Geeks logo

Why I Am Fine With Weaver

I Love Games: Scrabble, Backgammon, Chess, Draughts, Checkers, Monopoly, Ludo, Snakes and Ladders, Wordle and now Weaver

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
4
The Weaver Star Screen - Lewis Carroll in the 21st Century

Introduction

My friend Dharrsheena introduced me to Weaver. It is a word ladder game, Weaver, takes the original format of an age-old puzzle, and brings it into the 21st century. Thought up on Christmas day in 1877 by novelist Lewis Carroll to keep his children, Julia and Ethel Arnold, entertained, he called his game 'word-links'.

Although not directly related to this my favourite hotel in the world, La Rosa, used to be somewhere Lewis Carroll stayed and they have a room dedicated to him looking out on Whitby Abbey, and I have stayed in there once, though normally I go for Stoker Read about it below and if you follow through to the site you can see what the Lewis room looks like.

Before I was introduced to this I was playing Wordle and wrote the Vocal Top Story below about it. I know there are a lot of word games like this but these are the two that I play on a daily basis.

So Playing Weaver

The benefits of both Weaver and Wordle are that there is only one new puzzle to solve each day so you are not going to get caught in binging and eventually getting bored with the games. While there are sites that allow you to play multiple games I do like these limitations because once you are done that’s it for twenty-four hours.

Wordle puts pressure on you because you only have six guesses to guess a five-letter word and mostly this is fine but sometimes you have four letters right and ten options for the last letter and two guesses left, which is very frustrating. I have got one on the first try and a few on the second try but let's face it that is pure luck.

Weaver is different in that it gives you a recommended number of tries when you are finished, but allows you to take as many guesses as you need and also allows you to backtrack on your guesses if you are going down the wrong path.

I know Dharrsheena tries to get as few moves as possibly continually wiping her guesses and restarting but my modus operandi is to keep going and eventually reach my desired destination. As yet I have not failed but when you have unlimited chances to guess my only brick walls are my intelligence, word knowledge and time.

One of the things to remember is that often words you do not think exist or will count are actually valid in the Weaver dictionary. One of the recent ones was “Sith” which I thought was just a made-up Star Wars word.

The thing is it does make you think, normally takes me between two and ten minutes and sometimes I need to go away and come back again in order to solve it, but it really is a very low-pressure intelligent word game. You are not actually playing against anyone but Dharrsheena and I swap scores but we are not competing but congratulate each other when we hit the designated target.

A Weaver Conclusion

While I cannot deal with too many things on the go at once, Weaver is a welcome distraction that does stretch my mind a little (sometimes a lot). If you have not tried Weaver I would suggest you give it a spin. It won’t take up to much of your time and if you don’t like it you can consign it to your dustbin, but it is part of my daily routine now.

Thank you for reading, please feel free to leave a heart, a comment or even a tip.

featuregamingreviewproduct review
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    Outstanding! Well written and filled with all the pertinent details and a link to the game. Great job Mike!

  • Lol, I only wipe out my guesses if I arrive at a dead end 😅 I try to go for the minimum amount of moves but if it's just too hard, I'll be like screw it and just try to get it done regardless of how many moves it takes 🤣 I really love this game as it gives exercise to my brain and sometimes, I learn new words too. This was very well written. I hope more people play Weaver after this. And looks like Judey has hopped on board, lol!

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    Oh no! A new game! Mike!!!!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.