Humans logo

4 Daily Habits That Help Me Stay Productive!

Simple Keynote habits that are highly impactful

By JaisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

It doesn’t matter how much work we take up for a day, but what really matters is how much we complete at the end of the day. And working all day long is possibly not everyone’s thing. For me at least! Because I prefer working for a short duration and giving my best in that specific time.

Am I able to complete all my work in this short tenure?

Yes, definitely.

All of this happened to me by just being productive. And this wasn’t just a one-day thing, but all the habits altogether I build throughout these years.

Before starting with what habits helped me the most, here’s one quote by Hal Elrod, an American Author which I would like to mention for once:

Let today be the day you give up who you’ve been for who you can become!

And this is by far one of my favorite quotes that I can possibly read every day. And as quoted in “Let Today Be The Day”, I make sure to stay productive every day by following the below-given habits:

1. Being Mindful

To be productive throughout the day one has to focus on the present and stay mindful. With this, I mean paying attention to our thoughts, feelings, sensations, and environment. Also, acknowledging all of these emotions helps an individual enjoy the work.

Being mindful is not as easy as it looks in the initial days, and it was tougher for me as well. But the key here is to free yourself from past and future worries. The worries can be anything related to work, like an epic project failure or a hectic future project.

So whenever this happens make sure to take a deep breath, keep your mind fully attentive at the present, and get back to the task at hand without worrying about anything else.

Also, did you know that by practicing mindfulness you are improving your memory and lowering your stress levels? Well, this is a brownie point!

2. Journaling

Journaling was quite not that important for me, but now I can swear by this tactic. And the situation now is, I can’t even think of abandoning this process in the near future. This is because, while journaling,

I gather all my thoughts together

I write about my past and present experiences

I let out the scattered thoughts in my mind

I gain clarity

I express my emotions more effortlessly

I am able to record my progress

I plan my day

And lastly, it got easier for me to define my goals for the future

In short, journaling helps a person with brainstorming, analyzing, planning, and monitoring everyday activities. And trust me all these skills are pillars for improving productivity every day.

To start with, write all the tasks you have to do in a day in your journal, and at night make sure to write down all the accomplishments. This will help you analyze what tasks did you completed, and what is still on the list, the reasons behind slower productivity, and the part of the days you were awesomely productive.

If you are new to journaling here is how you can start your journaling practice.

3. Taking Short Breaks

You don’t have to do all your work at a stretch, instead of doing it in small chunks really does wonders. Back then, I used to feel guilty about taking a break, but the results I got after it was amazing.

Even a small break of half an hour helped me reevaluate my goals for the day. It increased my productivity and helped my mind stay focused for long hours. The best part was I got a creative boost instantly after taking a break. My mind got some time to relax and think of better options, just the way our body replenishes with a glass of water.

4. The “1 Thing At A Time” Mantra

The best productivity hack I have learned lately is to not go for multi-tasking, because it can drain your mind a lot. Instead, when we channel our mind and body to just a task, we do it more efficiently and effectively. Because when it comes to productivity, LESS IS MORE, and MORE IS TIRING FOR YOUR BRAIN.

Doing the impossible every day is literally in everyone’s hands, you just have to push yourself a bit. There will be days when you will feel like doing nothing, and on those days make sure to give yourself sweet treats. And there would be days when you will be feeling extra productive, and on those days make sure to perform your best.

All the above tips to stay productive truly helped me a lot every day. And I’m not asking you to do it all, all at once. Pick out one habit a day and see if it works for you. The next day, pick up a few more. Because in the end, habit building is all that matters, like said by Buddha:

Drop By Drop Is The Water Pot Filled

Wishing everyone all the success!

This post is originally published on my blog GetSetHappy

Grap the list of 6 TINY HABITS THAT MAKE YOU A HAPPY PERSON.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.