History logo

Memorial Day Memories

A Son Remembers His Father, a Fallen Soldier

By Jheffz A.Published 26 days ago 3 min read

The salty breeze whipped my hair across my face as I stood at the edge of the weathered pier, the vast expanse of the ocean mirroring the vastness of the emotions swirling within me. It was Memorial Day weekend, a time for barbecues, fireworks, and the unofficial kick-off to summer. But for me, it was a day etched with a bittersweet ache, a day of remembrance for the father I never truly knew, Sergeant Michael O'Connell.

Dad wasn't just a soldier; he was a legend in our small coastal town. Stories of his easy smile and infectious laugh were woven into the fabric of our community. He'd volunteered at the local youth center, mentored countless kids, all while serving his country with unwavering dedication. But when I was just a toddler, he deployed to the Middle East, and the war claimed him before he could hold me in his arms.

My mom, bless her heart, did everything she could to keep his memory alive. She'd point to pictures of a younger Dad, his eyes crinkling at the corners under a worn army cap. "He loved the ocean," she'd say, her voice catching slightly. "He'd have taken you fishing every chance he got."

Those stories, those fragmented memories, fueled a yearning within me. Every year, on Memorial Day, I'd make a pilgrimage to the town's war memorial, a simple granite structure overlooking the churning sea. Among the engraved names, I'd find his – Sergeant Michael O'Connor, a single gold star beside it, signifying his ultimate sacrifice.

This year, however, felt different. It was ten years since Dad's passing, and a strange restlessness had settled within me. I craved a deeper connection, something beyond the faded photographs and secondhand stories.

So, I decided to reach out to a fellow student, Emily, a quiet girl whose father, Captain Thomas Lee, had served alongside Dad. We bonded instantly over the shared absence, the unspoken understanding of a life forever changed. Emily mentioned a tattered leather-bound journal kept safe by her mother, filled with her father's entries.

With a mix of trepidation and excitement, we approached Mrs. Lee. She seemed hesitant at first, but seeing the raw longing in our eyes, she eventually relented. We sat huddled in their living room, the worn pages whispering tales of a time I could only imagine.

Dad's handwriting was neat, his entries filled with observations about the land, the camaraderie with his fellow soldiers, and a constant, aching love for his family. He wrote about missing mom's laugh, about the day I was born, a day he could only experience through grainy video calls. He wrote about his hopes for the future, a future he wouldn't be a part of.

Tears streamed down my face as I read his final entry, a letter addressed to me, tucked into the back of the journal. It spoke of his dreams for me, his unwavering belief in my potential, his promise to always be with me, even if he couldn't hold my hand.

That night, under the vast expanse of the night sky, Emily and I stood at the pier, the journal clutched in my hand. The breeze seemed to carry Dad's words, a gentle reminder that his love transcended physical presence.

Memorial Day wasn't just about remembering the loss; it was also about celebrating the life lived, the love shared. It was about the hole his absence left, but also the strength it instilled within us.

As the sun peeked over the horizon the next day, I stood at the war memorial, a newfound sense of peace settling within me. Dad may have been a soldier, but through his journal, I finally saw him – the loving father, the man who missed his family with every fiber of his being.

This Memorial Day, I didn't just honor his sacrifice, I embraced his memory. I held onto the love he shared through words, the legacy he built through his actions. Dad might not be here fishing with me, but a part of him lived on, not just in the stories, but in the strength he instilled within me, the courage to face the future, a courage he embodied with every breath he took.

This Memorial Day, and every one to come, I'll remember Sergeant Michael O'Connell, the soldier, the father, the hero. But most of all, I'll remember the love that bridged the gap of time, the love that continues to guide me, a love that reminds me that a hero's sacrifice is never truly forgotten.

👉Free Ebook Here

World HistoryGeneralEventsDiscoveriesBooksAncient

About the Creator

Jheffz A.

Jheffz A., an up-and-coming writer, incorporates his life's challenges and entrepreneurial ventures into his stories, focusing on resilience, hope, and self-exploration.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jheffz A.Written by Jheffz A.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.