Gamers logo

What Happened to Interchange in Escape From Tarkov?

This map has always been rough but.... wow.

By JirasuPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

Over a year ago, I made a video talking about my personal reasons as to why I believed Interchange was the hardest map in the Tarkov, at that time. Since then, a lot has changed. We got two additional maps, and the overall game experience has changed drastically. And with the recent wipe, the need to go back to Interchange has risen. I say need and not want because let’s be real, a lot of us do NOT want to play on that map. The poor lighting, overall visibility, and clusters of areas where the pvp occurs, makes it really not feel good to play and enjoy. But again, that sentiment is old, and the question rises once again; is Interchange fun to play? The short answer... No. Not at all. In fact, it’s worse than it’s ever been. Marred by more issues than it was previously, and an overall shift in how people interact with the map has made it bottom of the barrel. Somehow, I’d rather play Lighthouse and that is saying something.

So, what are the new problems with the map? To be honest, the number isn’t high, only a couple real issues still plague the map. Some new, some old, but combined, the map basically doesn’t function as intended. Somehow, after all these years, they still haven’t actively addressed the lighting inside the mall and how dark it is overall. This is definitely beating a dead horse because we’ve mentioned it so many times, but the fact it hasn’t been mentioned or adjusted in the slightest, leaves me to believe that this might just be how it is. And I really don’t hope that’s the case, because on paper, Interchange is the coolest idea for a map in the entire game. An abandoned mall, with tons of shops to explore and corners to check; that idea when executed correctly could be a massive win for map design and themes. Imagine you’re with a squad being slow and tactical clearing corners, being really careful about who’s in front and behind you. Very similar to the original Tarkov teaser vid, but on Interchange. I mean, to be fair, no one really plays like that, but you can still imagine the scenario and think it’s badass. Would be a good scene from a movie too. But that’s not how anyone has or ever will play the map. The lighting is still egregious, and as someone who doesn’t use post-fx, under the right time and weather conditions, there are spots on the map that might as well be pitch black. Which makes it not too conducive for good gameplay, and an open playground for frustrating deaths. Whether that’s dying to someone you simply can’t see, or with the way things are right now, how people are playing the game.

I recently started the Interchange Arc of Tarkov, getting down in the nitty gritty of the task, and one observation that I noticed whenever I do find myself engaging other players, is what kind of a kit they are using. Anyone who has played this game for a couple of years can probably remember the different weapons that were used to farm Killa. The .308 MDR, then the Kedr, and so on. There was always a go to gun to run if that was your goal. Well, I figured out what it is currently. The hard way unfortunately, but I did. It’s the SVD; a weapon I had alluded to in the previous video being the new “meta weapon”. I never said it out loud, and in hindsight I probably just should’ve, but when I mentioned having an idea as to what might be the go-to now for people, it was indeed the SVD. 95k weapon, where almost all of its ammo types are buyable. Combined with all the modifications the gun has gotten over the years, especially recently with its stock being changeable, and the gun can be a menace when used correctly. And for the past two days I’ve played the map, the only weapon I’ve too from players is the SVD. It’s very anecdotal and not reliable data in the slightest, but I even got a chance to ask someone through VOIP if that’s just what everyone is using, and he said pretty much yeah. But for me, it’s not the gun that’s the problem; it’s the kit he was using. SVD, bank robber rig, and that’s it. Naked with a gun and one mag. I would argue that this is worse than a hatchling, because at least with them they don’t have a weapon to fight back. Sure, they’re not risking anything but unless they find a gun, they are almost harmless. This however, is worse because a weapon that lethal, and nothing else begs the question of well what are they risking besides the gun? If they kill me, they get a full kit. If they die, it’s just the gun, which is, again, 95k fresh, or roughly 60k on the flea. Luckily from the sounds that I have heard while in the map, that isn’t the only gun around, but everyone that has used it on me has been at least level 35 or higher.

But I think the thing that is the most repugnant about the map, like every other map currently, is the audio. Initially, I thought the audio changes were very noticeable, but it was too early to tell if it was a net positive or negative. Unfortunately, we now have our answer, and it’s the latter. Whether or not the system is entirely broken, or needs to be adjusted and iterated upon for a couple patches to get right, I don’t know. I’ll leave that to the people who actually know what they are talking about. But I can safely say, that most places around all of Tarkov have locations where the audio is scuffed beyond belief. And since Interchange is primarily the mall, being the main point of attraction, it’s the entire map essentially. If you are on the second floor of the mall, audio can sometimes sound like you hear people in the parking garage, even if they are just one floor directly below you. Outside isn’t too bad, and in general outside audio with the new system seems okay, but it’s whenever you are inside where it begins to wreak havoc. I know we’re talking about the mall here, but I need to mention the resort on Shoreline. It might be the worst spot in the game for audio. As if it didn’t have that accolade previously, even with steam audio. But yeah, the mall is a nightmare right now, which is why I barely have been running ears in game, or honestly even IRL. It’s so inconsistent and unreliable, why bother relying on it when it might just set you up for failure, you know?

But yeah, Interchange feels as though it’s going through some patch .13 growing pains right now. At the very least there are more scavs around the mall which is nice; makes the first task to kill 25 of them a little easier. All I can hope for at this point is the sound gets adjusted ASAP, obviously, but more importantly that the lighting gets some love too. BSG has said they want to revamp the lighting from the ground up, and to that I say I’ll believe it when I see it. Which sounds rude AF, but at this point any changes, revamps, overhauls, or major additions, that’s kind of my mentality right now. Put it in the game, and I’ll shut up. I did with streets, and hopefully I will with all those other changes. But what are your thoughts of Interchange and how it feels to play right now? Feel free to sound off in the comments and subscribe for more videos talking about the maps of Tarkov and their overall playability. I hope to see you in future ones.

rpgfirst person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Jirasu

Scripts about the things I find interesting. Most are for videos on my YouTube channel.

Check it out, if you're interested:

hhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiqQGl1HGmVKGMYD8DRaHZQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.