Humans logo

A rose that crew from ashes

Little City Big Dreams

By Tiffany HicksPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Far Rock

Have you ever heard of Far Rockaway, NY? You are not alone. Most people haven’t. When people think of Queens, NY they usually think of Jamaica or Flushing. Far Rockaway is a very unique city because it is considered a city in the borough of Queens, but it is actually far from the other parts of Queens and is very different from the rest of the borough. With one way in and one way out it all starts on the A train to the last stop.

For many years starting in the 1830s Far Rockaway was a vacation destination for the rich people of New York. The rich people that lived in Manhattan would go to Far Rockaway and stay in bungalows at the beach for the summer. The wives and children would go for the full summer and the husbands would meet them on the weekends. The entire city of Far Rockaway has a beach and, in these days, playland and other parks kept people amused. This made it the perfect place for wealthy New Yorkers to vacation. At a time when people did not just hop on planes like they do today.

Until, Robert Moses took office in NYC. Robert Moses did a lot for New York City. He is responsible for parks, highways, playgrounds, beaches, zoos, housing, tunnels, exc. But Robert Moses was also a racist man and did not want to see black people. Robert Moses came up with this plan to put all black people on the outskirts of the city and have them live in those areas together, away from him and away from his family and friends. I learned about Robert Moses in college and when my professor was lecturing us on Robert Moses sending blacks to live in a secluded city, I knew immediately that the city was my own. After doing research I was correct.

In 1970, my mother moved with her mother and siblings to the newly constructed Far Rockaway which consisted of a bunch of tall buildings known today as Projects. My grandmother moved her children in to the 40’s projects which consist of a bunch of buildings that goes up to the 13th floor. Far Rockaway goes straight from Mott Ave which you can consider first street with Redfern projects, in the 40s you had 40s projects, in the 50s Edgemere projects, In the 60s Ocean Village and Hammels Projects in the 80s which is the end of Far Rockway. One High School which is Far Rockaway High School. Two junior high schools and 1 hospital which is the one I was born in St. Johns Hospital. Far Rockaway is the type of place everybody knows everybody. One degree of separation.

In 1988 I was born into Far Rockaway. My experience living in this city was far from diverse. My classes were 99% Black and all the schools at the time were D and F schools. The teachers were usually very young just out of college and could not control the class. In certain sections of Far Rockaway, you will see a lot of Jewish families, but they have separate schools, ambulance, hospitals, homes and communities.

When I grew up, I decided to commute from Far Rockaway to Manhattan for school. To get to Manhattan from Far Rockaway you will take the A train thru Far Rockaway, Brooklyn and into Manhattan. Whenever I had a class project or invited anyone from my school to my home, they said NO. I WILL NEVER GO TO FAR ROCKAWAY EVER AGAIN. When I told my best friend this, she said it’s because we live in the hood. Growing up I never considered where I lived to be the hood because to me it was home and it was what I knew. But to others it was the Ghetto.

I’ve since moved away from my home in Far Rockaway to Sunny Orlando, Florida. But my mom and siblings still live in Far Rockaway. When I go back to visit, I see so much gentrification. The entire New York City has been regentrified over the years and Far Rockaway is the last stop. Lots of new faces and new families. More races, more expensive housing being built. I knew it was changing when I saw them add a farmer’s market.

Till this day no one famous has ever come out of Far Rockaway. 2 rappers almost put Far Rockaway on the map but unfortunately, they were both murdered prematurely. I await the day when everyone will know the story of the place, I will always call home.

Have you ever heard of Far Rockaway, NY? You are not alone. Most people haven’t. When people think of Queens, NY they usually think of Jamaica or Flushing. Far Rockaway is a very unique city because it is considered a city in the borough of Queens, but it is actually far from the other parts of Queens and is very different from the rest of the borough. With one way in and one way out it all starts on the A train to the last stop.

For many years starting in the 1830s Far Rockaway was a vacation destination for the rich people of New York. The rich people that lived in Manhattan would go to Far Rockaway and stay in bungalows at the beach for the summer. The wives and children would go for the full summer and the husbands would meet them on the weekends. The entire city of Far Rockaway has a beach and, in these days, playland and other parks kept people amused. This made it the perfect place for wealthy New Yorkers to vacation. At a time when people did not just hop on planes like they do today.

Until, Robert Moses took office in NYC. Robert Moses did a lot for New York City. He is responsible for parks, highways, playgrounds, beaches, zoos, housing, tunnels, exc. But Robert Moses was also a racist man and did not want to see black people. Robert Moses came up with this plan to put all black people on the outskirts of the city and have them live in those areas together, away from him and away from his family and friends. I learned about Robert Moses in college and when my professor was lecturing us on Robert Moses sending blacks to live in a secluded city, I knew immediately that the city was my own. After doing research I was correct.

In 1970, my mother moved with her mother and siblings to the newly constructed Far Rockaway which consisted of a bunch of tall buildings known today as Projects. My grandmother moved her children in to the 40’s projects which consist of a bunch of buildings that goes up to the 13th floor. Far Rockaway goes straight from Mott Ave which you can consider first street with Redfern projects, in the 40s you had 40s projects, in the 50s Edgemere projects, In the 60s Ocean Village and Hammels Projects in the 80s which is the end of Far Rockway. One High School which is Far Rockaway High School. Two junior high schools and 1 hospital which is the one I was born in St. Johns Hospital. Far Rockaway is the type of place everybody knows everybody. One degree of separation.

In 1988 I was born into Far Rockaway. My experience living in this city was far from diverse. My classes were 99% Black and all the schools at the time were D and F schools. The teachers were usually very young just out of college and could not control the class. In certain sections of Far Rockaway, you will see a lot of Jewish families, but they have separate schools, ambulance, hospitals, homes and communities.

When I grew up, I decided to commute from Far Rockaway to Manhattan for school. To get to Manhattan from Far Rockaway you will take the A train thru Far Rockaway, Brooklyn and into Manhattan. Whenever I had a class project or invited anyone from my school to my home, they said NO. I WILL NEVER GO TO FAR ROCKAWAY EVER AGAIN. When I told my best friend this, she said it’s because we live in the hood. Growing up I never considered where I lived to be the hood because to me it was home and it was what I knew. But to others it was the Ghetto.

I’ve since moved away from my home in Far Rockaway to Sunny Orlando, Florida. But my mom and siblings still live in Far Rockaway. When I go back to visit, I see so much gentrification. The entire New York City has been regentrified over the years and Far Rockaway is the last stop. Lots of new faces and new families. More races, more expensive housing being built. I knew it was changing when I saw them add a farmer’s market.

Till this day no one famous has ever come out of Far Rockaway. 2 rappers almost put Far Rockaway on the map but unfortunately, they were both murdered prematurely. I await the day when everyone will know the story of the place, I will always call home.

Have you ever heard of Far Rockaway, NY? You are not alone. Most people haven’t. When people think of Queens, NY they usually think of Jamaica or Flushing. Far Rockaway is a very unique city because it is considered a city in the borough of Queens, but it is actually far from the other parts of Queens and is very different from the rest of the borough. With one way in and one way out it all starts on the A train to the last stop.

For many years starting in the 1830s Far Rockaway was a vacation destination for the rich people of New York. The rich people that lived in Manhattan would go to Far Rockaway and stay in bungalows at the beach for the summer. The wives and children would go for the full summer and the husbands would meet them on the weekends. The entire city of Far Rockaway has a beach and, in these days, playland and other parks kept people amused. This made it the perfect place for wealthy New Yorkers to vacation. At a time when people did not just hop on planes like they do today.

Until, Robert Moses took office in NYC. Robert Moses did a lot for New York City. He is responsible for parks, highways, playgrounds, beaches, zoos, housing, tunnels, exc. But Robert Moses was also a racist man and did not want to see black people. Robert Moses came up with this plan to put all black people on the outskirts of the city and have them live in those areas together, away from him and away from his family and friends. I learned about Robert Moses in college and when my professor was lecturing us on Robert Moses sending blacks to live in a secluded city, I knew immediately that the city was my own. After doing research I was correct.

In 1970, my mother moved with her mother and siblings to the newly constructed Far Rockaway which consisted of a bunch of tall buildings known today as Projects. My grandmother moved her children in to the 40’s projects which consist of a bunch of buildings that goes up to the 13th floor. Far Rockaway goes straight from Mott Ave which you can consider first street with Redfern projects, in the 40s you had 40s projects, in the 50s Edgemere projects, In the 60s Ocean Village and Hammels Projects in the 80s which is the end of Far Rockway. One High School which is Far Rockaway High School. Two junior high schools and 1 hospital which is the one I was born in St. Johns Hospital. Far Rockaway is the type of place everybody knows everybody. One degree of separation.

In 1988 I was born into Far Rockaway. My experience living in this city was far from diverse. My classes were 99% Black and all the schools at the time were D and F schools. The teachers were usually very young just out of college and could not control the class. In certain sections of Far Rockaway, you will see a lot of Jewish families, but they have separate schools, ambulance, hospitals, homes and communities.

When I grew up, I decided to commute from Far Rockaway to Manhattan for school. To get to Manhattan from Far Rockaway you will take the A train thru Far Rockaway, Brooklyn and into Manhattan. Whenever I had a class project or invited anyone from my school to my home, they said NO. I WILL NEVER GO TO FAR ROCKAWAY EVER AGAIN. When I told my best friend this, she said it’s because we live in the hood. Growing up I never considered where I lived to be the hood because to me it was home and it was what I knew. But to others it was the Ghetto.

I’ve since moved away from my home in Far Rockaway to Sunny Orlando, Florida. But my mom and siblings still live in Far Rockaway. When I go back to visit, I see so much gentrification. The entire New York City has been regentrified over the years and Far Rockaway is the last stop. Lots of new faces and new families. More races, more expensive housing being built. I knew it was changing when I saw them add a farmer’s market.

Till this day no one famous has ever come out of Far Rockaway. 2 rappers almost put Far Rockaway on the map but unfortunately, they were both murdered prematurely. I await the day when everyone will know the story of the place, I will always call home.

feature

About the Creator

Tiffany Hicks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tiffany HicksWritten by Tiffany Hicks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.