Humans logo

A Bit About Me

would you like to know?

By Jaleel ThomasPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Throughout my life I have experienced many things that made me into who I am today. The main ones that had the biggest impact on my life are my father, videogames and sleep paralysis. Sleep paralysis has been something that's been with me since I was a child. My father is the wisest man on planet earth. He continues to influence me everyday to do better than what I already am doing. Video Games help my creativity and self-esteem.

From what I experienced there aren't really many people that know what sleep paralysis is and that's not a problem but it surely is a real scary situation to be in. Sleep paralysis is basically your body being asleep and your brain is awake. It's often referred to as REM or rapid eye movement while you are sleeping.. In other words it's like still being in the dream world but you are also looking into the real world. You can believe it to be real or just to be in your head.

I've read many things on sleep paralysis because I used to get it often and I wouldn’t sleep until I saw the sun start to rise from the horizon. The feeling of not being able to defend yourself when there is some type of entity or image coming towards you and will not stop leaves you scared or fearful because you cannot move or speak. These only occur if you make them occur in your mind because the mind is a powerful thing we all have.

There were multiple insidious situations that had occurred when I had sleep paralysis. For example, there was a time when I was about 8 or 9 years old I was getting ready for bed because it was bedtime. Bedtime at the time was like 9 o’clock. After a while I would sleep, then mysteriously wake up in the middle of the night thinking about frightening things in my head because I was scared of the dark, like extremely scared of the dark. Then I looked at my door and the closet. Everything started slowing down and I couldn't move. I tried to turn away to grab my psp for light and comfort but something grabbed my hand. My PSP fell out of the bed and the mysterious entity started to breathe on my ear; then shortly after it went away.

Another thing is my father. He was raised by the best mother to ever exist in his life. He’s been through it all and he tries to shed light on that to me. My father has molded me into the man I am today. To respect people, to always do your best, and to try to pry information out of others that could be useful to me in the long run. He always tells me to keep my head up and to articulate my words better so that other people can comprehend what I am trying to say to them.

It was my father who suggested I would enjoy computer aided design. At first I wanted to do architecture because designing is fun and being able to make models with my hands made the process even better. The reason for that is because my entire life has been helping my dad with tools and create additional furniture that can help improve our house or basic needs. He tells me all the time that it's okay that you aren't perfect because no one else in this world is.. Everything takes practice, but for me I can't really get that through my head. I have to be perfect to help my family and to acquire some of the things he always wanted in life but couldn't because he decided to have children. Part of me inside all the time thinks about what my dad could have had if I wasn't born or did more than what I am doing now.

My father throughout my lifetime has taught me how to do many things like how to change the brakes to a car, how to use power tools, how to treat people, how to handle situations, the proper manners towards other individuals, and to talk to people. He often takes with him to work on things that could either help us or his mom. He showed me how to do wiring at my grandmother's house. He sparked that creativity inside of me to create things and experience everything. He also told me how to budget my money.

Now the best part is video games. Video games have been a thing for me since childhood age, starting at about 4 years old. I was decent at the games I played at the time. Video games are what sparked the creativity I have today. Every Game has something different to offer. It stimulates the brain into a different way of thinking. You have to approach every situation in the game differently. That could range from going in full throttle or playing strategically. It all depends on the playstyle. There are some people in the game that make you sometimes dislike the game.. There are many people in the game that call you racial slurs to get under your skin because they are protected behind their screens in the comfort of their homes. That only makes you as a person in a way stronger depending on how you handled the situation at hand.

The first game I ever played was called Naruto Clash of Ninja. That game was so exciting because it obviously had characters to play with from the show and I was also playing with my family. At the time I was about 5 or 6 years old so I couldn't really hold the controller fully. Now I play pretty much all genres video games have to offer. I have the ability to actually fully perfect my craft and enjoy the game. Maybe even one day compete for money to help my family. I did one time compete in a ESL tournament in Rocket League and it was fun but we lost because my team wasn't really that great but regardless it was fun playing with them.

All of these things changed me by making me a better and stronger person at the end of the day. My self-esteem is at an all time high because of people on the video game and my father. My creativity is at an all time high because video games stimulate my brain in a way to think about things differently or see it in an extraordinary way. I'm currently working on not being afraid of the dark because of sleep paralysis but I'll say that I'm 80% there. I feel as a whole I'm overall way more complete of a human being than I was before.

family
Like

About the Creator

Jaleel Thomas

Just a guy trying to get ahead, help people, his family, and relate to people...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.