Humans logo

An Angel, Mother & Muse

Forever Held In High Regard

By Sharna HalliwellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
An Angel, Mother & Muse
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

This is my open letter to the three people in my life who have helped shape me into the person I am today.

Dear Nan,

Thank you for adopting my mother. You always put everyone else's needs before your own, and I feel blessed that I was raised by you. I have so many wonderful childhood memories, and I'll never forget all you have done for me. You were so graceful and selfless; you were the picture-perfect role model of a loving, caring mother. Because of you, I can pass on your admirable traits to my own children. You always managed to show unwavering kindness to the world around you. Even though you're no longer here, you will always live on through the beautiful qualities you gave to me. Every time I aspire to be better, I ask myself, what you would have done. I hope you're proud of me; I miss you so much!

My Beautiful Nan & Gorgeous Mother

Dear Mom,

You are the strongest person I know, and I'm forever inspired by your strength. You've always had such confidence in everything you do, and I've always strived to have your elegance. You've taught me some vital life lessons, and for that, I'm eternally grateful. I've seen you treat your cancer like it's the common cold on more than one occasion. You've made brain aneurysms look like a walk in the park, not to mention the whole array of other health issues you've had over the past 19 years. You've shown me that no matter what rubbish life wants to throw at you, you just need to get back up and show it who's boss. Even with all the horror life has hurled your way, you still manage to find a way to laugh your way through it. You are the reason for my courage. You are the reason I can find humor in bad situations, and you are the reason I strive to be better. We may have been through some tough times together, but you will always be my mother, and I will always look up to you. You have always been my hero. Thank you for never giving up on me and keeping it real. I love you so much!

My Mama Bear

Dear Mrs. Fogarty,

When I think back to why I started writing, it's because you had faith in me. You weren't just another high school English teacher; you gave me something to believe in... and that was myself. You saw something special in me, and I will always hold that close to my heart. I remember sitting alone at the back of the class when I handed you a short story I had written. Never had I imagined it would be a turning point in my existence. One day you approached me in class and told me how you enjoyed my short stories so much that you would read them to your husband when you got home. To me, that was incredibly heartwarming. I still honor you by telling people about the day you noticed another student picking on me. The one comment you made in defense of me was, "I wouldn't pick on her if I was you; she's going to make something of herself with her writing one day." You saw something in me that I couldn't see in myself. Unbeknownst to you, I was experiencing depression and anxiety at the time. However, I found light in that darkness, and that was writing. I could write fiction to escape my suffering and create places to reside in through difficult times. The reason I write to this day is all thanks to you. I hope that wherever you are, you know that your decision to become a teacher has genuinely changed my life for the better.

By Green Chameleon on Unsplash

I want to conclude this letter by thanking everyone else in my life who has been there for me. You may not have been personally mentioned, but I still hold you all close to my heart.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Sharna Halliwell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.