Gamers logo

Tarkov's Good Ammo is Gone from the Vendors

Never saw that one coming...

By JirasuPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Wow; we just got hit with a reality check in Tarkov, huh? This might be a short one, maybe not, but let’s talk about all the ammo that has been removed from Vendors. A LOT has changed; M80, gone. M62 and M61, gone. PS12B, gone. SP13, gone. 55A1 on Skier, gone. 995, gone. 7.62 BP; the king of ammo for I think three wipes now, gone. And there are other changes, but just that list alone, is... wow. Never thought it would happen. In addition to all these changes to ammo availability, what I think might be even more substantial, is that a lot of popular optics are also gone. The Vudu and the Razor, are both not buyable from Jaeger anymore. Now, as far as I know those are all the changes that have happened. And, the community has been sounding off all over the place. People are either really interested by these changes, and others are beyond livid that these items that were once available are now gone from their access. Here’s my hot take of the week:

Good.

I am really interested to see what happens to how people interact with this game. The ammo alone was a massive tectonic shift to the game and how people are going to play it. But the scopes as well honestly have me more excited. Maybe we won’t see everyone running around with a mutant and razor scope. I mean, they are still fleable, so what will happen is it will become a luxury item for those with millions or rubles. So, while it didn’t completely remove the scope from being meta, we will definitely see less of it. It’s just going to be crazy expensive now. And to anyone who is upset that they can’t use these as much anymore, I have a solution for you:

Use something else.

I apologize if I am coming off a little hostile right now, but I have been personally so frustrated by people running around sticking sniper scopes on their full auto rifles and treating them like pseudo-red dots. Maybe now, people might have to make a choice with whether or not they want long or close range. Maybe we see the rise of JP mounts on guns, who knows. But what I know I’m going to do is take advantage of the hybrid optics on offer. I also imagine these will become more popular as well and that’s really exciting. They have been slept on for so long, and now that the two big scopes are less common, I really hope we see some HAMR’s, ELCAN’s, and Bravo scopes. Would be super sick if these became meta.

But let’s be serious for a second and talk about the ammo. This is insane; literally uprooting what we know about the game. Ultimately, we all will just resort to the next available option. So, what I foresee happening is a lot of 5.45 BT, 56A1, Subsonic, SP10, and maybe a little SS190/SB193. Granted, the P90 is stupid expensive to run so maybe not but in the off chance you get your hands on one, use it. The ammo for it is very good. Now, 7.62 BP isn’t completely gone either. You can craft it. It’s a simple craft too: two blue and two green gunpowder's. However, they will most likely adjust the craft and completion time so people don’t have excess of it whenever they want. It takes about 12 hours to craft, if it gets changed that will most likely become closer to 20. And maybe some different materials as well for the craft. So again, it’s not gone forever, it’s not just found in raid or quest rewards anymore, but the reign of BP is ultimately over. And again, personally, I am quite happy about this. BP has been arguably the most consistent round in the game for over at least a year now. So, to see it dethroned for the first time, is going to make this wipe interesting. I already have some other weapons and ammos in mind that may become really hot and popular. But for now, we will all need to adjust our buying habits and what kinds of weapons and ammo we choose. My only complaint with this change, is that it should’ve happened DAY ONE of the wipe. I am really tired of this game changing hot fixes, a week or two weeks after a wipe. Just rip the band aid off right at the start. Either way, I can’t really complain... at least not yet. Because while I say I am looking forward to this, anytime a major change on this scale happens I always find myself sometimes saying to myself how much I miss how it was back then. Even if things are going well for me in Tarkov.

But we shall see. Only time will tell how this whole situation unfolds. For veterans such as myself, this is an interesting and welcome addition, and one step closer to feeling how we all imagine the game; scarce, scrounging for any kind of ammunition we can get our hands on, even if it isn’t best in slot. Again, apologies for the shorter video, but this happened very quickly and out of the blue and everyone is sounding off all over the place, so I wanted to take a moment to think about it, even though to be fair, I had my mind made up as soon as I saw the logs. But for everyone else, what are your thoughts on these massive changes? Do they interest you? Are you upset by them? Sound off in the comment section down below and be sure to subscribe for more videos talking about any and all major changes to Tarkov. I hope to see you in future ones.

combatrpgfirst person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Jirasu

Scripts about the things I find interesting. Most are for videos on my YouTube channel.

Check it out, if you're interested:

hhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiqQGl1HGmVKGMYD8DRaHZQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.