Humans logo

A Story in Text

A night of romance and suspense awaits.

By Christian AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
A Story in Text
Photo by Alex Ware on Unsplash

I

Sandra | 7.18 p.m. You there yet?

Michelle: Pulling up to the restaurant now. Holy shit.

Sandra: Swanky?

Michelle: Swanky AF.

Sandra | 7.19 p.m. Too swanky for you?

Michelle: I wouldn’t go that far.

Sandra: Give me a scale. Out of 10.

Michelle: 10. Definitely this place is a 10.

Sandra: Your boy Curtis got rich.

Michelle: Hold on, gotta pay cabbie.

Sandra: I’m surprised he didn’t pick you up in a limo.

Michelle | 7.21 p.m. I’m kinda nervous.

Sandra: Well, this is a weird situation.

Michelle: Yeah. It is weird, right? He reached out to me from nowhere.

Sandra: I swear some people thought this guy would be an incel. Like, forever.

Michelle | 7.22 p.m. Don’t say that. That’s mean.

Sandra: I didn’t say me. Just some people. Did you know he once tried to eat the frogs in the dissection lab?

Michelle: I’m pretty sure that was just a rumour.

Sandra: That was a tame rumour then. Tyler said he was probably the one who kidnapped that girl.

Michelle: Don’t even joke about that. He wasn’t a people person. That’s all.

Sandra: You can say that again.

Michelle: He was . . . lonely, I think.

Sandra: Because he was weird. And obsessed with you.

Michelle | 7.23 p.m. I think he was bullied.

Sandra: Duh. I hope our pre-drinks didn’t screw with your memory.

Michelle: Okay. I bullied him too. But tonight might be good. A chance to make amends, you know? Maybe that’s what he wants.

Sandra | 7.24 p.m. Yeah, just be careful. I don’t like it. It’s weird when people reach out to work through long-forgotten high school problems.

And make sure you send through a rating.

Michelle: You’ve already seen his photo online.

Sandra: In the flesh is always different. I’ve had enough bad luck on Tinder to know that.

Michelle: Speaking of. Made plans yet?

Sandra | 7.25 p.m. My plans involve the couch, a glass of Merlot, and Twin Peaks.

Michelle: The wine Frank got you?

Sandra: Yeah. It’s good shit.

Michelle: I’m surprised you can still appreciate it.

Sandra: Ouch.

Michelle | 7.26 p.m. Alright, I’m going in. I’ll message you when I go to the bathroom or something.

Sandra: Knock him sideways.

II

Michelle | 8.13 p.m. A 10. He is also definitely a 10.

Sandra: You in the bathroom?

Michelle: Yeah.

Sandra: What’s he like?

Michelle: Really . . . different.

Sandra | 8.14. p.m. Different how?

Michelle: Normal.

Sandra: He can’t be too normal. He’s a fucking millionaire.

Michelle: Okay, not normal normal. But . . . not weird and creepy. He’s charming, actually. Kinda funny.

Sandra: Mish, are you actually liking this guy?

Michelle: Kinda.

Sandra: Wow.

Michelle | 8.15 p.m. He’s turned out to be really successful. Kind of a corporate superstar.

Sandra: Well, there’s a red flag right there.

Michelle: What do you mean?

Sandra: I’ve watched enough TV to know a couple things about creepy high-schoolers-turned-corporate-superstars.

Michelle | 8.16 p.m. Enlighten me.

Sandra: He’ll be a weirdo on the inside. Probably a closet murderer or something.

Michelle: And you’re basing this on TV?

Sandra: I am. Not entirely, but largely.

Michelle: That’s not helpful.

Sandra: Ever seen American Psycho?

Michelle: Yeah.

Sandra: Superficial corporate assholes are always that. Superficial corporate assholes. And some of them have murderous fantasies.

Michelle | 8.17 p.m. Okay, I’m gonna head back.

Sandra: Wait!

Michelle: What?

Sandra | 8.19 p.m. Okay, good, you waited. Hard to know with texts.

I know I’m kinda joking, but maybe pay attention to the guy. I don’t like the idea that some creep who was obsessed with you from high school is suddenly wanting to have a second shot now he’s handsome and rich.

Michelle: I think you’re reading into this.

Sandra: Maybe. Just don’t let him spike your drink or anything.

Michelle 8.20 p.m. This is the fanciest restaurant in the city. It’s not the sort of place where people spike other people’s drinks.

Sandra: I guess.

III

Michelle | 9.02 p.m. I am buzzed.

Sandra: Uh oh.

Michelle: He went to the bathroom and suddenly the overhead lights are . . . beautiful.

Sandra: How many drinks have you had?

Michelle | 9.03 p.m. I’m on my third. I think. You inspired me. I switched to a Merlot!

Sandra: You should consider leaving.

Michelle: That might break his heart all over again. He was telling me about high school and how he felt about me and how depressed he got . . . It was intense.

Sandra | 9.05 p.m. A very normal first date.

Michelle: Ha.

Sandra: I hope you noted my sarcasm.

Michelle: I did.

Sandra | 9.06 p.m. Have you had dessert yet?

Michelle: Yeah. I had a New York Cheesecake.

Sandra: What are you doing after dessert?

Michelle: A walk by the river. Maybe we’ll stop by his apartment or something.

Sandra: I’ll repeat my earlier statement. You should consider leaving.

Michelle | 9.07 p.m. He’s fine. If you were here you would understand.

Sandra: Do you have your pepper spray?

Michelle: Always.

Coming back. Message soon.

IV

Michelle | 9.47 p.m. He smells really nice too.

Sandra: I’m glad you’re still alive.

Michelle: He’s got a really familiar cologne.

Sandra: And why are you getting this close to him?

Michelle | 9.48 p.m. Because. I like him. We won’t do anything, I promise.

Sandra: Where are you right now?

9.49 p.m. Mish?

9.50 p.m. ??

Michelle | 9.51 p.m. His apartment.

Sandra: WTF??

Michelle: Just for a nightcap. Then he’ll call a cab. He’s already said. I’m FINE.

Sandra: What’s the address?

Michelle: Not sure.

Sandra: Are you fucking kidding me?

Michelle | 9.52 p.m. WTF is your problem?

Sandra: My problem is you don’t know a single decent thing about this guy.

Other than the fact he resembles the main character from American Psycho.

Michelle: You’re letting your imagination run wild. Stop watching Twin Peaks and go to bed.

Sandra | 9.53 p.m. I think I’ll wait up. You know, just in case.

Michelle: Honestly, I’m fine. He is the nicest guy. I even apologised for all the shit I gave him in high school. I NEVER apologise.

Sandra: And that’s it? You’re gonna ride into the sunset now?

Michelle: No. We’re gonna have some port.

Look out over the river.

Enjoy each other’s company.

Sandra | 9.54 p.m. Let me come pick you up. Where are you?

Michelle: No need. I’m fine.

Sandra: What’s he doing while you’re texting me?

Michelle: Getting port from the kitchen.

This is a NICE apartment.

I could live like this.

10.15 p.m. He’s taking a phone call. I’m gonna go snoop.

Sandra: That is a terrible idea.

Michelle | 10.16 p.m. Nice bathroom. I swear everything in this place is made of marble.

Towels are Egyptian cotton.

Wow.

Nice soaps.

Lots of moisturisers.

Sandra: And this isn’t ringing any alarm bells for you?

Michelle: Shhh.

The toilet is basically a throne.

10.17 p.m. I’m in his bedroom.

Sandra: You got balls.

Michelle: I do.

This bed.

SO. SOFT.

Lots of mirrors.

A LOT of mirrors.

Sandra: Just double-checking on those alarm bells.

Michelle | 10.18 p.m. This is the biggest closet I’ve seen in my life.

Sandra: Is he still on the phone?

Michelle: Yeah. I can hear him. DW.

Nice suits.

Expensive collection.

Sandra: Moral of the story: it’s good to find out about people before you date them.

10.19 p.m. Mish?

You ok?

V

Michelle | 10.19 p.m. Hey. Do you remember a girl named Audrey Raines?

Sandra: From high school? The one that disappeared?

Michelle: Yeah.

Sandra: What about her?

Mish?

What’s going on? You’re scaring me.

Michelle | 10.21 p.m. This is fucked.

Sandra: Mish, what’s going on?

Michelle: I think I just found her backpack.

Sandra: What?

You’re kidding, right?

Tell me this is a prank, Mish. Don’t fuck with me.

Michelle | 10.22 p.m. It’s not a prank.

West Valley High. It’s got the school on it. I looked inside. I saw her name tag.

Sandra: At the apartment?

Michelle: Yeah.

In his closet.

Sandra, now I’m scared.

Sandra: You have to leave. NOW.

Michelle: Didn’t Curtis have a thing for her as well at one point?

Sandra | 10.23 p.m. Maybe, I don’t know. Forget about it. GET OUT NOW.

Michelle: Shit.

Shit.

Shit.

Shit.

I’m so stupid.

Sandra: Get out, call the police, I’m on my way. Whereabouts by the river are you?

Mish?

Mish?

??

Pick up the phone.

RIGHT NOW.

I’m calling the police.

WHERE ARE YOU?

Michelle | 10.31 p.m. You have to come get me.

Sandra: THANK FUCK. Are you okay??

Michelle: I’m on the balcony getting air.

I had to sneak out when he got off the phone.

I’m barely holding it together.

Please.

Come now.

I need you.

Sandra: I’m on the phone with the police. All I need is your location. I have no idea where you are.

Michelle | 10.32 p.m. I feel so burned. What did I drink?

Sandra: A lot. Where are you?

Michelle: Apartment block by the river. There’s a Japanese joint to the right. I’m sorry, I don’t know the name of the building.

Sandra: It’s okay. I told them. They’re on the way. You need to stay on the balcony for as long as you can, okay?

Michelle: How long will they be?

Sandra: I’m sorry. I have no idea. Just be calm.

Be safe.

Don’t do ANYTHING stupid.

10.33 p.m. Scratch that.

Kick the bastard in the balls the first chance you get. AND RUN.

Michelle | 10.34 p.m. He’s big.

Sandra: What?

Michelle: Big. Like, with muscles.

Sandra: SO???

Get the fuck out of there.

Mish?

??

OMG.

Message me the first chance you get.

I’m in the car.

Michelle | 10.42 p.m. I feel sick.

I’m in the bathroom. Just threw up.

It feels tight in here.

I can’t breathe.

Sandra: Mish, do NOT let him in there.

Lock the door.

You’ll be safe.

I’ve given the cops his name. They should find his apartment as soon as they get there.

Michelle | 10.43 p.m. I’m so sorry.

I should’ve listened to you.

I’m so stupid.

Sandra: Shut the fuck up.

No apologies.

STAY WHERE YOU ARE.

Michelle: He heard the sirens. They’re close.

He’s yelling.

Omg. He’s yelling at me.

SANDRA WHERE ARE YOU?

Sandra: I’M NEARLY THERE.

DON’T LET HIM IN.

Michelle:

HELP ME.

Sandra:

I’M TRYING.

10.45 p.m. Mish, I’m here.

The police are here. They don’t want me coming up.

Mish, are you okay?

Please talk to me.

The cops want me to stay in touch with you.

Make sure you’re alright.

Give me something.

Anything.

Call me if you can.

Just give me something.

10.47 p.m. Mish?

Fuck was that gunshots?

Mish talk to me.

10.49 p.m. Please be okay.

10.50 p.m. Mish?

??

???

????

10.52 p.m. I just spoke to a cop. Curtis is putting up a fight. The cop said to stay in the bathroom if you’re still there.

Are you still there??

Tell me you pepper sprayed him or something.

Bastard.

Weird creepy bastard.

Michelle | 10.54 p.m. Gone.

Sandra: ???

Mish is that you??

???

Michelle | 10.56 p.m. I think he’s gone.

10.57 p.m. The apartment’s empty.

I think.

Sandra: Where are you?

Michelle | 10.58 p.m. Hallway.

Sandra: Just told the cop.

Are you okay??

What’s going on??

He said stay where you are.

Michelle: I can’t hear anything.

Sandra: Did you hear gunshots?

Michelle: Yeah.

Curtis was shouting.

Screaming.

10.59 p.m. I’m gonna check out the apartment.

I think he’s gone.

Sandra: DON’T YOU DARE.

STAY WHERE YOU ARE.

Michelle: You were right.

I’m so sorry.

I think he wanted to

Hurt me or something.

Sandra: Yeah. Probably. Hopefully they catch the bastard.

Michelle: Have you got any Merlot left?

Sandra: What?

Michelle: I need another drink.

Sandra: I'll find you something stronger.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Christian Alexander

Freelance writer, aspiring novellist, ghostwriter-for-hire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.