Geeks logo

7 Best Shah Rukh Khan Bollywood Movies

My recommended list of Shah Rukh Khan movies to watch, in the order I think is most approachable for a Western audience.

By DMPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3

Here’s my recommended list of Shah Rukh Khan movies to watch, in the order I think is most approachable for a Western audience. It’s kind of funny that in a country which still believes in the principles of arranged marriage, even if it’s not always enforced, that almost all of the best movies are about love triumphing over adversities like family opposition, religious or caste differences.

1. Kal ho na ho

This movie title roughly translates as “There may or may not be a tomorrow”. The only problem you will have after seeing this movie is your expectations will be raised too high to enjoy schlock cinema ever again. I have shown Kal Ho Naa Ho personally to scores of people and it’s melted even the most cynical heart. I think this may be the perfect movie. It also stars Preity Zinta and Saif Ali Khan and these three make an awesome team on screen.

2. Kabhi Khusi Kabhi Gham

This movie roughly translates as “Sometimes Happy Sometimes Sad”. Saying it’s a family drama doesn’t give it enough credit. It’s well done from the direction to the dialogue and the costumes are great. I don’t want to tell you the plot ‘cos it’s more fun watching the movie. It also stars Kajol and Rani Mukherjee. (Oh, there’s a scene I need to tell you about, where Rani’s character sings “Happy Birthday to You”, Marilyn Monroe style, at an older man, which seems a little off to the Western viewer, but as I see it, it’s completely innocent, there is no hint of any untoward relationship between those two characters, she’s grown up close to this man’s family and is practically like their daughter. I had a friend ask me about this once, so I thought I should mention it.

3. Mohabatein

This movie, which translates as ‘Love’, but with a flavor of purity, rather than lust or infatuation, follows the story of three young college students and how their lives are changed forever by an influential teacher (played by Shah Rukh Khan). When I was first learning Hindi, this was the only Bollywood movie I owned and I watched it so many times, my husband eventually banned it because he couldn’t stand it anymore. It’s now about 15 years old, so forgive the odd cheesy Western outfit, but other than that, it’s great. I think I mentioned I believe it’s a Bollywood remake of the movie starring Robin Williams, which has the same sort of storyline...I just googled it, “Dead Poets Society”. Now I can’t be sure, because I haven’t seen Dead Poets, but I’ve been told it’s got the same flavor. The other two main stars are Amitabh Bachchan and a very young Aishwarya Rai.

4. Veer Zaara

Ok, this movie I have to say didn’t grab me as much the first time I watched it, but every time I see it, I love it more and more, so it keeps creeping up the list. It’s the story (again) of a Indian Hindu man and a Muslim girl from Pakistan who meet in extreme circumstances...no more plot clues for you, go get the movie!

5. Devdas

This movie was shown at the Cannes Film Festival, and well it should have been. The most expensive Indian movie ever made at the time (and none of it on special effects, all of it on spectacular cinematograhy, choreography, costumes, dialogue, music, lyrics and all-round fantastic quality work. Gut-wrenchingly beautiful in image and sound, if you have a good sense of aesthetics, you must see this film. Also stars Aishwarya Rai. Oh, and Devdas is the name of the main character.

6. Main Hoon Na

On a completely different plane from Devdas, Main Hoon Na is quite Western in style and a true marsala movie (ie. it has a bit of everything for everyone). It has a background of India-Pakistani tensions with a terrorist sub-plot, but nothing too gory, certainly no worse than your average Hollywood movie (I have a low tolerance for gory stuff). But in the foreground is a purely fun story of a military man who goes undercover (badly) as a student to play bodyguard to his boss’ daughter. The music is great and this movie contains two of my all-time favorite bollywood film songs. The title roughly translates as “I’m there”.

7. Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jaayenge ( DDLJ )

This is the classic I mentioned earlier, in which he stars with Kajol (still probably the most bankable Bollywood pairing), in the longest running Bollywood movie ever. It released in 1995 and still going. Again it’s true love pitted against family opposition and forced arranged marriages. The title translates roughly as “The one with heart will get the bride.”

One of the fun things to do in Mumbai (Bombay) would be to go and see it in the cinema. I haven't done this yet, but will next time I go there, like a Bollywood Pilgrimage!

Conclusion

This is by no means an exhaustive list, but will give you a taste of the kinds of roles in which he shines.

The only problem is after watching several awesome Bollywood movies, you’ll never be satisfied with a normal 1.5 hour hollywood movie again! Are you up for the challenge?

movie
3

About the Creator

DM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.