Horror logo

A Little Nightmare

-

By Albinus Sahat Lumban GaolPublished 12 days ago 4 min read
1

The night draped over me like a heavy shroud, pulling me into its embrace as I surrendered to the sweet oblivion of sleep. As my eyelids fluttered shut, the world around me dissolved into darkness, and I found myself slipping into the labyrinth of dreams.

At first, the dream was deceptively mundane. I wandered through familiar streets, the soft glow of streetlights casting long shadows across the pavement. But as I walked on, the world around me began to warp and distort, twisting into something altogether unfamiliar and unsettling.

The once-familiar streets twisted and contorted, leading me deeper into a maze of nightmares. Shadows danced at the edges of my vision, their sinister forms flickering in and out of existence like phantoms in the night. A chill wind whispered through the empty streets, carrying with it the faint scent of decay.

My heart quickened its pace, and a sense of foreboding settled over me like a suffocating shroud. I knew I needed to escape, to find my way back to the safety of reality, but no matter how fast I ran, the darkness seemed to swallow me whole.

Panic clawed at my chest as I stumbled through the nightmarish landscape, my breath coming in ragged gasps. I tried to scream for help, but my voice was lost in the void, swallowed by the darkness that surrounded me.

Just when I thought I could take no more, I jolted awake, my heart hammering in my chest. I lay there for a moment, trying to steady my ragged breaths and calm my racing heart. But something felt off. The room around me was unfamiliar, distorted somehow, like a twisted reflection of reality.

I reached out a trembling hand, fumbling for the light switch, but my fingers found nothing but empty air. Panic surged through me as I realized that I was still trapped in the nightmare. The boundaries between dream and reality had blurred beyond recognition, leaving me stranded in a waking nightmare from which there was no escape.

I stumbled out of bed, my limbs trembling with fear. The shadows seemed to dance mockingly on the walls, their twisted forms contorting in unnatural ways. I tried to shake myself out of the nightmare, to force myself awake, but it was no use.

Time seemed to lose all meaning as I stumbled through the darkness, my mind consumed by fear and despair. Every shadow seemed to hold some unspeakable horror, every creak of the floorboards a whispered threat. I tried to cling to shreds of sanity, but the darkness threatened to consume me whole.

I searched desperately for some sign of hope, some glimmer of light in the suffocating darkness. But all I found was endless night, stretching out before me like an eternity of torment.

As the darkness closed in around me, I realized that there was only one thing left to do. I had to confront my fears head-on, to find the strength within myself to overcome the nightmares that threatened to consume me.

With a newfound determination, I pressed on, my footsteps echoing through the empty darkness. I didn't know what lay ahead, but I knew that I had to keep moving forward. For in the heart of darkness, there is always a flicker of light, a spark of hope waiting to be found. And no matter how bleak the night may seem, dawn will always break, casting aside the shadows and illuminating the path to salvation.

But as I ventured deeper into the abyss, I realized that the nightmare was far from over. With each step, the darkness seemed to grow thicker, more oppressive, until it felt like I was wading through a sea of shadows.

I stumbled and fell, my hands reaching out in desperation for something, anything, to hold onto. But there was nothing but emptiness, a yawning void that threatened to swallow me whole.

And then, just when I thought I couldn't go on, a faint glimmer of light appeared on the horizon. It was small at first, barely more than a speck in the distance, but it grew brighter with each passing moment.

With renewed hope, I picked myself up off the ground and pressed forward, determined to reach the light at the end of the tunnel. But as I drew closer, I realized that the light was not a beacon of salvation, but a doorway to something far more sinister.

A chill ran down my spine as I stepped through the doorway, finding myself in a place that was both familiar and alien. It was my bedroom, but twisted and distorted, like a funhouse mirror reflection of reality.

The shadows seemed to writhe and pulse with a life of their own, and a sense of dread settled over me like a suffocating blanket. I knew then that I was still trapped in the nightmare, that there was no escape from the darkness that surrounded me.

But even as fear threatened to consume me, a small voice in the back of my mind whispered words of hope. It told me that I was stronger than the nightmares that plagued me, that I had the power to overcome even the darkest of fears.

With a newfound sense of determination, I squared my shoulders and faced the darkness head-on. I would not let it control me, I would not let it break me. For I was the master of my own destiny, and no nightmare could ever extinguish the light of hope that burned within me.

supernaturalpsychological
1

About the Creator

Albinus Sahat Lumban Gaol

Just need mony for paying my bill's and make my mom happy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.