Humans logo

5 Best Tips to Achieve Happiness

How to Achieve Happiness and Keep-it Up

By Jessica MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Although the definition of happiness is different for everyone, some find it easy to be while some say they have never been happy. But one thing that science has proven is that happiness improves the quality of life. As a curious person, I experiment and google various tips and tricks on various topics. I have gathered and adopted these five scientifically proven ways to keep all of us happy.

Also, to learn more about my work, you can visit my website, we specialize in organic skincare and paraben-free soaps.

1. Spend money on experiences

It was experimented with the help of science. Either people get happier after buying items or after spending money on experiences. It was proven that experiences bring more happiness. Finding that out, I decided to try that; however, buying items is quantifiable and measurable; hence, our joy is in its physical form. I never realized that experiences would help in my personal growth and development, which is long-lasting.

2. Compare from you to you

Getting a compliment has always been uplifting and cheerful for me, but when I saw my peers doing better than me, those compliments mattered nothing. Casually scrolling on my news feed, I read that comparison from others always makes you unhappy. Instead, compare yourself from what you were yesterday—applying this. It's not only healthy for my mind but keeps me happy as well. Every person’s pace, resources, and circumstances are different. Therefore comparisons are biased and meaningless.

3. Practice gratitude

Many psychological pieces of research have shown that gratitude helps in the positive well-being of a person. Adopting gratitude, my self-esteem is going higher, and my romantic relationships and friendships are in better shape. I look towards the good side of life, strengthen communication with people around me and celebrate the small things that have made it easier for me to practice gratitude.

4. Exercise

When a person exercises, it helps in producing dopamine and endorphins in your pain. Too much science? All we need to keep in mind is that the chemicals that are responsible for keeping us happy are produced when we move our bodies. Exercising for a minimum of 7 minutes a day keeps my anxiety at bay and helps me manage stress well. Plus point: it keeps me active and my body in shape.

I believe that smiling is one great exercise too. I have adopted this practice of smiling more and more, which surprisingly keeps my mood light. I keep google on my fingertips. I searched it up and found out that smiling produces a chemical called dopamine, a natural antidepressant that ultimately keeps you happy! I hope you smile when you read this 😊

5. Get some fresh air

In the era of technology, all of us have forgotten the importance of the natural environment. I make sure to run to the nearby park every morning before work to get some oxygen. It always makes me feel relaxed, and then I have a better concentration level at work. It is backed up by science as well; the more oxygen gets in the brain, the better life you can spend; blood pressure and heart rate improve, the immune system strengthens and gives many other health benefits.

For me, health is happiness; therefore, I make sure to breathe as much fresh air as I can.

Be open to change. Even if it doesn’t feel good, change is the one thing you can count on. Change will happen, so make contingency plans and emotionally shore yourself up for the experience.

Bask in the simple pleasures. Those who love you, treasured memories, silly jokes, warm days, and starry nights—these are the ties that bind and the gifts that keep on giving.

Happiness and fulfillment are within your grasp, but sometimes just out of reach. Understanding what works best for you is the first step in finding them more often.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.