Humans logo

Awakening

To Jump or not to Jump

By Isabella RosePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
4

“I don’t know why I am doing this,” he declared as he gripped the metal arm rest, turning his knuckles pale white.

The distinct hum of the powerful engine echoed over the chatter of the other passengers. Smiling, she looked at him.

“What are you afraid of?” she asked in support.

“Nuclear war, humanity’s ultimate destruction, and most of all, heights,” he responded loud enough for a young woman in the seat in front to turn around.

A sharp pause befell him, before he added, “Myself, that is what I fear. The power to create and destroy in equal measure is what truly horrifies me.”

Placing her hand on the side of his face, she responds calmly, “You are the reason that I approach the world with such bravery, My Raven. You are the reason for my smile. I don’t fear you, and I never have,” she replied calmly before lying her head on his shoulder.

Poking the monitor on the seat in front of her, she excitingly exclaimed, “We are only two hours away.”

He gave her a joyful smile as he spotted the smile of excitement on her face, “They were wrong you know, the great philosopher’s.” he spoke unexpectedly.

An expression of curiosity overtook her face as a vision of the ancient pyramids flashed in her mind’s eye. She giggled as she recalled the patience she had as she covered her Ken doll in Play-Doh. They would be walking hand in hand in Egypt soon.

“Wrong how?” she inquired with a hint of curiosity in her voice.

“The idiom of ‘know yourself’ it’s not the path. Thinking leads to fear, doubt, and disbelief. It makes you question if you can, it is better to just know you can and not question the what ifs. A child that comes into this world explores, expresses, and is just does, are they not happy? You don’t see them sitting about thinking if they can, they just do. What is it to be human? it’s no different than being a fox, a raven, or any other creature alive on this planet. One thing that binds everything is the need to have fun, to not question, or doubt, just to jump headfirst into a pile of snow. Plato, Socrates, and alike, are all wrong. The meaning of life is to enjoy it because life is short. You speak to anyone that suffers with fear, doubt, and disbelief, they simply never learned to let go, to have fun, to just be.”

Kissing him gently on the lips, she exclaimed, “Now, you understand why I have so much joy, My Darling.” I’m nothing more than a thirteen-year-old in spirit. I have no anxieties. The only thing I ever fear is leaving your arms.”

“Is it fear of losing me, or the fear of life no longer being fun?” he responded through a chuckle.

“No. It’s the fear of not having you that scares me. Ever since we first spoke, I had this unexplainable desire to be with you. We should always have fun together. You are my Raven, and I’m hopelessly in love with you,” she gushed as she pulled him close, before imploring, “Look out the window at the pretty lights,” as she slid the heavy covering to the top.

He cringed as he glanced out of the window, “We are so high in the air,” he responded.

Entwining her fingers with his, she replied, “Yes, we are!”

“Are we actually high up or is it the fact that we believe that we are make it so?” he replied as he squeezed her hand.

The End…

Written by Raven and his Little One on March 2, 2024.

travelStream of Consciousnesslovehumanityfriendship
4

About the Creator

Isabella Rose

I am a dedicated author with a passion for fiction. I own a joint business with my amazingly talented co-writer and poet, Raven Black.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    "I’m nothing more than a thirteen-year-old in spirit." This made me smile because in spirit, I'm nothing more than an eight year old hehehehehehe. So happy to a story from you guys after quite some time! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.