History logo

Time Travel

A trip through history at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

By Ashley LimaPublished 12 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - June 2023
39
Time Travel
Photo by Zulfa Nazer on Unsplash

My favorite place in the world is the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, New York. I've gone a few times, but one time, in particular, sticks out to me.

During college, I nearly minored in art history, but my procrastination tendencies forced my hand, and I never declared. I enjoyed taking the classes as much as I could because nearly every semester we'd get to pay a small fee of $40 and museum entry to wander around the Museum District of the Big Apple.

Though I've been to the MoMA and the Guggenheim, and enjoyed them thoroughly, my heart couldn't stay away from the MET. I was very much a loner in college, but I was also very much a stoner. So on one of these fateful field trips, I took it upon myself to bring a concentrated pen vaporizer with me. I toked up in Central Park among the birds and the trees and the crowds of people that New York brings before heading inside my favorite place on the face of this Earth.

That fateful day in the MET, I traveled through time. I felt the love, the loss, and the immortality of each piece I came across. From Ancient Egypt, to Feudal Japan, to the European Renaissance. I lived and died a million lifetimes. Travel back in time with me and experience Metropolitan Magic.

The Great Hall from the MET website

When you enter the MET you stumble across the Great Hall. Its classical Beaux-Arts interior is breathtaking and reminiscent of late 19th-century New York City. Even though it was crowded that day, I couldn't see anyone else around me. The drone of a thousand voices was nothing compared to the weight of my footsteps on the stone floor. My stomach dropped looking up at the cathedral-esque ceiling, and I recognized it was truly a place of ascension and spiritual growth. I bought my ticket at a kiosk and set off to explore. I took a left out of the Great Hall into history.

First stop, Greek and Roman art.

Part of the Greek and Roman Wing from the MET website.

I lived through battles. Witnessed my brothers-in-arms fall next to me as I waded through the carnage. Saw their battered armor, helmets, and shields. But I was also alive to witness the art that was created out of our losses. Ornate vases and pitchers and plates, carefully glazed; ancient craftsmanship. I met the Gods. Their marble statues standing taller than I, begging for me to take a knee and acknowledge their power. I mentally complied, and I felt the weight of the world as the skies opened up to tell me I was home.

As I turned right, I entered the Michael C. Rockefeller Wing.

The Michael C. Rockefeller Wing from the MET website.

I was pulled in many different directions, all tribal in nature. From sub-Saharan Africa to the South Pacific Islands, I learned what it was to work hard and find community. Intricate wood carvings represented new deities, new idols of worship, and again I allowed them to speak. Spirits whispered in my ear, gently, sounding like the sea and sandstorms all at once. Unspoken figures of humanity came back to life, bringing me with them through their journeys, for which I will forever be grateful.

Moving forward, I found myself back in the Modern and Contemporary, though I was still traveling well before my lifetime.

The Modern and Contemporary Wing, image provided by AFANews.

I witness the erosion of the classical and felt the defiance present through pop art, abstraction, and minimalism. Its rough edges shaped me into developing a deeper understanding of capitalism in the art world. I felt the rebellion, the change, and the hope expressed in these pieces. I also felt the sadness, the loss, and the pain poured into the work. I was cold and uncomfortable, but that's the point, isn't it? Though the art contrasted with its classical counterparts, and some may say it's more simplistic, that simplicity sure made me think about a lot.

Bearing right, I found myself bearing witness to European Sculpture and Decorative Art.

The European Sculpture and Decorative Art Wing from the MET website.

I got to learn new languages as I witnessed French, Italian, German, English, and Spanish sculpture and decoration. I slept in bedrooms I would never see again, ornate and rich, wealth I would never understand. I dined at vast, long tables, fit for a king, and I was royalty at that moment. Though I couldn't touch, I felt the shapes and curves of the wood and marble beneath my fingertips. I knew the work, blood, sweat, and tears that artisans poured into these pieces. Pieces they likely couldn't enjoy themselves. I allowed them to live through me, to enjoy the essence of the monumental beauty. As our souls intertwined, I felt the weight of inequality on my shoulders.

Moving forward, I traveled further back into European history, where religion and superstition reign supreme; Medieval Times.

Medieval Art Display from the MET website.

I cried with the Madonna as she lost her only son, over, and over, and over again. Innumerous times we sobbed together over this neverending depiction of a mother's love and mourning. We also got to experience joy together as there was also no shortage of her son's birth either. Jesus, in all of his forms, reigned supreme in this wing. A figure for humanity; I asked him if he understood the impact he left on the world, but he didn't answer. Outside of the metaphysical, I fought wars from all sides. Senseless, brooding, but prideful. Dying for kings and queens that didn't know our names for land rights that didn't so much matter one bit. The darkness in the area left a shadow over the time I was traveling, and that feeling was palpable.

Next stop: Asian Art.

Asian Art Courtyard at the MET from their website.

I met Buddhas, Bodhisattvas, Shiva, Vishnu, Shoulao, and more. I felt the differences between the East and the West, and the zen of the East was preferable. The architecture was just as ornate, and the decorations were so complex yet balanced. I was walking on a tightrope with my head bowed in respect. The air was light and clean, smelling of peace. I ate off of pottery dishes and drank rice wine from the most beautiful pitchers. I felt the tickle of each brush stroke on my skin as it left its mark on thin, long-lasting xuan paper. I walked past tapestries so vast and detailed, it was hard to believe that they were real.

But, I had to move on, and off to Ancient Egypt, I went.

Temple of Dendur from the MET website.

I prayed at the Temple of Dendur and bathed my sins away in the Nile. I read the stories of the hieroglyphs and felt connected through it all. Though the stone was weathered and washed off, I saw the color from the day it was created. Vibrant, beautiful, and alive. A tribute to a mighty power so old, but not so far removed from ourselves. I met so many kings and queens, Pharaohs as they prefer, and I bid them my respect before bidding the museum adieu. Lady Nephthys sends her regards.

My time was up, and I had to catch the bus lest get stuck in New York City, stranded and beholden to my own money and wit to find my way back home. That day will stay with me forever. The day I was a time traveler. I got to be so many people, hold so many occupations, and feel the humanity embedded and intertwined into each individual soul. I felt the connection of our special species, neverending and immortal. Transcending religion, wealth, and history.

___________________________________________________

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is located at 1000 5th Ave, New York, NY 10028. If you're ever in the city and you go no place else, you must visit this amazing building. The MET is open 7 days a week from 10-5, and from 10-9 on Thursdays. Entrance is $20 for adults, $14 for seniors and students, and everyone 19 and under is free. I hope you enjoy your visit as much as I do every time I go.

EventsWorld HistoryPlacesPerspectivesModernMedievalDiscoveriesAncient
39

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Another magnificent gallery experience; really want to see the Met myself. Good work!

  • MT Poetry12 months ago

    Wow, your description of your experience at the Metropolitan Museum of Art is absolutely captivating! I could feel the emotions and the sense of immersion as you traveled through different time periods and cultures. Thank you for sharing your experience and for providing the information about the MET. I'll definitely make sure to visit it when I'm in New York City.🥰💕

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    Wow ! You made me want to visit...

  • Erica Wagner12 months ago

    Love this tour through time and art! Your passion comes through. Thank you!

  • Fateen Khan12 months ago

    Story-Travel- theme: aesthetic All wow!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Loving your time travel through the MET, it was an enjoyable trip!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    I feel like I was walking along with you at the MET (one of my favorite places). This is an exceptional piece, so fortunate to have read and enjoyed it. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • David C. Connor12 months ago

    🔥🔥🔥

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Wow, I love the way you write! Checking out art museums is one of my favorite pastimes, in my city and when visiting other cities. I prefer to time travel too. I don’t really “get” most modern art. Congrats on your Top Story. 🥂

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Congratulations Ashley! 🎊 Well-deserved TS.

  • Buvanesh Kumar12 months ago

    Nice

  • Emmanuel Emeka12 months ago

    Wow I really felt amazed

  • Whoaaa, I'm so mesmerised! It felt like magic because I felt like I was right there with you! Thank you so much for bringing us on this wonderful journey!

  • Kim Loostrom12 months ago

    Well now I feel like I have to go visit NY just to see the MET. Lovely glimpse into your transformative trip!

  • I love the MET. I haven't been in many, many years. But I definitely need to make that trip happen again soon. You reminded me of all the splendors it provides. I too almost minored in Art History. And just a couple days ago said, why not go ahead and continue studies 20 years later. Awesome article. Thanks for the journey!

  • Ian Read12 months ago

    I've also been there a number of times before the pandemic and it is such a great place. I always loved going there. (I did, however, have a few words to say about how they labeled and displayed their Etruscan and ancient Celtic artifacts, but I hope that has since changed lol)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.