Humans logo

A Small Moment in the Park: How Passing Ships Can Change Our Lives

Lessons Learned from a Chance Encounter with a Drummer in the Park

By Vijay PeriannanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

As I sit down to write about a small moment in my life that had a big impact, my mind is filled with memories and emotions. There have been many moments in my life that have had a significant impact on me, but there is one in particular that stands out. It was a small moment, but it changed my life in a profound way.

It was a warm summer evening, and I was out for a walk in my neighborhood. As I strolled along, I noticed a group of children playing basketball in a nearby park. I stopped to watch for a few minutes, and that's when I saw him - a boy who was about my age, sitting on a bench, watching the game.

Something about him caught my attention, and I found myself drawn to him. I walked over to him and said hello. He looked up at me with a smile, and we struck up a conversation. His name was Jake, and we quickly discovered that we had a lot in common. We were both interested in music and movies, and we shared a love of sports.

We talked for a while, and then he asked me if I wanted to join the basketball game. I hesitated for a moment, feeling nervous and unsure of myself, but then I decided to give it a try. I had never been very good at basketball, but I was willing to give it my best shot.

As I joined the game, I could feel my heart racing. I was nervous about making mistakes and embarrassing myself in front of the other kids. But then something amazing happened - Jake took me under his wing. He encouraged me and gave me tips on how to improve my game. He never once made me feel bad for not being as good as the other players. Instead, he made me feel like a valued member of the team.

As the game went on, I began to relax and have fun. I felt myself getting better, and I even made a few shots. When the game ended, I was sweaty and tired, but I felt amazing. I had never felt so alive and energized.

As Jake and I walked back to his house, he told me that he had a surprise for me. When we arrived, he led me to his backyard and showed me his drum set. He was an amazing drummer, and he invited me to play with him. I had never played the drums before, but I was eager to give it a try.

As we played together, I felt a sense of joy and freedom that I had never experienced before. The sound of the drums filled me with a sense of power and excitement. I was hooked.

Over the next few weeks, Jake and I became inseparable. We spent all of our free time together, playing basketball, listening to music, and jamming on his drum set. He became my best friend, and I felt like I had finally found someone who understood me.

But then, one day, Jake's family told me that they were moving away. I was devastated. I couldn't imagine life without Jake by my side.

On the day that he left, Jake gave me a gift - his drum set. He told me that he wanted me to keep playing, and to always remember the fun times we had together.

As I sat in my bedroom, surrounded by the drum set and memories of Jake, I realized that my life had been forever changed by that small moment in the park. Meeting Jake had opened up a whole new world of possibilities for me. I had discovered a love of basketball and music, and I had found a friend who had helped me see the best in myself.

Today, many years later, I still play the drums and think of Jake often. He taught me that even the smallest moments can have a big impact on our lives, andthat we should always be open to new experiences and new people. I realized that I was grateful for that chance encounter in the park, and that it had given me the confidence to try new things and meet new people.

After Jake moved away, I continued to play the drums and became increasingly involved in music. I joined the school band and started playing in local gigs with other musicians. I found a community of people who shared my love of music, and I felt like I belonged.

Playing the drums became a way for me to express myself and connect with others in a way that I had never experienced before. It gave me a sense of purpose and a sense of identity. I no longer felt like an outsider, but like a part of something bigger than myself.

As I got older, I realized that the lessons I had learned from Jake went far beyond music and basketball. He had taught me the importance of kindness, acceptance, and being open to new experiences. He had shown me that the things that make us different can also bring us together.

I still think about Jake often, and I wonder what he's doing now. I hope that he's still playing the drums and making music. I hope that he knows how much of an impact he had on my life, and how grateful I am for the time we spent together.

Looking back on that small moment in the park, I realize that it was a turning point in my life. It taught me that sometimes the most meaningful moments are the ones that happen unexpectedly. It reminded me that we should always be open to new people and new experiences, even if they make us feel uncomfortable at first.

Today, I am a musician and a writer, and I attribute much of my success to that small moment in the park. It taught me to believe in myself and to never give up on my dreams. It taught me to be kind, compassionate, and accepting of others, and to always strive to be the best version of myself.

In many ways, Jake will always be a part of my life, and I will always be grateful for that small moment in the park that changed everything.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Vijay Periannan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.