Humans logo

A Call to Action

A mission to end homelessness across America

By Curtis HeggsPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
1

In nearly every city in the US, homelessness is an issue. If you're homeless, you may feel forgotten, shunned, neglected, and even perceived as the scourge of the city. On the other hand, if you're the tax paying citizen whose neighborhoods they overtake and swarm, how are you supposed to feel. No one wants to come off as insensitive for not wanting to address the situation.

Of course nobody wakes up and decides that today is the day that they're going to become homeless. There could be many different factors that play a part in what causes a person to no longer have a stable place to live. Ask yourself, if faced with the plight of homelessness, what would you do?

First, if given the opportunity to pack your things, you're faced with what to keep, and what to either put in storage, leave with friends, and/or what you're going to just trash.

Addiction plays a big part in the lives of many homeless men and women, coupled with mental illness. According to the Dallas Morning News, the homeless population has risen nine percent for the second time in as many years. What can be done? I believe that there needs to be more concentration on substance abuse treatment. Yes housing the homeless, and getting them their own place to stay through the housing authority is great, but what good does it do if there is a problem with substance abuse.

I say that to say this: homelessness is not a plague. It a situation that needs to be examined carefully in order to eliminate it. We as a people need to have a "seek and destroy" mentality when it comes to homelessness, and not just put our heads in the proverbial sand, because contrary to popular belief this epidemic does exist, and unless it's addressed with the utmost urgency, things will only worsen. Speaking from experience, All it takes is a little care and concern to start a ripple effect.

If you want to make a difference, volunteer. I can tell you that all that is done is appreciated. Let's get more involved, doing so could work wonders.

I'd like to also address the number of LGBT youth who are homeless. There need to be programs in place that don't focus on their sexuality as it pertains to preference, but education and awareness. So many of our LGBT youth are lost or going down the wrong path, because there is no guidance. It's time to put aside our personal opinions, and put these kids first. Let's put their wellbeing first, their health and safety, and let's educate them on the dangers of risky sexual behavior, as well as proper etiquette.

When I was younger, the older members of my community took us younger ones aside, and taught us how to conduct ourselves. Taught us self respect, and most importantly they taught us how to get our point across without causing an embarrassing scene for all those involved. Which is why it is imperative for us, now that we're the older generation, to step up, and give back to the community that has been there for us for so many years.

You see the thing about the homeless community is we become family for the most part, for those who have been turned away by their families for one reason or another. We've had to be each other's voice, as well as teachers and friends. In my case there were people who got me through the worst of times on the streets, even during the worst of my drug addiction, and thoughts of suicide.

We can't look at the homeless situation as a plague on society. It's a reflection of humanity as a whole. I feel as though I can speak, because I have experienced both sides of this. I was the worst of the worst. I sold drugs that ravaged my community to its core, and shook it to its foundation. If I'm to be honest, I pretended not to care, but deep in my soul I knew that what I did was wrong. I sold drugs to pregnant women, children, people who had no earthly idea what they were getting themselves into. I convinced them that they were making a conscious decision to make getting high a part of their lives. I was an animal. I didn't think at the time of the damage and destruction I dealt out.

Today, nearly ten years later, I've decided it is time to give back. I realize I could never pay back the families that I took part in ruining, but I must now pay it forward for generations to come. According to the Department of Corrections, I've paid my debt to society, but as far as I'm concerned, I've only just begun to pay back a debt that I will spend my life trying to pay back.

I said all that to say this: I was one of those homeless people that we see on the streets who seem like that have no ambition. I was one of those people hooked on drugs, whose family and friends were just waiting on that phone call from the morgue explaining a horrible death due to an overdose, or some drug deal gone wrong. But there were volunteers who prayed, police officers who gave a kind word and friendly advice, friends and family who didn't give up hope, and a Higher Power who decided that wasn't the way my story was going to end. To you all, I'm eternally grateful. Don't give up, don't stop believing. Something happened, and it changed my life forever, and now because of those people who have always been in my cheering section, I see in so many, what so many saw in me back then... potential.

This is not the end of my story, it's only the beginning. Like the phoenix from the ashes, I have risen anew with a new purpose and mission, and there is no end in sight. Get involved and help end this thing called homelessness. There's a long fight ahead, but I hereby declare war, and I'm coming with both barrels loaded... Who's with me?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Curtis Heggs

I live in Dallas, TX with my husband Kyle. I am a military veteran. My goal is to enlighten, educate, and inspire others to be a positive influence. I hope with my words I can be a shining example and make those who know me proud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.