Gamers logo

You Can Still Access The Nintendo DS Server

A Reddit Discovery

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

About The Nintendo DS

The Nintendo DS was so much more than just a gaming platform. Not only did the device boast two screens, but it was also the first to fully utilize Wi-Fi. The first lot of Nintendo DS systems with included the DS Lite and the original often referred to as DS Phat offered backwards compatibility with it’s predecessor, the Gameboy Advance. Nintendo DSi removed this to improve portability.

The console has sold 154.02 million units worldwide, a runner up only ton Sony’s PS2 remains the best selling console of all time. The DS family still remain the best-selling handseld console of all time. Mobile and PC gaming has helped keep consoles on the top.

Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection

The server had a nine year tenure from 2005 to 2014. The Nintendo DS had a gigantic catalogue of games, many of which were able to take advantage of the online features. Because the games are not region locked, players could import and enjoy other games not available in their region. At the height of the console family’s fame, players could download mini games, browse the internet (although it had its flaws), the main feature was the ability to play globally with others, and take part in exclusive gaming events.

Mario Kart and the fourth generation of Pokémon games thrived on the Wi-Fi. They were able to create their own competitive scenes and communities. This sportsmanship has survived through modern gaming today.

Server Closer

After 9 years of races, battles and trades, Nintendo announced the closure of Nintendo Wi-Fi connection. It was not perfect. I remember often having difficulty trying to get on when I first got online. When it did work, it was slow. It did get a bit better when the servers weren’t so overloaded, but I remember having a lot of fun completing my Pokédex using the GTS and having friend codes for different games. In later consoles, you have one friend code for every account which I think is better. Despite it’s flaws, I still felt a bit sad when it closed. It felt like the end of an era for me.

Or Is It?

I had a private message of a guy from Reddit. He asked if I had a spare Spiritomb for his Pokédex in Platinum. My first reaction was: I’d love to help but you can’t trade on generation 4 games anymore. That was when I found out it was possible through DNS exploits and he showed me an article from Shacknews which also had this video from YouTuber, Professor Chime.

How It Works

Using the game’s menu to add the Wi-Fi settings. I had to manually change my WPS password to a WEP key as a the DS dosen’t like WPS very much. Once I changed it to a WEP key, I went on the game’s start menu and changed the Primary DNS server whilst leaving the secondary DNS server blank. Some of the DNS servers work like a charm whilst others always game me the 51210 error code. All those error codes felt like an unwanted blast from the past. As somebody who isn’t good at technical stuff, I found it quite daunting, but Professor Chime’s video helped me through it.

In the video description on YouTube, there’s some servers that are mentioned.

𝟷. WIIMMFI / RIICONNECT24 - Primary DNS: 164.132.44.106

2. WIIMMFI 2 (Kaeru WFC) - Primary DNS: 178.62.43.212 Secondary DNS: 1.1.1.1 or 8.8.8.8

3. Zwei.Moe (WFZWEI) Primary DNS: 172.104.88.237

I used the first one to gain access to GTS and the Wifi Plaza. I felt more excitement than a kid in the candy shop. It was like being in Charlie’s shoes in the chocolate factory. Really amazed how well everything worked.

Conclusion

I felt I had done a good deed that day helping him out with Spiritomb. As a gift, he gave me a shiny jigglypuff which I will forever treasure.

nintendo

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloe GilholyWritten by Chloe Gilholy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.