Geeks logo

My Review of "Neil Brennan: Women and Black Dudes"

A pretty good comedy special even that seemed a long time ago but still holds up today.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Neil Brennan: Women and Black Dudes is a comedy central special that came out back in 2014. It's only an hour special and by the end of it he left me kind of wanting more. That's a great thing. Although this special came out 6 years ago it does seem to still have very much the same relevance today.

Most of his comedy surrounds race relations, gender differences and religion. Most of the things that we don't really talk about to strangers. He tests the water out with our dependency on technology. I liked a lot of his observant jokes about how we casually try to get away with as much as we can in life and continue to push the envelope.

Neil is pretty aware of the human condition and how the general public reacts to things. He has a good understanding of our motivations and our vices. The next bit he pushes is religion and as he was born Catholic he talks about things he knows about his religion. He explains how the very things that his religion puts great faith in is the very same reason why he's somewhat ashamed of his religion. To do this he uses a sense of logic that makes us think about how absurd some of the beliefs in his own religion makes him feel like a jerk.

He then goes into a set about race differences. It really seems that Neil is somewhat of a master of observation in terms of race differences between Black and White. Often times we see Black comics talk about the faults of being Black, this time Neil flips the script and talks about the faults of being White. A ton of the observations that he mentions actually got me thinking. There are some clever quips he makes in this part of the set. It made me howl in laughter as he threw me for a loop.

As a White man it's actually quite shocking for him to even use the N word but he uses it a few times in this stand up when he talks about his relation with Black people. To be honest I'm not exactly sure if the joke would have gone off better if he didn't use the word but today in 2020 I don't even know if he's going to get in trouble. If he hasn't already gotten into trouble for his use of the word by now I'm sure his story in his set might actually be true.

Then he talks about gender differences. He has some hilarious truthful remarks about men and women. I know a lot of people would agree with him in this department. He uses some physical comedy in this department and it works pretty well. I was laughing when he started up his wild antics and you can tell the audience was right with him on his jokes.

He also talks about politics. Most of the jokes revolve around president Obama who was the president at the time of the TV special. Apparently, Neil has met with the president and talks about his hilarious encounters with the president.

I also really loved his joke about leaving his children an inheritance when he passes away. That was one of the highlights of the show. Though there were many highlights of this comedy special.

Although it says this comedy special was a full hour it didn't really seem like it. Neil had me in stitches from start to finish and I really wanted more. I am going to check for more comedy specials by Neil because this one was a hell of a show. The pacing of the jokes and the impact of his punchlines were lasting belly laughs that had me on the ground.

Overall, I really liked this comedy special. I'm actually surprised that this special isn't talked about more often as it is a very high caliber special. I have to give this special an 8.5 out of 10. I thought everything was really well done. There are a few editing cuts that make the special seem kind of too edited rather than raw from his set. That's the only thing that kind of threw me off this special. You have to check this out if you have the chance.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.