Humans logo

10 Nigerian Celebrities React to Removal of Fuel Subsidy

Everyone from Alex to Charly Boy

By Jide OkonjoPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like

In case you don't know what is happening right now in Nigeria, the new president of the country, President Bola Tinubu announced on Monday during his inauguaral address that the government will be putting an end to fuel subsidy. According to the president, the current 2023 budget only has provision for the fuel subsidy till June, and he said that the funds meant for subsidies will instead be diverted to creation of public infrastructure, health care, education and jobs.

Removal of fuel subsidy means higher fuel prices in fueling stations, and already long queues have begun forming at fuel stations around the country. Every Nigerian is affected by this new development, and a number of people have a lot of thoughts about it. Here are what 10 Nigerian celebrities had to say about this issue of fuel subsidy.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Alex Unusual

Please how much is a horse and where can I buy one 😭 ?

What does a horse eat to fuel it?

I think I need to learn how to ride a bicycle 🚴 .

2. Noble Igwe

I fully support the removal of fuel subsidy but I think a government should first put plans in place to mitigate the impact on her citizens but then, what I do know , I supported Peter Obi.

3. Charly Boy

Tinubu Don Break Record Within 24Hours after Sworn-In .

Fuel Scarcity&Fuel Prize has Increased after Announcing Fuel Subsidy Removal.Day1 Hitting The Ground Running.

The Question is,

Are the BATIS Going to Buy this Fuel in Different Prices from what We Buy???

We go soon learn

4. Reno Omokri

But why are some Nigerians complaining about the removal of fuel subsidy? All Major Presidential candidates, except Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, publicly said they would remove it on day one of being sworn in.

I'm not too fond of Tinubu's past as a cartel member. However, on this, he is correct, and I support fuel subsidy removal unequivocally.

This is the time for patriotism. Let us pursue our case to right the wrongs of the #NigerianElections2023. But until the courts render a final judgment, let us praise where necessary and oppose appropriately.

5. Kate Henshaw

FUEL QUEUES....

6. Tochi

Most people don’t even know what Fuel subsidy means! Pump prices go up not down 🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️

7. Do2dtun

Please when you get to the filling station, just say

I am Yoruba” “I am Igbo” “I am Hausa” in your various states and you will get free fuel.. awon atole!

😂😂😂

You are a Nigerian at the end of the day. what is good for the poor goose is good for poor gander

8. JJ Omojuwa

“Fuel subsidy is gone” because it’s already law. The National Assembly already passed a budget into law that settled the subsidy matter. What the president did was update those who didn’t know that. And also show he doesn’t intend to bring the dead back.

9. Niyi Akinmolayan

Everyone should be prepared for this fuel subsidy removal sha.

10. Timaya

No fuel for my moto 😤

What are your thoughts on the fuel subsidy removal? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.