Humans logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Al Roker: A Grandfather's Gratitude for Early Prostate Cancer Detection

In an event of Father’s Day, beloved TODAY show weatherman Al Roker shares how early detection of prostate cancer allowed him to meet his granddaughter.

By Mian HamidPublished 10 days ago 4 min read

Al Roker A Grandfather's Gratitude for Early Prostate Cancer Detection

In September 2020, amid the COVID pandemic, Al Roker contemplated postponing his annual physical. Ultimately, he decided to keep the appointment—a decision that proved crucial. It led to the discovery of an aggressive form of prostate cancer, which was thankfully caught early.

On November 9, 2020, Roker, 69, underwent surgery at New York City's Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center to remove his prostate, lymph nodes, and some surrounding tissue. Today, his Prostate-Specific Antigen (PSA) levels are below 1, considered undetectable.

Roker shares his journey to encourage other men, particularly Black men, who are twice as likely to die from prostate cancer, to get checked. He feels blessed to have caught the cancer early, allowing him to remain close to his wife, ABC News' senior national affairs correspondent Deborah Roberts, their daughter Leila, son Nick, his daughter Courtney from his first marriage, and her daughter, Sky, who turns one in July.

Related :Savannah Guthrie's Pals Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager Honor Very Dear Today Co-Host on Her 52nd Birthday

“I’m so grateful I’m here to see my first grandchild,” he says about Sky. “If there’s any reason to make sure you’re as healthy as possible, it’s that. That little girl is everything. I love my children, but my gosh, I didn’t know I could love another person this much.”

In his essay, Roker recounts his path to becoming cancer-free.

During COVID, there was a lull, and I thought, "Oh, I need to get a physical." I’d put it off because it just seemed too difficult. So I went to my GP, who did all the tests.

Al Roker A Grandfather's Gratitude for Early Prostate Cancer Detection

He said, "Everything's great, but your PSA number is up, and that could be any number of things."

Related :Jill Martin Shares Emotional Videos While Trying on Wigs After Chemo Hair Loss I’m Dressing Up As Myself

He sent me to a urologist who suggested we re-test in two weeks.

Two weeks later, my PSA was still elevated, so the urologist recommended a biopsy. He assured me, "We'll have the results in two weeks. Don’t worry about it."

When I returned for the results, he closed the door and said, "I always prefer to discuss these matters in person." I was stunned when he mentioned prostate cancer. I zoned out after that, which is why it helps to have someone with you during such appointments.

I hadn’t known I’d receive a diagnosis that day; otherwise, I would have brought Deborah with me. When I told her, she was alarmed and felt guilty for not being there. She immediately became my advocate, attending every appointment and taking notes.

We did extensive research and, thanks to connections through the Today show, I found Dr. Vincent Laudone at Memorial Sloan Kettering. After genetic testing, it was confirmed that I had a fairly aggressive form of prostate cancer.

I opted for surgery to remove the cancer.

A month later, I had the operation.

Related :Hilarious Reaction by Jon Hamm and Jimmy Fallon While Reading Dramatic Versions of Christmas Carols

This experience motivated me to prioritize my health. Post-surgery, they advised walking for recovery, so I did—up to five miles a day.

After the surgery, you must return in six months for a check-up. As the date approached, I felt anxious. Thankfully, my PSA was undetectable.

This ordeal saved my life. Public figures can choose to stay private, but I believe sharing my story can help others. Black men are particularly vulnerable to prostate cancer and more likely to die from it. After my story aired, there was a 40% increase in prostate exams among men.

Al Roker A Grandfather's Gratitude for Early Prostate Cancer Detection

Two years later, I faced another major health crisis. I was hospitalized in 2023 for blood clots that spread to my lungs and internal bleeding from ulcers. Surgeons resected my colon, removed my gallbladder, and repaired my duodenum. My doctor said that being in good shape likely saved my life.

Related :Travis Kelce's Old Tweets Turned into Hilarious Song by Jimmy Fallon and Black Thought

So, in a way, the prostate cancer diagnosis saved my life twice.

Prostate cancer often has no symptoms until it's advanced. Early detection is crucial. Yes, the exam can be momentarily uncomfortable, but it’s essential.

The American Cancer Society recommends screenings starting at age 45 for Black men and those with a family history of prostate cancer. The Prostate Cancer Foundation advises Black men to begin testing at 40. All men aged 55-69 should discuss screening with their doctors.

I’m fortunate to have Deborah as my advocate and access to excellent healthcare. Many people don’t have such advantages, and this must change. If I had waited months for treatment, my story might have had a different ending.

Spending time with my granddaughter is a joy. She’s well-loved, content, and has a refined palate for a baby. Her mom is a chef, so that’s not surprising.

Good health allows me more precious moments with loved ones, and for that, I am deeply grateful.

The Quran - Chapter Ar-Rahman : 78

Blessed is the Name of your Lord, full of Majesty and Honour.

celebrities

About the Creator

Mian Hamid

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mian HamidWritten by Mian Hamid

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.