Humans logo

Adunni Ade FINALLY Opens up About Tough Soólè Cinema Experience

Adunni finally talks wetin her eyes see

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Adunni Ade positively surprised fans last year when she put out by far one of the best projects of the year, Soole. The movie had it's cinema run first before eventually hitting Netflix, and becoming a global smash. Adunni Ade had in previous tweets talked a little bit about how hard the cinema process was saying "SOÓLÈ is trending!!! Thank you Nigeria! Please keep watching! Keep posting your reviews. Time to say my mind never reach! God shame the shameless! Wetin my eyes see during SOÓLÈ release in cinemas no bi small. Someone should ask me later. #soólèthemovie #soole"

Well, it looks like Adunni Ade is ready to now just give us a glimpse into how tough the cinema release of this film was for her. Here is what Adunni Ade finally revealed about the stressful release of Soole.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Adunni Ade on "Lilian's Couch"

Adunni Ade opened up about the very hard experience of taking Soole to cinema when she appeared on Lilian Afegbai's Youtube show, Lilian's Couch. Speaking about the experience, Adunni Ade said:

ADUNNI ADE: Now filming, shooting a movie, it can be stressful but then actually having that project in cinemas, that is something totally different. Man, if you're not sound, if you're not mentally stable, you can lose it. So many people didn't know this. In fact, I think maybe one or two people knew, but I was ill, I was sick, I had lost so much weight. I was doing meet and greet back and forth [between hospital and cinema]. I would leave the hospital on admission, receive IVs, I have very bad veins, my leg being poked, popped up on hospital beds taking IVs and doctors telling me "ma'am you can't leave". I'm like no, I have money to be made. He'd be like "no, you need your life". I said I understand, but let me make this money so I can come and pay this hospital bill. And I would take IVs, I would leave. Go straight to the cinema, stand there, smile with people, meet a lot of amazing people.

And I have to be honest with you, a lot of people I actually met there actually came there to watch Soole. But then you have a few people who will tell you "I don't watch Nigerian movies", and that makes me cringe. I mean, it's okay, you have your own options or what you identify with, but you don't have to - hmm, it was just an experience. I don't know. It was crazy. People appreciating Soole, it means the world to me, so I can only push further. That's all I want to do. Now it's what's the next thing.

Wow! Not her going to meet and greets straight from the hospital just after taking drip. Not those awon "I don't watch Nigerian films" gang, which even me sef I still don't understand those people till today but okay. Wow! Aunty really went through it. What do you think about what Adunni Ade said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.