Humans logo

A Long Time Coming

Just Kids

By J. R. RusbridgePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Sitting on our swing under the tree just reading my book and listening to music. I jump as my friend Talia scares me half to death from behind. I didn't realize that they had gotten back from their football practice. Just as I go to pick my book up off the ground my bookmark flies away I turn my head toward my friend as I run to get it not looking where my feet take me, that's when I run into them. One of Talia's older brothers being the person I knocked to the ground. "I am so sorry!" I say as I get up and lend him a hand. I move back a little to give him some room when he takes my hand, I can't help the warm feeling it gives me. Just as he's about to get up I see my bookmark under his cleats, I let go of his hand and he falls back down this time laying on his back from the shock, "Oh Gosh. I am so sorry! again." I could just die of embarrassment at this point. As I go to pick him up again... I fail to notice a rock and trip and fall on top of him. This causes the wind to get knocked out of him, both of us groaning in pain. I look up to his face and realize that it was Chris. The brother I have had a crush on since we were ten.

I could just die now and I would be embarrassed and happy at the same time. His stupid cute smile tells me he knows exactly how much shame I have at the moment. "Your face is all red." I hear him whisper making sure his brother doesn't hear. "Hi Cecilia," He says much louder this time. "Hi, Chris" I tried to get up but then realized that he had put his arms around me. I could feel the butterflies getting worse and my heart beating out of my chest. "You can let me go, so I can get up now," I whispered and noticed his breath hitch and his grasp tighten a little. Just as he did his brother John comes into view and sees us. "Chris, I told you no!" He picked us both up and pushed me away. "He doesn't have time for your crap!" he just yells in my face and takes Chris into the house next door. This time Talia comes to my side, "John has been in a bad mood." She apologizes, "He's a jerk." I breathe out and watch as Talia and her oldest brother Kia walk into the house where Chris and John had just gone into.

I went to get my book when I realize that I never got my bookmark. "Dang it!" This time I scream to no one in particular. I walk away from my swing and toward my house when I notice a smiling Chris on the phone looking out of his window. I give a small wave and his smile drops, so I just walk away. I guess he really doesn't have time for a crush because he already has a girlfriend. I hold back a painful sigh and bite my lip just walking into my house. My sister was doing her usual, and talking on her cell phone not paying any attention to what was going on around her. I'm not sure if she was talking to Amanda or her current boyfriend when I know she really wants to be with Kai. The problem with that is I think John has a small crush on her, I'm just glad that she doesn't have a crush on Chris. Not that it would matter I guess. She knows how I feel about him, I walked into my room and sat by my window hoping to feel the heat of the sun on my face for a little. I always felt a little better doing this if I had a bad day, not really sure how it all started. After a few minutes of enjoying the heat, I moved over to my bed and laid down thinking about how eventful today was. I couldn't believe all the crap that has happened and it's only two in the afternoon. I was thinking about what John said to me and how it did hurt me a little, he never used to be that mean to me. Not thinking straight I brought my cell to my face to text Talia.

~Text~

C: Hey, can I ask you something?

T: Hey Hey, what's up? you coming over?

C: No, it would be awkward. But did I do something to John?

T: Don't mind him, Chris has just been so annoying lately. that's it and John was the most annoyed out of all of us.

C: What happened?

T: Don't worry about it girl.

~Text end~

Just as I was about to respond I received a text from Chris. I looked at it like it was a foreign object and blinked a few times. Just to be sure I closed out my messages and restarted my cell, when I was back in and opened my messages again I see that he really did text me. I was hesitant to open it and respond because of the history between us. I wanted nothing more than to talk to him. He and I use to be best friends and told each other everything, nothing was off-limits. He was there for my first boyfriend technically and I was there for his first girlfriend, his first game and even when he and his cousin got into dirtbikes and just so much has happened and he was the only one I wanted to talk to about any of it. So I decided I was going to try and move past all of the crap and get my best friend back. Even if his girlfriend is an annoying piece of crap. I won't lose another friend, I refuse to lose him.

~Text~

C: Hey Ce.

I read the message and smiled a little at the old name he used to call me.

Ce: Hey

I responded not wanting to seem excited or too eager. But I was beyond dying right now. I was talking to my best friend, the best friend I lost a year ago.

C: It was nice seeing you.

I started to type that I missed him but I quickly thought against that and erased it, I figure it would be a little too much. Then I remembered what I had done to him.

Ce: I'm sorry about today.

I sent and hoped that this was the start of he and I trying to repair a lost friendship. Maybe it won't be as bad as my mind keeps saying it is.

C: It's okay

I received and smiled a little at how he still seems like the old Chris.

C: Can I call you?

I saw that text and was surprised at it. I didn't know what to do, should I answer him or should I leave it and tell him I didn't see it. I figured that if I was going to get his friendship back I had to start opening-up again and the old me who was friends with him, never backed down. always responded and showed up. so with that on my mind and a new sense of confidence. I replied.

Hey all, I hope you guys liked this first chapter. I would like to say that some of the things in this story come from some life experiences.

dating
Like

About the Creator

J. R. Rusbridge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.