Unbalanced logo

WWE, Shame on You!!!

WWE's Universal Disaster.

By Curtis HeggsPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Just when you thought Brock Lesnar's defeat to Seth Rollins at Wrestlemania was the end of the Beast, he rears his ugly head with his advocate Paul Heyman leading the charge. Brock will go down in history as quite possibly the worst champion of all time. I'm ballistic at best at the thought of him having another championship reign. I mean what is the WWE thinking and why do the powers that be think that another Lesnar title reign is the way to go?

There are so many deserving top contenders. I have never been a Brock Lesnar fan, so forgive me if I sound a little biased. There are so many athletes who over the years have personified what a true champion should be. Take Bret "Hitman" Hart for instance. Over the years he was not one of my faves due to the fact that I rooted for the "heels" that he faced. I still had a lot of respect for him because he was a fighting champion. Challenger after challenger he defended his title without fail. There are so many others. Ric Flair, Sting, Shawn Michaels, Taker, just to name a few.

I think we have to ask ourselves is WWE getting complacent after all these years because they took out WCW and they believe that there is no more competition out there? Well if they are, then I have news for them. There is plenty competition out there for the WWE. If you ask me, there's nothing wrong with a little healthy dose of competition. It keeps things fresh and entertaining. And what about the WWE hiring Paul Heyman and Eric Bischoff to work behind the scenes on Raw and Smackdown? Don't get me wrong Bischoff was brilliant with the concept of the NWO. I think that somewhere along the way the whole concept just got way out of control. I'm not quite sure what it is that the powers that be think he can do but it can't really get any worse, or can it?

You know people complain about the good ol' wrasslin' days, but if I'm not mistaken, it's what brought those of us who grew up in the 70s and 80s to the dance in the first place, right? I do realize that times are changing and we must evolve with this day and age but I just don't get why we have to completely alter a good thing. So much so that we hardly ever see the world champion defend his title.

Brock Lesnar may be the "Beast" and he may possess one of the most powerful finishing maneuvers in the biz but what good is it to have a champion who won't show up, defend his championship, and refute claims that he is a paper champion, a place holder? I believe that Seth Rollins is going to take the Universal title from Lesnar and he's going to take his ball and go back to MMA. Why not? Its classic Lesnar right?

In my opinion, we need some new blood at the helm of the Raw roster just like Kofi Kingston who shocked the world and won his first WWE title at this year's Wrestlemania. Give some guys on Raw a shot at the gold and watch your ratings soar. Watch the approval get better because the content has gotten better.

The WWE universe deserves better content and it should be about pleasing them and not about what you think is best for business!!!

fighting
Like

About the Creator

Curtis Heggs

I live in Dallas, TX with my husband Kyle. I am a military veteran. My goal is to enlighten, educate, and inspire others to be a positive influence. I hope with my words I can be a shining example and make those who know me proud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.