Humans logo

Be Honest!

You Guys Hate It When Icons Are Mentioned

By Janay EaleyPublished about a year ago 4 min read

I had an argument with someone on Twitter today that I didn’t expect to get combative with because I don’t see the harm in what I said. First of all, it was a tweet about an unpopular opinion about Katy Perry. Second of all, my tweet was a response to another person who shared their thoughts about how they felt that Katy Perry owned the pop genre and credit needs to be due. Third of all, I agreed with their opinion.

Here is the tweet:

This tweet was posted on March 18th.

As soon as I hit the enter button, a couple of minutes go by and I check my notifications to some likes on my comment, likes and replies on other comments were desperately trying to clown what I said and someone who replied to me who clearly misunderstood the point of my tweet. Here are my tweets and his tweets:

This tweet was posted on March 19th.

This tweet was posted on March 19th.

This person answered the question I posed at the end of my tweet without even realizing it. What was so difficult of him saying the last response when they first replied to me? Am I crazy or not?

The tweet was posted on March 19th.

They even brought up things that were irrelevant. Where in that tweet was, I comparing Janet Jackson to Katy Perry? How was I debating between artists when I was actually agreeing with what was said about Katy Perry? People know good and well that older artists are more likely to receive credit and praise for music genres more than an artist who were not known in those eras.

I used Janet Jackson as an example of an older artist when I could’ve said other older artists such as Madonna, Barbara Streisand, The Rolling Stones etc...

I am very a quiet person outside of social media. I barely speak anyone, but I know how to use my words very carefully when it comes to the page. If I had said: Every other artist is credited for the genre of pop but what about the artists who came up from different era who have made impact on that genre such as Katy Perry? I bet those notifications wouldn’t even existed. I couldn’t believe that this person would make up assumptions about me when number one, we are on the internet.

No one really knows anyone. They thought because of one opinion which is misinterpreted, I believe the opinions of others such as Harry Styles being titled the king of pop (which is false) and Justin Timberlake is on the same level as Michael Jackson (which is not true). Harry’s music, style and sound doesn’t make him influential. What has he done for music for him to earn that title? Justin Timberlake is not on the same level as Michael Jackson.

They never did the same things as artists so how are they on the same level? One is impactful and the other is not. One has done this and the other hasn’t. So, I do apologize to those who took my tweet the wrong way, but I will not apologize for how I feel. Those are two different things: Just like how people felt like I shouldn’t have put an iconic artist in the same sentence as an artist from a different era, I felt like I had the right to voice my opinion on an artist who I feel doesn’t get enough credit that an older artist is likely to receive.

Thank you for the five people who liked my tweet because they understood where I was coming from, or they probably disagree but was able to respect my feelings. I am not a fan of Janet Jackson, but I am aware of her legacy. I didn’t disrespect her legacy and I didn’t compare her to Katy Perry. I didn’t belittle Janet to uplift Katy. I simply said that artists like her are given credit for pop genre but what about Katy Perry?

In the tweet about the unpopular opinion of Katy Perry, the individual added that people don't like to acknowledge that Katy kept that genre alive. When you recognize someone's accomplishments in something, that is called giving credit or props. People do that to artists all the time especially on Twitter.

Fanbases are notorious for this act. I knew people on my father’s side who are in music, I attended an academy of arts when I was a child, (starred in a whole musical called Fiddler In Roof) I written an entire song as a child (had the melody and lyrics down pack) Even though, after all of these years: I don’t care for it anymore but it was a prized possession to me.

I know a female on my father’s side who has been singing in the church as a child and she does! She’s a vocal coach and she sings at weddings.

Look at this account, just liking all of their tweets:

They are proving my point but thank you for reading this story! I will say this again: It is great for writers to use the most smallest experiences to create the biggest stories. In a couple of minutes, the tweet will be deleted because more Janet stans in my mentions, speaking to me any kind of way. Leave your thoughts in the comments! Was I wrong for what I tweeted or do you think you were wrong? I am surprised at the amount of impressions that my tweet has recieved so there's a silver lining somwhere.

pop culture

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Janay EaleyWritten by Janay Ealey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.