Humans logo

A Time of Manifestation

A Tale of Intuition

By Raquel WyattPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Rue! I heard my grandmother Marley calling out for me. Yes, grandma what is it? Oh, nothing I just wanted to see your face. I have not seen you all day you. Agreeing I thought to myself yes because I was sort of not in the mood to be bothered. So, what do you and papa have planned for the day? We are going to lunch first and then hanging out at the senior center. Going to whoop them in some cards and dominoes I see. I looked across the room to where she was sitting in her rocking chair, today she wore a bright almost lime green blouse with a pink scarf. My grandmother had a peculiar sense of taste in fashion I smiled. she smiled back. Laying across the sofa I sighed and spoke, grandma I had the weirdest dream last night. I had a dream that I won the lottery I had five out of the six numbers. It felt crazy real I could even remember the numbers I had wrote them in my phone. Pulling my phone out and looking at the screen I started calling out the number from my dream. Nine, thirty-six, forty-two, twelve, twenty-one, nineteen. When she did not say anything glanced I over at her. Grandma why are you looking at me like that? Marley sat there looking as if in deep thought. Sweetie you might not believe me, but I had the exact same dream. Grandma do not make fun of me. No, really Rue the only difference was that it was one of the men family who won and not you. Are you just saying that to me grandma? No child, I had a similar dream. If I were you, I would go and play the lottery. Starting at her from the side I told her I would consider going to play. I am serious Rue go and play, there is a reason we both had similar dreams. What would you do with a big amount of money like that? Laughing her off I heard myself saying I don’t know grandma before changing the subject. I sat speaking with my grandma about forty-five minutes longer before I heard my papa making his way downstairs so that they could leave. Those two are as thick as thieves you would not find one without the other. Thinking to myself about how cute they are together her the spunky personality and him the mellow fellow as I like to say. They are my heart and soul and if it were not for them, I believe my life would probably be much different than what it is today they had been there for her when she had no one else in her corner. She wanted to make them proud and was trying her hardest to do so, but she had to admit to herself that she stumbled more than necessary, and I know it frustrated them that she had always switched the direction she wanted her life to go in. But every moment along the way had been encouraging.

What she had told her grandma earlier was true she was considering going to play the lottery. Although she had not been completely honest about not knowing what she would if she were to win such a large sum of money. She sort of did but for some reason she felt embarrassed when she was about to speak up and say something so decided to keep it to herself. I feel that there was a reason I remembered those numbers so vividly, any other time I forget my dreams almost instantaneously after waking up. My belief was that the odds were never really in my favor with a game like that. Deciding I had given that idea enough thought I headed back to my room and started to work on another one of my projects.

There it was that feeling again. The blue Honda pulling up took me out of my train of thought. Deciding it was nothing I plugged my phone into the car charger figured I would make sure I had a good charge before heading up the mountain. The moment I did the song Something Big by Shawn Mendez started to play. Coming to Moon mountain every Friday for hiking was starting to become tradition. It was usually packed on Fridays but today was not as bad. being that it rained the day prior people probably wanted to avoid being out here today. I loved it the air after a heavy rain it, the air was always so fresh and crisp in my opinion it was one of the better times to be out here. After letting my phone charge for another ten minutes I grabbed my keys out of the ignition, picked up my headphones and purple beanie out of the passenger seat before locking the car and starting to make my way up the mountain. I was about halfway through the hour hike when in the distances I seen what looked like a middle aged grey-haired woman kneeling on the side of the trail. As I made my way closer it looked as if she was smiling but her eyes had a red tent to them as if she had been crying. The woman stood as I approached her. It was starting to look as if she had a ball fall. Moon Mountain trail was pegged with plenty of boulders so I could easily see that happening. I spoke first. Hello, are you okay? The grey-haired woman spoke. Oh, yes thank you for asking. Looks like you must have slipped I spoke again. Well yes, I slipped on one of these darn rocks I do not know what I was thinking coming out here in the first place the woman spoke. The woman motioned as if she was trying to stand up, I offered my hand to help her up the woman grabbed it and swayed a little before catching her footing. Sure, you are okay? Yes, and thank you and but sweetie turn around I do not believe it is safe to go up that mountain after it has been raining so heavily. As you can see from what happened to myself. For a quick moment I considered what she said but it was beautiful today. Think I am going to continue the trail, thank you. I turned to continue up the mountain. Half an hour later I was at the top looking out towards the water. There were a few more people at the top enjoying the views as well. There was a loud thud, and everyone turned in the direction of where the noise was coming from and it was a disheveled looking man making his way from behind the bush. It looked as if he had a rough morning. He walked pass me stared straight into my eyes and spoke the words its coming and kept moving along. I would not have thought much of it but when he spoke the words my stomach felt as if it fell to the floor. The guy next to me overheard what the other gentleman had said and told me to pay no mind. There were all kinds of weird people coming to the top of Moon Mountain nowadays. I smiled that been enough strange activity for one day I thought to myself as I made my way back down the mountain.

It was Friday again but I decided to skip Moon Mountain. It had been a long day and was not the best. I had been working as a teaching assistant for the last seven months and the kids we worked with had behavioral issues, but I enjoyed working with them although they would test your patience, they were great kids. Today was one of the days. I was trying my hardest to not let it ruin my day. My Grandparents were not home, so I had the place to myself for a while. I collapsed on my bed. My mind started to wonder. Was this it? Was this all there was to life. It felt as if I was living the same day on repeat for some time. I sat up and looked across the room to where my backpack was laying against the wall I walked over and grabbed my one of my journals and started to write. Had life always been this mundane? Where was the passion of life? I wrote a letter asking for a life of passion. A life where I did not have to go to a job where I dreaded waking up for every morning just so that I would have money to pay my bills. I wanted to be in love with my life. I wanted to be able to take care of my grandparents and show them different parts of the world. To be in a position where I could give back to my community. I wanted to experience the beauty of life. I continued expressing my frustrations and asking for a solution if there was one. After a few moments I tossed my notebook aside and started to get ready for bed. My phone lit up and started to vibrate I glanced at the screen and it was reign again that was twice in the last thirty minutes. I did not really feel like taking so I decided I would call her back later. My phone vibrated again next to Reigns name on the screen was a message saying to call her ASAP. I would call her after I finished brushing my teeth. Placing the face towel back on the rack and using some moisturizer on my face I headed back into my bedroom and grabbed my phone tapped the screen to return Reigns phone call. The phone line started to ring and then I heard Reigns voice float through the phone what is going on that you feel the need to call back-to-back like that. I was going to call you I spoke. Rue shut up! Reign had a seriousness to her tone. What is so important reign I asked this time in a calmer manner. It’s Grandma and Grandpa I heard her say. My heart skipped a beat when she said that. what happened? I tried no to yell. They are fine, but a young girl was texting and driving, and rear ended them. She was going fast and totaled the rear of their car, but they walked away without life threatening injuries. Trying my hardest not to cry I threw on some clothes and made my way to Fitzgerald hospital. Rushing through the doors I walked straight into back of a gentleman who was standing near the entrance and knocked over everything he had been holding in his hands. Oh my, I apologize I kept explaining myself as I kneeled to pick up the fallen items, I was not paying attention to where I was going. Accepting my apology, the stranger reached for all the items except for a small black notebook that had Moleskine written in cursive along the spin. The gentleman spoke thank you but that one is not mine. I looked well it was not mine either. The gentleman walked away without another word. I went to open the book to see if it had any sort of information about who it belonged to. On the first page it read when we follow our hearts calling, we are gifted with the beauty of life. I stood there for a few moments before I looked at the black notebook again. With every obstacle you had the choice to quit. listen to your heart, I know you will do the right thing. Wait what? I was confused. I turned to the next page in the notebook and it read when fate and destiny collide and there it was the lottery ticket with the exact same numbers I had written down from my dream.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Raquel Wyatt

I Am Because We Are

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.