It has been amazing as a Mom to watch my baby grow into a toddler and it has been amazing to experience it with my husband. Joe has been there for Viktor since day one and he never had children of his own. Joe has proven to me he can be and is an amazing father. I still tell Viktor about his biological father Nick and make sure he knows what a kind and caring person he was as well.

Anyways, last December Joe and I realized it was about the time to get married because we had almost been engaged for a year at that time. We eloped to Las Vegas, Nevada and coincidentally got married on December 19, 2020 exactly a year after he proposed. Before flying to Las Vegas with Joe I had never been on a plane. Flying on the plane was an amazing experience. It was so nice seeing the beautiful views of the cities below when we took off and when we were landing at our destination. We stayed at a the hotel called the Flamingo. I loved it! It was so fancy and relaxing! We walked along the strip of Las Vegas and saw so many interesting stores and restaurants. We went to a store I still shop at online that sells soap and bath bombs called Nectar Bath Treats and we went to a very cool restaurant called I Love Sugar. We ate gummy bears that were soaked in vodka! We also went to a Hunger Games exhibition! We rode on a train just like in the movie and got to go to a "Victor Training Room" to practice archery like Katniss Everdeen. It was an awesome experience!

Joe and I are still considered newly weds as it is only June of 2021 but, we are still very happy together. Marriage is work and no relationship is perfect but, we are happy together. We both love each other very much. It was truthfully a huge change going from single Mom to married wife with a child within a couple years! We now live in a home with a nice size yard and it has three bedrooms! He makes me happy and our home is happy! Viktor is very happy as well.

Marriage is a lot of work and definitely not for people who do not want to put in the work. As long as you both work together as a team, communicate with each other and love each other anything can be accomplished! Even if it takes time it can and will be accomplished. To those of you that read this I hope you enjoyed it and I hope if you have not found someone you love and cherish you do in time. You will probably find them when you are not even looking. Be the best you that you can be and eventually you will meet someone to make you an even better version of you!

marriage
2

About the Creator

Karly Krull

I am open-minded, a free spirit and mother of Viktor Karl 10/9/17‍ 👶💕 Oats Mr. Sprinkles🐈🐈Always good vibes ✌️☮️ Writing is my passion! ♥️#heartlikeahandgrenade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.