Humans logo

Truth about Why I Started Losing Weight - Waje

Waje opens up about weight loss journey

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Nigerian singer Waje has come a very long way in terms of the longevity of her career, the quality of her music, her voice, stage presence, and confidence. Speaking about the confidence, Waje opened up during a new interview with City 105.1 FM about what actually prompted her to lose weight. Here is what the "For A Minute" singer said about her weight loss journey, what sparked it, and how it affected her after.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Waje on City 105.1 FM

Waje made the revelation on air when she was asked the question "I feel like there are so many moments that we probably missed out on or we probably might never see from veterans like you because back in the day people were not really good with documentation of behind the scenes." She responded:

WAJE: Absolutely! And not even just our brands. In terms of following the journey of the industry, you see people come up with their own story based on their opinions and their perspectives, but not necessarily the truth. Because you really can't get everybody's story in one box. But if it was - one of the reasons why I am such a huge believer of music and the longevity of it is because of the E! Hollywood Story. You know, back in the day, I will sit in my living room watching stories of artistes and so I knew that even if you have 3 years of great great, and you have 2 years of not so great, it is part of your story. You don't just pack up and say "Ah, since that's done, then maybe this place is not for me". It's for you, it's a job. So you always have to find ways to evolve and keep reinventing yourself. But I only started getting that because I used to watch that E! Hollywood Story, I dey watch am o. I go watch watch watch.

Even in terms of how I carried myself. The first time I started losing weight, not to say I'm body shaming anyone, but the first time I started taking care of myself as a brand was in 2013. And that was because I would sit in my living room and I would watch and watch and watch. So I was like okay, if I'm not comfortable, because I never used to be confident about myself. So I said okay, if I'm not comfortable about it, then I can change it. So then I signed up with Uzi and ha! I even injured my knee sef. But I lost about 5kg and I still have the dress that I wore to the first event I went to [after] and I wasn't wearing girdle. I was like "I'm not wearing spanx", I have blow o! [laughs].

What do you think about what Waje said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.