Humans logo

10 Life Lessons I Learned From My Grandmother and for Which I Am Forever Grateful

Grandma was my superhero

By Amira ReynoldsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
10 Life Lessons I Learned From My Grandmother and for Which I Am Forever Grateful
Photo by RepentAnd SeekChristJesus on Unsplash

If we look back on the lives of our grandparents, we will realize how much courage they have shown over time and how they have faced the toughest struggles that for us are just a few lines in a history book. .

Some of them traveled miles to gain the freedom they longed for, to survive wars, genocides, oppression, factories. They are real survivors.

My dear grandmother lived her life exactly the way many of us do. He prospered and coped with every dark day with a smile on his face.

He offered more love and compassion than any other person I have ever met. Her presence in the family had a huge impact.

For many, Grandma is the person who is always there to support you, to secretly offer you, sweets, without your parents seeing you, or to read you a bedtime story.

To me, Grandma meant all of these things, but more than that, she was a real HEROINE.

I still remember his life stories and how he seemed to be about to burst into tears every time, but he didn't. He didn't want to discourage me. Instead, he always made sure to teach me well.

Even though she is no longer physically present in my life, I feel it in my soul and heart. It will always have a special place there. I would give anything I could hear his voice, at least once. Every time my soul is torn apart by her longing, I remember the lessons I learned from her.

And now I want to share with you the 10 life lessons I learned from my dear grandmother:

  1. Take advantage of every chance your life has to offer and never give up on what you want to achieve. You never know where your life might go.
  2. Love to the last drop and then continue to love. No matter who you meet, don't judge because you don't know what kind of fight is going on inside him. Treat others exactly the way you want them to be treated.
  3. Be happy even when you feel like you can't. Just smile and happiness will come naturally. Let go of the music and sing, dance. Use your imagination.
  4. Classic country songs are the best remedy when the chaos of life takes over you. The lyrics are authentic and honest. Feel the music and let yourself be carried away by the wave.
  5. You have to believe that there is something greater than you than your family. The world is a never-ending realm of surprises.
  6. Don't be afraid to get your hands dirty, either in the kitchen or in the garden.
  7. It's perfect if you want to play football or any other sport that boys usually play. It does not impose limits on you. If you're smarter than them, show them. Show the whole world.
  8. Read regularly. A person who keeps his mind active is a healthy person.
  9. Laugh at yourself.
  10. Venture, find love, make real connections. Keep learning throughout your life. And eat that slice of cake you crave so much. We have a life.

Life is full of ups and downs, but that doesn't mean we can't enjoy it. By the end of it, we will have so many beautiful or less beautiful moments, but the important thing is to learn from them and take advantage of every opportunity that life throws at us.

Don't waste time, because even though we don't realize it, it's so short. Listen to your heart! Listen to your grandmother, because there will come a time in your life when you will remember all her words and you will want with all your heart to be by your side and to listen to her gentle voice that seems to caress your soul.

advice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ARWritten by Amira Reynolds

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.