Gamers logo

The Game Ain't Over Til' It's Over

The Story of the Comeback Kid

By Digital_FootPrintPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Game Ain't Over Til' It's Over
Photo by Carl Raw on Unsplash

My grandmother, among many other things, have been heavy on my mind lately. I’m not sure what made me think about the video game, Sonic Heroes but I immediately went to Youtube to listen to some of the music from the game to get my mind off things for a little bit.

The first time I played that game was back in 2016. My brother had always raved about this game but I didn’t really give it a second thought. I guess I was just so busy into the NBA2K and wrestling games that I just never gave any other game a chance really other then the occasional Mario Kart & Mario Party games.

I came to his room and he was playing the game and once he got through, I asked him If I could I play it. One of the best decisions I ever made was hitting that power button on his Nintendo Gamecube console and the other was picking up that controller.

That game definitely got me through some hard times. During that period, my grandmother was battling some ailments and she was placed in a local hospice care center so to say that I was pretty much a wreck during that timeframe would be a gross understatement.

Playing that game help me to escape the uncertain reality about how things were going with my family at the time. Another thing about the game was that the music was so soothing. It just pretty much put your mind at ease during the 45 to 60 minutes of gameplay.

It has to be one of the best scored video games that I’ve ever played especially the Ocean Palace theme. The music was so good that I was reading Youtube comments from people talking about how good that guitar solo was.

I thought I was the only one that liked that part of the song. It just brings forth a feeling of nostalgia and that everything is going to be alright. Especially, when you’re not sure that it will be but it certainly brings to you a sense of calm during a tumultuous storm.

I wonder why they never tried to follow up with a sequel to this game. Lord knows, they’ve been giving us poorly, done sequels at the drop of a dime for the past 5–10 years. They probably knew that it’s hard following up a classic like that. It has to be pure and natural. You can’t force it and make it fit.

I ended up defeating the storyline part of the game but I never did get all the A’s in all of the story modes. I might go back and finished that part of it one day. The only thing better then playing this game was when my grandmother came back home from the hospital.

I never forget the day my uncle pulled up with his wrecker truck and seeing her get out of it. This was a woman that was once in so much pain that she couldn’t walk because of it. Now she’s walking into her house and “back on her premises.” (That was one of her many sayings over the years)

There she was sitting on her bed in her den. Also, for those wondering, her den wasn’t really a den but moreso a garage that she compiled a lot of furniture into and called it a den.

That thing was like a laundry center/sewing room/workout room because I had some gym equipment up in there at the time and a bedroom. Great times indeed. I miss them so much and I miss her so much more.

vintagenintendoadventure games
Like

About the Creator

Digital_FootPrint

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.