Humans logo

A Child Of Fear

Living in the apprehension of certain sounds

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

If I were a young child today, I suspect that I might be somewhere on the Asperger's spectrum. In the 1960s there was no such thing, or at least, I never heard of it. Children were "normal" or diagnosed as "mentally retarded," and placed in special education. Those stuck somewhere in the middle were simply considered goofy or awkward. I fell into the middle crowd, and was miserable. I knew I was different but kept trying to hide it and pretend I was "normal." Loud sounds terrified me, even on television.

I ran from the room whenever the TV show Dragnet ended, because I could not watch that hand with the gavel or the sound it made when it went down. I also did not like to look at Alfred Hitchcock walk into his shadow and say, "Good evening." It sent chills down my spine. I also would run and cry if a balloon hit the ground and popped. The one thing that really terrified me was the clock that sat on the shelf in the home of a much older cousin.

Each time I was in that house and the clock chimed, I ran out the door, crying down the hill to my home. It got to a point that if my great granny was visiting, and I saw the hand on the clock was near the hour, I would run home without her. Even in between the chimes, my cousin's clock would have a loud tic toc, tick toc. If the television was not on and no one talking, the sound of the clock was maddening to me.

The other day, I watched an old episode of The Alfred Hitchcock Show and laughed. Mr. Hitchcock was not the large overbearing man with the booming voice I had imagined. He actually spoke softly, like an English gentleman, and I considered him a bit on the short side. His "Good evening" was now, to me, nothing more than a simple greeting to the audience. I would have assumed that I was just a frightened child, but two of my three children work with students who are on the Asperger's spectrum, and I find I have so much in common with them.

I was a finicky eater as a child, and I was terrified of the elementary school lunch cart. My elementary school did not have a cafeteria. Someone would push a cart on wheels from one classroom to the other. I could hear the sound of the wheels on the cart as it got closer to my classroom. My stomach would become tied up in knots, and I would sweat because I did not eat like normal kids. The sight of peas and mashed potatoes, which I ate at home, made me ill when I saw them on that cart. I would slide my hotdog and bun into my desk to be discarded later.

I cried and prayed and asked God why was I so much different than everyone else. Perhaps now, I may have an answer. As an adult I eat a lot better and I'm no longer afraid of loud sounds. Perhaps it was all simply childhood hiccups that I have outgrown. There is one thing, however, that never did change. That was the aversion I had to my cousin's clock. The sound of that clock ticking and chiming get under my skin, even as an adult. Last summer, I spoke to an older cousin who said she found the house and the clock to be creepy, so perhaps there was something otherworldly going on in that one situation.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.