Geeks logo

Female Roles in Society

A Movie Review of "Mona Lisa Smile"

By Shanon NormanPublished 10 months ago 6 min read
Like
Artwork by Shanon Norman

Yesterday I purchased the digital copy of the movie "Mona Lisa Smile" and I posted a link on Facebook to the trailer for the movie with the comment, "if I hate you, it's because of the pain of all the women in this movie."

Then I watched the movie and I talked to myself about how I felt about all of the characters, who each of them is to me, how I relate, where I see and feel the pain, and how the wisdom of every female in that movie is so significant to our society, to our realities, to our choices, and to my personal memories.

I want to spend some time on this. Not in a typical essay form or for the masses stamp of approval on my writing style or what it contributes as a review of the film or a focus on theme or anything contrived like that. I want to spend time on this simply because it is significant to ME. Very significant. It has to do with a book I read before I ever went to college. A book called "The Awakening" written by Kate Chopin. A book that was supposedly banned in the 1800s because it was so "shocking" and "controversial". A book that I read that I never wanted to believe. Until I became Edna. Until I knew exactly how Edna felt. Until I couldn't stop the "mazes of inward contemplation" or staring at the sea of suicidal contemplation. I used to say like the shrink in "Girl Interrupted" --- Oh Edna, we have more choices now. But Susanna understood Edna a lot better than me right from the start. She told the shrink, "No we don't." And it pissed me off. It pissed me off so badly that I worked my ass off as a single mother going through college to somehow prove that we do have more choices. Yet, my choices didn't add up. I had to give my son away. For his happiness, safety, and better life. But what about my life? Was I safe and happy? Did my life get any better? No, it did not. Not until I married George. Then I had 7 years of a good life. Then he was taken away. Then it was back to what the hell are my choices?

So yes, I'm going to spend some time on the film Mona Lisa Smile. I'm going to tell you about every significant detail of the film and what it means to me.

Cast

Julia Roberts as Katherine Ann Watson (the bohemian teacher)

Kirsten Dunst as Elizabeth "Betty" Warren (Jones)

Julia Stiles as Joan Brandwyn (Donegal)

Maggie Gyllenhaal as Giselle Levy

Jordan Bridges as Spencer Jones (the cheating husband)

Marcia Gay Harden as Nancy Abbey (the poise teacher)

Lisa Roberts Gillan as Miss Albini (the lonely girl at party)

Ginnifer Goodwin as Constance "Connie" Baker (the cello player)

Topher Grace as Tommy Donegal (Joan's husband)

Ebon Moss-Bachrach as Charlie Stewart

Marian Seldes as President Jocelyn Carr

John Slattery as Paul Moore (Katharine's ex-boyfriend)

Juliet Stevenson as Amanda Armstrong (the teacher fired)

Dominic West as Bill Dunbar (the playboy)

Donna Mitchell as Mrs. Warren (Betty's mom)

I have edited the list of credits because I wanted this list to entail the characters that were significant to ME. The characters who reflect of face of Edna in some way. I am going to analyze and explain my thoughts and feelings going straight down the list.

Katherine Watson. The bohemian teacher who goes to an elitist finsihing college to teach art to young women. Why does she take the job? Why is she still single? What happened between her and Paul? Why isn't she an artist instead of a teacher? Is it because she can't paint like Michelangelo? Is it because abstract art doesn't pay the bills? Why does she think it's important for Joan or Betty to have other options besides marriage? Why doesn't she marry Paul? Why does she leave the job after only one year of teaching? I have my answers, but the questions express my answers better than the details of my answers.

Elizabeth "Betty" Warren. The "spoiled" rich girl who's "opinions" cause one teacher the loss of a job, and who rails against any who do not respect the institution of marriage. Why does she so passionately disapprove of promiscuity? Why does she so fiercely defend the institution of marriage? Why is she so angry at Giselle? Why does she "warn" her teacher Miss Watson about "consequences"? Why does she defy her mother's advice and get divorced from Spencer?

Joan. Betty's best friend, another rich girl who has the grades to go to law school but wants to get married and have her own family. Why does she send her application to Yale after she's already married? Why does she ask Miss Watson, "Do you think I'll regret?" Why does she elope instead of having a big traditional wedding ceremony?

Giselle Levy. A promiscuous student who seems to see the good in everyone. Why does she like Miss Watson? Why is she upset about being rejected by Mr. Dunbar if it was just sex? Why does she stay calm and loving towards Betty when Betty is spewing hatred at her?

Spencer Jones. The "right" kind of husband for a good girl like Betty. Why does he cheat on his wife? Why did he marry her?

Nancy Abbey. The etiquette and poise teacher. Why does she get so angry with the bartender when she's drunk? Why doesn't she want to go out with Miss Watson on a school night? Why does she say her fiance is dead and then correct it and explain that he married someone else?

Connie Baker. The fat girl who is brilliant, kind, and talented, but believes no man would ever want her. Why does she believe she is so unattractive and unwanted? Is it because Betty says so. Or was Betty just saying what many others have said to Connie? Why does she believe everything Betty says? Why does she ignore any boy whom she thinks is "seeing" someone else? Why does stop corresponding with Charlie?

Tommy Donegal (Joan's husband) --- Why does he thank Miss Watson for giving Joan the application to Yale?

Charlie Stewart (Betty's cousin) - Why is he so scared to be seen with Connie when his ex-girlfriend's parents are at the restaurant? Why does he think that Connie doesn't care about him because she stopped corresponding? Why does he forgive Connie?

President Carr -- Why does she terminate Amanda Armstrong? Why does she put so many stipulations on Miss Watson's next year of employment?

Paul Moore -- Why does he appear out of nowhere to propose to Miss Watson? Why does he get offended when she puts him on the couch to sleep because she's following the rules?

Amanda Armstrong -- Why isn't she fighting for her job? Why isn't she more upset that she got fired for something that could have been corrected or was somewhat trivial?

Bill Dunbar -- Why does he sleep with the students? Why does he sleep with Miss Watson? Why does he lie to Miss Watson? Why doesn't he care when Miss Watson breaks up with him?

Mrs. Warren (Betty's mother) --- Why is the poem reading so important in the wedding ceremony? Why does Mrs. Warren plead with her daughter not to divorce Spencer? Why won't Mrs. Warren let her daughter stay at her home?

All of the questions, I have answers for. And I understand every single character I have mentioned. If you've seen the movie and you think it's lame or just a female verison of "Dead Poet's Society" you are wrong. In DPS, Neal commits suicide because he wants to be a real actor, not a real doctor, but he knows he will disappoint his family in being true to himself. In "Mona Lisa Smile" the whole film depicts the complete sadness that women experience just by being a woman in America and knowing that no matter what choice we make "There will be Consequences".... We are all Edna. We are all dealing with "The Awakening" at every moment of our female lives.

maturereviewmoviehumanityfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.