Humans logo

10 Things You Wish You Knew Before Your 1st Date

So You Can Get A 2nd One

By Stephy EllsworthPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
10 Things You Wish You Knew Before Your 1st Date
Photo by Lon Christensen on Unsplash

How nerve wrecking, but absolutely painfully pleasurable is that 1st date?

Mine happened so long ago it’s blur. Or at least the memory of him is.

​My first date was exciting, yet confusing. I remember asking myself a ton of questions like, what do I wear? How should I fix my hair? Should I wear high heels? If I do, will I be able to walk in them? How will I eat in front of him? How will we decide who pays? Just a whirlwind of questions with no answers.

I promise, almost every worst case scenario & question ran through my mind. What if I got food stuck in my teeth & he didn’t tell me? What if I had a booger & he just stared? What if I tripped & appeared to be a klutz? What if we ran into someone we knew that an ex? What if I’m not the only one he’s talking to? So many what ifs!

My anxiety was at an all-time high & the butterflies dancing in my stomach wouldn’t die. I thought about cancelling & saying something came up. I had even considered flaking half way through. I conjured up the perfect plan! My best friend was going to call me, & I was going to pretend there was an emergency that would make me have to rush home.

Then I had to coach myself. “No! That’s childish. You’re young, but mature.”

My final thoughts ended in these 3 words: “I can do this!” And I did.

I survived my 1st date, & so will you!

Don’t stop here…..

Read a little further to find out how!

You know what they say, “the first impression is a lasting impression.” You only have ONE shot to get it right! First dates are not all bad! Get prepared now! Let me help you.

I had planned every failure, but never planned for success. I guess this was my very first mistake. <—my tips start start here! don’t do this!

Follow below 👇🏽 for my tips & survive your 1st date! Check out these Do’s & Don’ts—

1️⃣Do ✓ Follow up: Make sure the date will still take place as planned. ✅

Don’t ✗ Nag. Don’t continue to call & pressure the issue if they don’t answer or plans fall through.❌

2️⃣ Do ✓ Mentally prepare: It will help you maintain your composure. ✅

Don’t ✗ Psych yourself out: you’ll start overthinking & talk yourself out of the date before it even happens.❌

3️⃣Do✓ Be confident: own your awesomeness & be comfortable in your own skin. ✅

Don’t ✗ Be cocky or conceited. Make sure you don’t self-inflate or brag. This is a turn off!❌

4️⃣ Do✓ Dress comfortably: dress for the occasion & be comfortable. It’ll increase your chances of having a good time.✅

Don’t ✗ Overdress. Don’t go for the overkill. Make sure you’re dressed appropriately for the date (weather, date environment, etc).❌

5️⃣Do✓ Smell nice- smelling nice heightens the interest & attraction of other individuals.✅

Don’t ✗ Overkill with spray/cologne. Be mindful of allergies of others. Too much can be a turn off or a health hazard if someone has asthma. You don’t want to trigger a coughing or sneezing fit.❌

6️⃣Do✓ Be engaging. Answer questions appropriately & give additional information or go into detail—but don’t tell all your business.✅

Don’t ✗ Dominate the conversation. Don’t do all the talking! Take moments to listen during the date.❌

7️⃣Do✓ Ask questions. Show interest in the person you’re on the date with. Learn about them: their likes & dislikes.✅

Don’t ✗ Talk too much about yourself! Don’t make the date all about you.❌

8️⃣Do✓ Have open body language. Receptive eyes & in tuned ears are visible to the human eye. A person can read body language.Be approachable so they can feel comfortable with you.✅

Don’t ✗ Have closed body language. Closed body language can signal that you’re bored or not having a good time.❌

9️⃣ Do✓ Set boundaries. Stay in control of yourself & how you want the date to go. Make sure the boundaries are clear & concise.✅

Don’t ✗ Rush physical contact. There’s nothing wrong with a friendly hug, but let the other contact (kissing, sex, etc) flow naturally—when you are BOTH ready!❌

🔟 Do✓ HAVE FUN! Enjoy the moment & the night out.✅

Don’t ✗ Beat yourself if it doesn’t go as planned! You win some & you lose some. It’ll be ok. ❌

BONUS:

DO make it your own experience.

DON’T make the same mistakes I did!

Hopefully, these tips have helped calm some of your fears & jitters about your first date!

Do love tips like these? Give it a heart & Subscribe now to view more posts like these!​

dating
1

About the Creator

Stephy Ellsworth

Certified Blogger | Master Life Coach | Lover of words, writing, reading, & English |Published Authoress|

“Everyone has a story, I just decided to write mine.” -Steph 💋✍🏽

#stephysays💋#astoldbySteph #stephysaysshow #accordingtostephy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.