Gamers logo

Playing A Great Game Is Like Having Great Sex

Because You Just Want To Keep Doing It Over & Over Again

By Digital_FootPrintPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like
Playing A Great Game Is Like Having Great Sex
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

Have you ever been experiencing something that felt so good that you don’t want to stop?! Something that felt so good that you wanted to keep it doing it all night long. Well that’s how I felt when I had that joystick in my hand when I played Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas for the first time.

I was just thinking about the first time that I played Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. It was the summer of 2006 and my cousin had come over to stay at the house with us for some time.

Mannnnnnnn, we had so much fun. We used to play those WWE Smackdown vs. Raw games all the time. Well, this day we must’ve gotten tired of playing it because he popped in this other game he had brought with him.

He put the disk in and I’m sitting here looking at the screen like, “what in the heck is this.” He was putting in all these cheat codes as airplanes and tanks started appearing on the screen.

I just didn’t see the appeal of the game until one day when I sat down and played the game myself and found out what this game was really about.

First thing, I had no clue on what in the heck that you were supposed to do so I asked my brother to show me how to play this thing. He told me just go into that red highlighted area, which is called a corona, and start the mission.

After the first mission, I was hooked. I ended up playing that game all night long. My cousin was so cool that he let me borrow the game for a few months. Even the commercials were quite entertaining.

And the music? Those songs were well selected. Whoever was in charge of choosing the songs chose very wisely. I believe that’s how a lot of younger folks got exposed to all of the classic records is because of the GTA series.

The music was so good that you didn’t mind getting wasted when that Bobby Brown-Don’t Be Cruel record would come on. I know I’m supposed to head on back to “the Grove” and save so I can start over but this jam right here is hitting.

I had one of those discs that was scratched up pretty badly. I think that might be the reason why my first slimline PS2 conked out because all of the tapping I would have to do it when I was on the mission.

Especially when playing the KROSE Country station. The game would skip like crazy so I would have to tap on it, open up the console and take the disc out and reseat it back in there and that would work the majority of the time.

I love my cousin dearly but the cat wasn’t always the cautious type with taking care of things but the game was still so much fun playing it. I finally beat the storyline in October of 2006 and it was quite the accomplishment because usually I didn’t beat games.

I would just play it until I could get another game. Now, I realize that the game was out 2 years earlier but I’m a little behind when it comes to popular culture.

However, I do remember watching WWE Raw back in 2004 and seeing the trailer to the game with Guns N’ Roses-Welcome to the Jungle playing in the background during a commercial break, which was a perfect song choice by the way.

Dang!!! Those were fun times for real. I found out later that my brother traded his cd walkman for the game and then slid it underneath my door. Now I appreciated the barter and trade mindset both those two displayed.

I remember hearing that they were going to do a remake and I knew instantly that they were going to mess it up and that’s what ending up happening too.

The “Definitive Edition” had these dudes walking around with long necks along with more glitches then Windows 10. Plus, more then half the playlist wasn’t there on account of all the copyright/legality issues. That got me to thinking. How did they get the rights to the music back then in the first place?!

My guess would be that it wasn’t as big of a hit to purchase rights to the songs back then as it would be today. Now these “record companies” are buying up catalogs like your momma would buy up Starburst candy during the month of October for the Trick-Or-Treaters.

Also, a lot of those artists back then were still living as oppose to now when many of those artists have passed on since. You see why I don’t like remakes? Some stuff, you just have to let it live AND stay in that moment.

product reviewvintageplaystationaction adventure
Like

About the Creator

Digital_FootPrint

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.