Horror logo

The Good Stray

Challenge #4: Beware the Mundane

By KJ AartilaPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
The Good Stray
Photo by Jan Kopřiva on Unsplash

*** Based on a true story***

The Good Stray

I saved the orange and white tabby that came slinking to my door. His sad, scrawny form with the abscess on his side begged for food. I gave him some raw meat I had thawing for dinner, and decided if he made it through the weekend, he would be officially ours and we would take him to the vet to have him neutered, vaccinated and treated as needed to get him back to healthy. Even if he ran off afterwards, at least he wouldn’t be creating more kittens or spreading sickness.

Little did we know what we were welcoming into our lives. No good deed goes unpunished.

So he survived the weekend and hung out by the house. Come Monday, we called to make his appointment with the veterinarian. They took him in that afternoon and we brought him back home in a couple of days. He had been neutered, his abscess treated and he was gaining weight. I could finally let my daughter interact with him. She had been dying to pet him all weekend. Now she had to pick a name. We warned her that he may not want to play or live here.

He did.

So, Meow Meow became the best cat for our daughter, though he lived outdoors. She could do anything with that stray cat, from picking him up and hauling him around, swinging in her small arms, to dressing him up and taking him for a ride in the stroller she had recently outgrown. But he wasn’t as fond of us, the adults in his house. He liked to lay by us on the porch, but far enough out of reach to avoid any chance we might touch him. He did like beer, though, as we discovered him eagerly licking the top of a can my husband had set on the ground.

Anyway, after a month or so, when he had blossomed back to health and decided he lived here permanently, I went into the garage through the back door. I stepped inside, closing the door behind me, but my hand remained on the knob as I stared in stunned disbelief at the cat flying crazily around the garage, bouncing off walls and hay bales. I finally came to my senses enough to partially open the door behind me, but I wasn’t about to take my eyes off the yellow streak of craziness before me. He saw his chance for escape and came flying toward me. I thought he was going to claw my eyes out, but he hit the floor and scooted out the door between my legs instead. Still shaken from my near blinding experience, I went back to the house and reported the incident to my husband.

Later that day, he came sauntering into the yard. All appeared to be back to normal, and our daughter played normally with him. I was apprehensive, but gave in to her insistence. He was good as gold.

Our neighbor called over the winter about finding our cat on top of the woodpile in her shed. She conveyed that he hissed mightily and ran off.

Our cat came back the next day, again normal and as good as gold.

In the spring, my husband found the skull of a cat in the woods, along with a tuft of orange hair. Meow Meow was still healthy and living comfortably with us. There were never any more sightings of the evil cat.

******************************************************************

This was written in response to James and Oneg's Original Summer Extravaganza Challenge, which you can read about below:

I was tagged by Judey Kalchik to join in - I typically don’t write Horror.

psychological

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Rick Henry Christopher 8 months ago

    Great story!!! Your writing style is engaging.

  • Hahahahahahaha oooo, that was so eerie! Lol! I enjoyed this so much! Meow Meow is such a cute name!

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Awesome, Meow Meow had a doppelganger! And a mean one at that. Perhaps he was Meow Meow's evil twin? Great story well told. 😊💙👍

  • I thought Jesus cast the demons into a herd of pigs. How did Legion find their way into a cat? Loved the story, KJ.

  • Andrew C McDonald10 months ago

    Very captivating. A spooky feline tail if ever there was one. Nicely done.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Wow!!! This was amazing!!! Even with the eerie vibes, loved it!!!

  • James U. Rizzi10 months ago

    That was very suddenly eerie I loved it very pet cemetery vibes

  • marie e ehlenbach10 months ago

    I recently learned from you that there may have been some concerns regarding SPAM, and I wanted to address this matter promptly. I want to assure you that my intentions were never to engage in any form of spam or unwanted communication. If my messages have been perceived as such, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. If you want to see the copy of my story, I will be glad to give it to you. Or if that is not wanted, I will be glad to give it to the person who declares it SPAM.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Oh goodness- did not see that twist coming.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Meow meow has a dark side. Great story KJ!

  • marie e ehlenbach10 months ago

    It was an outstanding story! Can you please read my story? https://vocal.media/criminal/great-chicago-novel-blas01qe

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is great! Abigail was running around like a lunatic this morning. Oh dear. 😳

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Hi KJ - "Saunter?" - You are such a terrific 'StoryTeller' but couldn't come up with a better cat name than "Meow~Meow." I'm not into contests; but fun to read yours - If you have a moment please see my "Rescue" written on behalf of - Pet Haven Minnesota - The Dedicated Director is very much a Cat-Person and 'names' them all. JB

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    Oh damn. Wow. As someone who has a crazy cat (lol) I don’t know it to trust the cat or not!! Great job :)

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Well done. I think you hit the prompt perfectly

KJ AartilaWritten by KJ Aartila

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.