Geeks logo

I Got a Writing Gig At CBR

And It's Pretty Awesome!

By M.N. NegusPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
31
I Got a Writing Gig At CBR
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I'm well aware that I haven't posted on this website very much recently, but there's a good reason for that.

To preface this, writing has always been a passion of mine since I was a kid. Ideally, I wanted to create fiction. I wanted to wow people with amazing stories set in fantastical realms or with nail-biting action scenes. This may have been because of my passion for the sci-fi and fantasy genre, but it also stemmed from my love of comic books.

I've loved comics since I was eight. I was introduced to Spider-Man, and immediately, I was hooked. Nothing could stop me from devouring every comic I could get my hands on. When I was a teen and began working part-time, I spent my money on comics.

Now, almost six years later, with a lot of hard work, I finally began making a career out of writing. I stumbled upon a website known as CBR, which is an acronym for Comic Book Resources. They cover comics, movies, TV shows, and video games. They had ads out looking for writers, and I applied, thinking "what, the worst they say is no."

To my surprise, they said Yes! Not only that, but I was put to the test to see if I would be accepted into their training program. Once I had proved myself, they entered me in to the program, and I began learning about their writing styles, what to expect, and other various things. It was all an amazing experience! Not only did I score my first writing job, but I was combining two passions: writing and comic books, and making a living off of it!

All of this happened in April. The more time I put into the job, the less time I had to write on other platforms like this one. It's been rough, trying to find a stable balance between everything, but I think I've got a good rhythm down now.

If you want to check out my work on CBR, you can find it on my author page!

I've started covering a lot of X-Men content as well as some other heroes and even began dipping my toes into some Image Comics. I might make a list of some good comics to read for those who follow my content here. I'll try and make more of an effort to write on this website more, because this is how I got my start.

When I applied for the job at CBR, I used my Vocal Page as a reference to some of the work I did. The editors must have liked it because they agreed to hire me!

Not only has this job been a dream come true, but I've learned so much about my strengths and weaknesses as a writer, and continue to improve with each article. The team of editors I work with are understanding and amazing! I'm very thankful for everything that's happened because of this page, and because of the content I like to write.

Hopefully, there will be more content on this page, too. I'll probably post once a week, but it's better than not posting at all. I'll keep everyone updated! In the meantime, feel free to browse through the content on this page as well as on my author page at CBR. I haven't gotten many comments on my work, but I love to hear feedback or suggestions on what to write, topics to cover, etc.

Writing isn't quite paying the bills yet, but it's bringing in an extra income twice a month, so I won't complain. Writers have to start somewhere, right?

feature
31

About the Creator

M.N. Negus

M.N is a mother, cosplayer, nerd, and writer. She loves Marvel Comics and creating fiction. She hopes to inspire others with her stories and success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • RJ2 years ago

    Congrats! That’s awesome and well deserved :)

  • Tarin A2 years ago

    This is AWESOME news!!! Congratulations!!

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    That’s amazing! Congratulations! Always great to see people realising their dreams!

  • Kylie Taylor2 years ago

    Awesome!!!! I am an aspiring writer. I have been ghostwriting on UpWork for about 6 years, I have a degree in Communications with a Major in Journalism. I have been writing since my days in grade school. I want to do more writing and earn money doing it. If you have any advice I'd gladly listen.

  • Sindy Leah Fitz2 years ago

    Amazing! Living the dream, congratulations!

  • K.H. Obergfoll2 years ago

    Awesome!!! That is so cool, enjoy it!

  • Kelly Sibley 2 years ago

    Congratulations, well done and WOW!

  • Amir Taylor2 years ago

    Congrats.. I know there can't be a better feeling in the world than combining two of your passions and getting paid for it!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Good luck!

  • Nicola R. White2 years ago

    Congratulations! I'll check out your work on CBR.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.