Horror logo

A Soul Connection

A love story

By Chrissy MerlikaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Depositphotos.com

There he was, just as handsome as he looked on the app. There was a glow, it surrounded him like he was my angel sent from heaven. Omg, I’m nervous, I thought. Wait, no I got this we have been talking for 6 weeks now. It’s time we finally meet face to face. Wait, what… it’s been six weeks. That’s a long time, and we haven’t met. Wow, I thought. This is intense.

“James? Hi, it’s Sophia. Nice to finally meet you,” I blurted. Wait, I didn’t even wait for him to confirm or say hi. Oh geesh, I’m nervous. Ok, Sophia, you go this. You got this girl!

“Hey Sophia, nice to meet you in person. After six weeks of getting to know each other, we finally get to meet. I have a good feeling about us,” he replied.

Wait, it’s like he can read my mind. This is cool, I thought.

The waiter walks over to us, “table for two?” We both looked at each other, locked eyes for a moment, then smiled. “Yes, table for two we said simultaneously.”

We were in sync. It’s like he can read my mind. This is different, this is strange. What’s happening, I thought. I like it. Here we were, James and I, finally sitting down together.

“This restaurant is beautiful,” as I looked around. It was the middle of a pandemic, La Maison de Cuisine transformed the sidewalk into the most beautiful Parisian theme, outdoor dining experience.

The waiter comes over, hi, did you get a chance to look at the menu? There’s a dinner special that includes a glass of merlot. Would you like to try it out?

I was excited to be in the moment, I wanted a drink to match my mood, French 75 I thought. “No thank you I responded; I’ll have a French 75 please.” I looked up at James and he seemed puzzled. I’m not sure what that face was, I’ll ask him when the waiter leaves, I thought.

James looked up and said, “I’ll have what she’s having.”

“Are you ready to place your food orders?” the waiter asked.

“Umm, I still need a minute,” I responded.

As I looked over the menu, I felt him staring at me. When I looked up, he smiled and said you’re beautiful. I was melting inside. As I got to know James, I learned he was such a calm and gentle man. We had so much in common.

The waiter returns to take our orders, our orders were placed and now we can get to talking. Here he goes again, I looked up and he was staring at me, we locked eyes. It’s felt like he had control over me through his eyes, I thought. Is he, my soulmate?

I quickly started the conversation, while looking away. “Okay James, we agreed we will do these tests in person, are you ready?” He looked over and said “tests?” I replied, “the love language quiz and the attachment style remember. We agreed we will take them on our first date.” “Oh yes, I’m sorry, you’re right. Lets’ do it, he responded.” I pulled out my phone and sent him the links. While he tested, it was my turn to stare at him.

The first test was complete, the love language test. We both have the same love language, quality time and physical touch. I’m at a loss for words, how could this be? Who is this man? There’s no way, I feel like we are the same person. Ok, let’s see how he does on the attachment style… he looked up and showed his screen. Secure, it read. In that moment, I needed a break, I was filled with so much emotion. Our love languages are a match, and he’s a secure attachment style. This man is too perfect, there must be something wrong.

He recognized my relief after seeing the results. I was happy. I’ve dated in the past, but this experience was different. It was deeper than a love connection. This was a new kind of connection. It felt like a love that flustered all over my body.

“I have a confession Sophia, when I first saw you on the app, I did something. Please don’t be mad at me but it was needed. And as I look at us sitting here today in this beautiful restaurant, I think we both needed it. And the fact that it worked means we are truly connected.”

“James, I said, what did you do?” I replied.

We’ve been talking for 6 weeks now; this is the first time we are meeting. What could he have done, that he needs a confession already, I thought? As I sat there, gazing in his beautiful brown eyes, I couldn’t help but notice how drawing they were. There was a gravitational attraction, a force so strong I couldn’t resist. Was this love, is this a soul connection. Is James my soulmate? I thought, again.

Focus Sophia, focus, he has a confession remember. Let’s hear what he has to say.

At first, I didn’t know what to expect, but as he started talking. I recognized where this was going.

Ove the past year, I’ve been focusing on healing my heart from trauma and pain. It started with a twenty-one-day meditation journey. I meditated to elevate my consciousness. My soul was alive, and throughout the journey, the law of attraction was heavily discussed. That was how I recognized where the conversation was headed.

“James, I replied. Did you do what I think you did? Did you do it alone or with help?”

“I did it alone,” James replied.

“James! I blurted. Why would you do this to me? Here I thought we had a connection, a true natural connection. I really thought you were my soulmate and now on our first date you tell me this.”

“Sophia, I’m sorry. When I saw your photos on the App, I really wanted to talk to you. And after we got to talking, I fell in love with your words, your personality, your soul. I want you; I want to nourish your soul, your life, your being Sophia. I know you are the one for me and without you, I don’t know what I would do.”

“James, you cast a love spell. How do I know if there is any part of this that’s real? How could I ever trust you from here?

"I need some space I managed to whisper," trying to excuse myself while I held back the tears.

I was distraught. I fell for it. It explained everything. James had casted a love spell on me. He forced me to fall in love with him. How could he be so selfish? As I gazed in the bathroom mirror, I couldn’t help feeling the pull towards him. I loved him and now I don’t know what to do.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Chrissy Merlika

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.