Horror logo

Collection Day

Challenge #4 Beware the Mundane

By Judey Kalchik Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
18
https://pixabay.com/users/ben_kerckx-69781/

It started simply enough: I suddenly remembered that it was trash pick-up day. I walked into the kitchen and tugged on the flimsy plastic loops as I strained to break the vacuum holding the bag in the trash can.

With a WOOOOOOSH it dislodged and I staggered back a bit, dangling the half-full bag at arm's length as I found my footing. Looking at the bag I had the thought that it was a shame to toss this into the wheeled can and trundled it to the street with so much unused potential.

Thinking smugly of my unexpected adulting, I opened the refrigerator and started going through the crisper and then the shelves. Taking the time to read every label I found that many things had expired... and in the case of a jar of what I suspected were olives, they had expired on a date that started with '199-'. How had I missed this? Into the bag it went.

Even after the refrigerator gave up it's soupy cukes, wilted celery, and sus jars; there was still plenty of room in the bag. So I moved into the spice rack. Ha! When was the last time I used celery seed? Coriander dust? A square tin with the telltale dusty red top of McCormick cloves (dated that same '19--'? Into the bag.

Huh- that's strange. It hardly felt like there was anything at all in the bag. Still plenty of room. I moved on to the freezer. Now! Here's something that should fill up a trash bag!

Quart-sized bags of frost-coated... berries? meat? maybe veggie patties? As I picked up the bags the slick plastic flexed and icy crystals crunched and then gave way revealing the contents that gave no clue to what their original purpose may have been. No dates. No labels. Who put these in here? What were they? Into the trash bag.

Closing the door on an orderly freezer I braced myself to lift the bag and finally walk it and the larger can to the curb. But there was no need. It lifted light as a feather, as if I'd not added 3/4 of the freezer contents to it.

The pink ribbon of plastic tie that rimmed the mouth of the bag twisted within its hem, as if to mock me and ask "Is that all you've got?" I clenched my jaw and dragged it to the bathroom.

There I opened doors and drawers, tossing old prescriptions, half-used tubes of unguents, caps to bottles long gone, and toothbrushes meant to continue their service as scrubbers and cleaners of crevices that would remain unbothered.

Sweating a bit I went to pull those ties taut only to discover the bag was not even half full. How could that be? Did the sides have secret stretching ability, swelling its middle instead of mounding towards the top? Time to pull out all of the stops- the bedroom closet.

Hearing a maniacal chuckle I barely registered as my own I flung open the closet door and grabbed for the box of craft supplies from the upper shelf. It was hidden there to spare myself from the shame of abandoned intentions of creation.

Into the bag went snarled skeins of wool that even the moths disdained. Next the crumbling glue sticks from the days of Brownie meetings (that Brownie now a mom in her own right), bits of felt that were deemed to be good for 'something, sometime', and squashed cherubs that I once thought just needed plumping before adorning a wreath or tree. Gone. Gone. Gone. Gone.

Shoeboxes perfect for dioramas in classes that ended years ago- pots of poster paint that bore hints of color in their cracked cavities, wax from candle kits, soap from soap kits, and thread of gold, silver, and bronze for paper presses that disappeared years ago. Gone.

Panting from the exertion, I hefted the bag to see if it could still be lifted, only to find it as light as when I first started. Peeking inside I saw the celluloid cherubs twined with tinsel and thread, wrapped in woolen coats that shimmered in the light filtering into their palaces of paper boxes.

I could stand it no more and flung myself out of the door and dashed towards the street to see the trash collector rounding the corner. The corner AWAY from the house. They had already been down our street and passed by since the bins weren't standing sentry at the curb.

That meant it would be another week. Another week feeding the ravenous bag. Conceding I had lost this challenge, I wearily and resolutely turned around and headed towards what I knew it really craved. The garage.....

~~~~~

This was written in response to James and Oneg's Original Summer Extravaganza Challenge, which you can read about below. There's not time limit, so check it out and create one of your own from a prompt.

Here's a short poem I wrote for another one of the prompts.

While you’re here, please do one or all of the following!

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. What have you done before on a dare or challenge? How did it turn out?

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly recurring tip/pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved! Or send something along from my Amazon wish list!

You can also find me on Medium.

supernaturalfiction
18

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Where can I find a bag like this? Asking for a friend who's out of 55-gallon drums. 😎 Awesome writing, Judey. Loved this magnificent, creepy story.

  • Lightning Bolt9 months ago

    Coriander dust is a *thing*? 🤯 That alone scared the crap outta me. 😉

  • Test9 months ago

    Sisyphus and his boulder! lols 😂 What a wonderful poem about rubbish and sorting, and I did laugh at the end about the rubbish truck disappearing aroun😊d the corner. I'd love a magic bag like that one for sure. Bravo, Judey! 💕

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Lol! Judey, this was super relatable… and reminded me I have some oogy veggies in my crisper to battle. Great job.

  • James U. Rizzi9 months ago

    Obsessive cleaning is already a nightmare you took it and made it literal lol how absolutely clever loved it

  • Iris Harris9 months ago

    Is it bad that I laughed at the end? My dark humorous side is satiated, much like the bag in your story! That was a fun read!

  • The bag lives! I would have shaken my fist at the garbage truck before slunking off to the garage lol. Great story!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    That bag would have broken on me, for sure, before I'd got it out of the bin. Fun story!

  • Lol, that bag is like Doraemon's pocket! Who knows, maybe the bag would be satisfied after gobbling her up!

  • After the garage, try the attic. There's bound to be more than enough to sate your ravenous bag.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    I was waiting for the bag to break, but no. What a champ that bag is. Well done.

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    I hope the bag won’t eat YOU next! Cool story :D

  • J. Delaney-Howe9 months ago

    I need a bag like that!!!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Judey, this was fun read!!! Was waiting for the monster to jump out of the bag!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.