Geeks logo

Authors Who Have Inspired Me

Some May Be Your Childhood Favorites

By Maya Papaya Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Authors Who Have Inspired Me
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I am sure many of you have a great memory of books that you have read or had been read to you when you were young. My greatest memories were of our librarian reading to us. She would do different voices, she would make us laugh, she showed us pictures, and allowed us to pick the books.

As a child, when you have an adult give you the choice you feel so excited. That never happens! Life seems to go on around you. You do not make your own choices rather you just have things happen to you.

It gave me so much respect for her.

Thus began my fascination with books.

Authors come and go as you get older. Your fascination and attention to books and series ebb and flow with the newest book or the rekindling flame of an old series. There are so many authors on my list that I genuinely enjoy reading and emulating as far as their writing talent is concerned. It is way too long for an article such as this so I will keep it brief.

So let me share who first inspired me.

By Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

Louisa May Alcott.

This should come as no surprise that the author of the beloved classic, Little Women, is on the list.

Alcott was a female author whose main characters were also female in a culture and time where this was not common. We follow four sisters as they grow-up, experience cultural hardships, fall in love, and find the meaning of family.

She executed family dynamics, heat-warming characters, and the struggles of life in a beautiful contextual masterpiece that truly deserves the title of classic.

By Kazuky Akayashi on Unsplash

C.S. Lewis.

C.S. Lewis was most notably known to children as the author of The Chronicles of Narnia series. He had the ability to create a beautiful balance of fantastical realism. The tropes of magic, chosen ones, and prophecy were handled so authentically.

His world had so many kids, including myself looking through every door, every closet, and up at every lamppost as a means to escape to his beautiful world.

We follow generations of kids who, as children, find the door to Narnia. They all learn something new and exciting. All use their journey as a means to grow and learn in the world in which they were originally born.

Also known as reality.

By Peter Lloyd on Unsplash

Edgar Allen Poe.

Poe is quite the man. His life alone can have years of research and content. That would be boring for all of you so I will just cut to the chase and say this man was quite the anomaly.

His work was rather beautiful under a certain light. I had always been fascinated by the way in which he spoke and portrayed his thoughts. They were so detailed. Where many would go on and on creating a scene with dialogue and action.

He created a photograph. One that would eerily be sketched in our minds forever. While on the morbid side of things, we cannot deny the use of language, symbolism mixed with realism, and the added hint of darkness created a masterpiece of literature to study.

He did not seem to waste any words. Rather he seemed to exploit each word to its fullest potential.

These authors were my heroes when I was younger and would always re-read all of their works whenever I got the chance. All of these books were my pride and joy and you too can own them!

Little Women- https://amzn.to/3jzltOk

The Chronicles of Narnia- https://amzn.to/3eX1UvP

The Raven- https://amzn.to/39tNEJR

I would like to know your favorite childhood authors or those that have inspired you over the years! Let me know, I would love to see if we have some similar favorites.

Thank you so much for reading this article and spending some time with me today. I hope you are doing well, staying healthy, and just have a great day!

If you want to see more of my work you can follow me on my Bookstagram (babbling_bumbling_booknerd) and of course on my YouTube channel (Kiowa_reads).

literature
Like

About the Creator

Maya Papaya

A creative at heart but a squirrel for a brain. Making the actual completion of anything is yet to be determined 😂

I am a content creator, writer, and world traveler (still getting to the last part)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.