Humans logo

Bang Up Beats and Backyard BBQ'S

For: My Dad, Rory Baldwin

By Jessica TaylorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My mind escapes me and travels back in time... Ah, yes, my younger years; fun times, and not so fun times. All a reminder of life before now; a life that intertwines with another tide.

I close my eyes and I can taste the moments; clear and vividly the music plays, so many from the 60's, 70's, and 80's. From "Fleetwood Mac," "Elvis," and "Neil Diamond" to "Buffalo Springfield," "Queen and David Bowie," and of course one of my favorites "Journey."

Where the music ends the games are playing on the tele... Momma making the potato salad and preparing the appetizers or desert tray. Outside I can hear poppa yelling at the tele because our favorite team at the time missed a goal or shot by the hair of their chinny chin chin, as he flips the burgers and rolls the dogs.

I can see the children as they once were... small and full of energy. The sprinkler is running and the mini pool is full, poppa put the kiddie slide in one end and I can see my two girls fighting over who gets to go down first. I laugh knowing that in the background my nephew is sneaking up behind them... Suddenly, he's up on the stairs and sitting on the slide. Both my girls look at him and scowl. And he only says "Nope, I'm first. Ha ha ha."

After a hearty laugh from mom and dad, as well as the rest of us, I see mom put the buns on the grill, and dad turn the ribs lobster tails and steaks for the adults. I walk into the house to help mom bring out the rest of the food.

I remember when mom and dad told us kids that they had fallen in love and were going to get married.. My step-brother and I were so mad at them because before they had even started dating, he and I had a huge crush on each other. My mother was married to my biological father and he (the man who became my step dad) and my family were friends. Well when my biological asshole and my dear mom divorced; he (the man who became dad) stepped up to the plate for my mother. Well little did my crush and I know that our parents had fallen for each other and were getting married. I remember being in shock and my crush (now step-brother) telling his dad that he cold not marry my mom because he was going to marry me. (now keep in mind we were little; under the age of ten). I remember our parents laughing and we were so angry. Now that I look back on it, i laugh uncontrollably.

He taught me so much; and he encouraged me to follow my heart and my dreams. I have so many memories and he taught me so much that I could write a 3000 page book.

There was so much love filling the air, and the seasons heat just fueled that love more. I remember every moment that was spent with him, he took us to the county fair; he taught me how to defend myself from the bullies. Those lessons were harsh, but, looking back, they were also fun. I remember the fishing trips and the camping trips; how he helped me raise both of my beautiful girls. He was there at my wedding, walking me down the isle. The memories were vast and they last in my heart always.

It was moments like these that always meant more to poppa, his love is what gave me the wings I needed to fly. His teachings were so many, and though I was not his blood, I was still his daughter. His passing took us all by surprise, but, he is still in our hearts. He is missed, but, he will always be loved. Rest in peace our poppa, until we meet again.

family
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Taylor

My deepest desire is to be able to help people; since I am too shy to be a professional speaker I decided that writing is my next best option. However, I do love the feel of the pen upon the page and the clicking of my keys on my keyboard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.