Geeks logo

Supernatural - The Finale

An Uplifting And Positive Finale

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
5
From The Supernatural Finale Poster

Introduction

This is one of those difficult Vocal stories, how to tell you how wonderful something is without telling you much about it and certainly dropping no spoilers.

I wrote one other article on the series here

That contains links to the Wiki page and to watch it if you have Amazon Prime.

The series concluded on November 19, 2020, with 327 episodes aired.

It was the longest-running science fiction/horror series on US television and when I saw there were fifteen series and that many episodes I thought it highly unlikely that I would stay to the end. I also thought Amazon might make Prime viewers pay once they were hooked, and over time I certainly was.

Over time I came to love Sam and Dean (Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles), Bobby (Jim Beaver), Castiel (Misha Collins), John (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), Mary (Samantha Smith), Jack (Alexander Calvert), Rowena (Ruth Connel), Jody Mills (Kim Rhodes), Gabriel (Richard Speight Jr), and Ketch (David Haydn-Jones).

Chuck (Rob Benedict), Lucifer (Mark Pellegrino), Amara (Emily Swallow) and Billie (Lisa Berry) were a few of the great villains they had to deal with.

The Penultimate Episode

The penultimate episode of any series is usually the really big bang finale and the finale episode is the aftermath. "Game Of Thrones" caused a lot of discontent because the final episode was sitting in the wreckage of the last battles deciding where they were and musing on what had happened.

If there is a big battle you really need to think about what happens next.

"Return Of The King" merged the two but, my God, the ending seemed to go on forever.

"Supernatural"'s penultimate episode was "Inherit The Earth" and was the big clearing in preparation for the finale.

The Finale - "Carry On"

Dean is a pie-addicted lover of of classic-rock who drives his dad's classic sixties Chevrolet Impala.

The difference between Sam's and Dean's musical tastes reminds me of the difference between my daughters Juliet and Kirsty whose tastes are different but both excellent.

I did not know what to expect from the finale and thought it was just going to be a normal monster hunt with Sam and Dean impersonating FBI agents in suits as usual with just a final fade out like a great record.

That is not what happened.

It started with a case as I expected.

The first diversion was a Pie Festival, a great way for Dean to finish, and all was looking good, but the case had to be dealt with and solved.

When they tracked down the protagonists there was a nod to Alan Rickman's portrayal of the Sheriff of Nottingham in "Robin Hood, Prince Of Thieves". Throughout the series, there are nods to many other films and series including "The Wizard of Oz", film noir, "Scooby Doo" and all the monsters they encounter throughout.

This is a series that hit Armageddon around series five or six and still continued for another ten series.

Then there was an unexpected twist for me (I was lulled into a false sense of security) but I stuck with it and was rewarded with an absolutely wonderful finale. I cannot tell you anything about it, and even if you don't know the series, swot up on it, watch the video I have included, then watch the final episode, and keep watching after the credits.

Conclusion

When I first started watching I lasted about ten minutes into the first episode. Then I went back, and even after one episode, I was not sure.

The fact that I have just watched episode 327 tells you that I was well and truly won over. Maybe one day you will drop in and be won over too.

comicstvreviewproduct reviewpop culturefeaturefact or fictionentertainmentCONTENT WARNINGcelebrities
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    I've still not watched this alehouse you recommended it to me, lol. But it's still in my watchlist so no worries!

  • Sounds intriguing, Mike. I may have to check it out.

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    I LOVE Supernatural! Watched it on CW as it premiered and released every season. Loved watching Dean and Sam grow and mature from the young lads they were in 2005 into handsomest men. What I loved about the show is that after Season 2 they went global and worked through the myths and legends of virtually every world culture. And the homage to Dracula was a piece of art. I can go on and on about the show. But Mike, did you know Jansen is also a great singer? I have his band’s Radio Company album Vol 1 (Cannonball) and enjoy it tremendously. Need to buy others, didn’t realize they’ve released 3 more.

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    I've watched the series 3x now, lol Love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.