Geeks logo

The Return of the Order: Act 14

Act 14: Meeting the New Master

By Lorelei_SandsPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

Sebastian busied himself with his daily chores. The Undertaker’s visit the previous night had been unexpected and, in many ways, unwelcome. His unusual directness had caused Sebastian discomfort. As much as he was overjoyed that he would see his family, the danger that brought them to him filled him with rage. Now all he could do was wait and determine how he was going to break the news of their existence to his new master. He was contemplating just that when he saw the coach coming up the drive to the manor.

Sebastian waited at the door to the house as the carriage pulled up. He calmly walked over and opened the door. Holding out his hand, he helped Louisa down. Sebastian waited until the carriage had pulled away before sliding his arm under her travelling cloak, pulling her closer to him and guiding her into the house.

“I have missed you, my love.”

“And I you.”

Sebastian swept her through the house to the kitchen. Closing the door behind them, he gathered Louisa in his arms, his mouth finding hers, their worries and months apart disappearing for the briefest moment. Their reunion was interrupted by the kitchen door being thrown open.

"Why was there a carriage at the door?" Lord Birch caught sight of the hooded figure half-hidden by Sebastian's body, "and who is this?"

Breaking from the kiss, Sebastian looked up, "Master, my apologies, this is my mate. I'm afraid her arrival has come as somewhat of a surprise, so I didn’t have time to inform you as is proper protocol.”

“Mate? I don’t understand?”

“You would consider her my wife, although the term does not do our relationship justice.”

“Your wife, you never mentioned…” Lord Birch stared at the hooded figure, guilt flowing through him. It never occurred to him that Sebastian might have anyone in his life, let alone a wife.

"With good reason, my Lord, especially given the less than pleasant beginning to our contract."

“Yes, well, I,” the colour rising in his face, “well, she is here now, perhaps you could introduce us properly, Sebastian.”

At the sound of his name Louisa stepped back and smirked at Sebastian, he returned the look before pulling down the hood of her cloak and turning them both to face the dumbfounded Lord Birch.

“Lord Malcolm Birch, may I present my Louisa.”

“It’s not possible, you bare an uncanny resemblance to….”

“Lady Louisa Phantomhive, my Lord, cousin to Ciel Phantomhive, my previous master and the one who first gave me this name.”

Lord Birch's head was spinning. Louisa Phantomhive was dead. She had reportedly died in a riding accident over twenty years ago. Her cousin, the queen's guard dog, had followed a few years later in less than clear circumstances. He had known of the Phantomhive family, as his father had dealings with Ciel's. Lord Birch had only seen Louisa Phantomhive once, at a ball in London, but her image had been seared on his mind. Despite the history he had learned, here she stood in the arms of his demon butler not having aged a day since she was last seen in London society.

Louisa took in the sight before her. Lord Birch was not what she expected, the purity of his soul and the sadness that drove him forward were almost overwhelming. There was no malice in him; the only stain on his soul was the contract that bound her mate to him. As she watched him struggle to comprehend her presence, she felt pity for the human that had taken Malphas from her.

"Lord Birch, there is a great deal about my life and death that were not made public. I would be happy to tell you the truth behind those stories when time allows. For now, you must forgive my sudden appearance. My family and many others are in grave danger, and we need your help."

Birch tried to focus, “family, there are more of you?”

“Yes, my Lord,” replied Sebastian, “and I believe that the threat we face may be connected to the very reason you called me.”

“I need to sit down. Would you both join me in my study?”

“Yes, my Lord, do you require tea?”

“Only if Louisa requires some, I believe I personally need something a little stronger.”

Louisa and Sebastian followed Lord Birch to his study. Sebastian went to take his place behind Birch’s chair, “no Sebastian, I think this is likely to become one of those occasions where I would rather be able to see you.”

Louisa laughed as she took a seat opposite Lord Birch. She didn't want to like him, but he was not at all how she had pictured, and there was nothing in his personality to dislike. Sebastian poured his master a drink and then joined Louisa, she grasped his hand in hers as they waited for Birch to gather his thoughts.

"I feel I must start by apologising for any distress I caused by my actions in summoning Sebastian as I did. However, I have my reasons, I'm not sure what the protocol is here on sharing such things with you."

“Lord Birch, it is entirely up to you what you choose to disclose. Sebastian is the one bound to secrecy while he is contracted to you.”

"In that case, as it may help you to understand my actions, I will explain." Birch took a deep breath before continuing, "my wife was a unique woman, who had knowledge that went beyond that of this world. She would tell our son and I tales of the demon realm and the ancient demons that inhabited that world. She always spoke with such reverence that I found it hard to believe that they were just stories. She would just laugh if I asked her about it. I encouraged her to write the stories down, thinking only that they would be something our son could pass on to his children.”

He stopped, lost in the memories of his wife. Louisa felt the pain that moved through him. “When did you realise that they were more than stories, my Lord?”

“In truth, not until after she died. We had a quiet settled life, we focused on raising our son and growing our business. I was away in London the day it happened, I came home to find my entire household slaughtered, my son dead in his mother’s arms.”

Tears openly fell down Birch’s cheeks as he spoke. “The constabulary came and went, convinced that it was nothing more than a robbery that had gone wrong. I wasn’t persuaded. I have never heard of a robber taking the time to cut out the hearts of those they have killed, then leaving with nothing of material value.”

Louisa's breath hitched at the mention of the hearts. She looked at Sebastian, who grasped her hand tightly. Lord Birch caught the exchange between them, he gulped the drink in front of him. "I was desperate for answers. I searched through her room and found the books she had created. I spent hours reading through them, finding chants, incantations that I had never heard her speak of before. The idea formed then that maybe I had been right, and that the demon realm she spoke was more than a fiction. I decided to try to conjure one of the demons she spoke so highly of. I felt that, at worst, nothing would happen and I had nothing left to lose."

Louisa couldn’t believe what she was hearing. Lord Birch had risked his soul and her family on a story he wasn’t even sure he believed. She was almost impressed by such dedication.

Lord Birch gathered his thoughts. He continued, "It was not until Sebastian began his work and went through her books that I understood that my wife was at the very least a descendant of demons, which is how she had such knowledge. I still don't fully comprehend why she never told me."

“She had obviously chosen to live as a human and was protecting you, and herself. Would you have loved her so easily if you had known what she truly was?”

“It would not have changed the way I felt about her,” Lord Birch responded sharply, yet Louisa saw uncertainty in his eyes. She chose not to press the matter. Enraging him would not be of any benefit to them now.

“Even so, those of demon blood face many enemies, and sometimes keeping secrets is the only way to keep those we love safe.”

“But you know the truth of Sebastian?”

"Yes, but I'm not entirely human myself." She looked at Sebastian, who smirked and nodded.

"I believe if we wish the master's protection and help, you are going to need to tell him everything, my love."

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lorelei_Sands

Professional copywriter and mother during the day. Poet, dabbler in fanfiction and erotica at night. I've been living with a long term chronic condition for over 20 years and I'm not ready to give up the fight yet. Glory or Valhalla.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.