Humans logo

Be brave enough to try what you want to do

Be brave enough to try what you want to do

By 起飞Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Be brave enough to try what you want to do

A person who has an ideal must also have the perseverance to achieve it, so that nothing can be done. Let's look at the perseverance of the American explorer John Goddard, who set 127 goals in his life and has now achieved 106 of them.

As far back as forty-four years ago, John Goddard made a list of the great things he wanted to do in his life. He was just a kid in a suburb of Los Angeles who had never seen the world before. He named that list as his life's ambition. Listed on the table: to the Nile, Amazon and Congo River expeditions; Everest Everest, Mount Kilimanjaro and Mount Methuen; read Shakespeare, Plato and Aristotle's works; a music score; write a book; visit every country in the world; get married and have children; visit the moon, and so on. Each item is numbered, for a total of 127 goals.

He explained: I wrote that list because at the age of 15 I had a clear understanding of my lack of experience. I was still immature, but I had the same potential as others, and I wanted to do something very much. I was extremely interested in everything: travel, medicine, music, literature, and I wanted to encourage others. So, I made that grand blueprint, and with a goal in mind, I felt like I had something to do every moment of every day. I also knew that people around me tend to stick to the rules, they never take risks, they never dare to challenge themselves in any way. I was determined not to go down that road.

Goddard has had eighteen life-changing experiences on his journey to achieve his goals. He recalls: These experiences taught me to appreciate life a hundredfold and to try anything I could do. People often live their whole lives without ever showing great courage, strength and endurance, but I found that when you

But I have found that when you get to the point where you are going to be finished anyway, you will suddenly develop amazing strength and control that you never dreamed you had in you. When you have experienced this, you will feel that your soul has ascended to another realm.

He points out that almost everyone has their own goals and dreams, but not everyone will try to achieve them. Goddard's attitude toward the pursuit of dreams is extremely valuable. He once said, "A lifelong ambition was set when I was very young, and it reflects the ambitions of a teenager, of which there are certainly

things I no longer want to do, like climbing Everest. It is often the case with setting goals to strive for; some things may be out of your reach and cannot be accomplished, but that does not mean that you must give up on the whole pursuit.

It pays to take a fresh look at your life and ask yourself the following question.

If I only have one more year to live, what am I going to do?

If you ask a random person what you want to do, he will answer with a list of things he wants to do. Then ask him why he doesn't do it. He will list a lot of reasons not to do it, or that there is no time, even if he has nothing to do all day. It is not difficult for people to have a dream, but it is difficult to be brave enough to realize the dream, and the dream is not actually out of reach, but people are intimidated by the difficulties they create before they act.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.