Gamers logo

'Persona 5': A Different Way of Gaming

An Introduction to JRPG

By Kalli MPublished 7 years ago 2 min read

Video games have been a favorite pastime since I was a kid. I love problem solving and prefer games that require exploration and strategizing. I stumbled upon Persona 5 when searching for something to play after completing Uncharted 4 and Life is Strange. I decided to give it a try since I'm stuck inside with rainy weather and a cold.

My First True JRPG

I was nervous that the game would be overwhelming for me because I have never played a true Japanese Role Playing Game (JRPG) and some reviews were saying the game was stressful. The closest I've come to one is Kingdom Hearts, which I think is considered more of an action-RPG and it has a more linear storyline with no random choices. Persona 5 is massive in size, and I have no idea how long the game is expected to be. I've just started out and it feels like I have a lot more to learn and see. I like that I am able to choose which level to begin with. I like to choose "Hard" with games that I'm more accustomed to, but settled for "Normal" until I get a grasp of how this game functions. You also get to choose the name of your character. I named mine Theo Indigo because it sounded fun.

Intricate Storyline

This game is more than a game. It's like you're playing a game within an Anime. The characters you meet along the way are very expressive and it becomes dialogue heavy at times. I like when there are storylines and character development in games, so this game was a good fit for my playing style.

Gameplay

There is a lot going on within the game. You go between two worlds, one that is a reality and the other is some other world that is distorted called the Metaverse. In the Metaverse, you fight evil creatures with something called a Persona. The more you fight, the more you gain experience and power. You also meet accomplices who help you defeat the evil. The fighting selections include the Persona attack, gun attack, attacking with some sort of sword, action attack as a group, and you can use items. This reminds me of Kingdom Hearts with choosing magic and different attacks from characters who are helping Sora defeat the Heartless.

In the real world, you are a high school student who has been falsely accused of assault and due to your criminal record, you have been transferred to a school in Tokyo. You attend classes, you're able to interact with others to build relationships, and you are able to get a part-time job. I haven't played it enough yet to see what sort of jobs I can have, so I'm looking forward to that aspect. The real world side of things reminds me a bit of the Sims, which I like.

Worth Checking Out

If you are at all interested in trying out a Persona game or JRPG game in general, I would recommend this game. As a newcomer, I have not felt overwhelmed by it, but only intrigued. There is a lot to learn and they do a great job of explaining what the objectives are and how you do certain tasks. No stress from this game, just fun. I downloaded it for my PS4, which also was quick and easy. Give the game a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

rpg

About the Creator

Kalli M

Classic film addict. Horror lover. Video game enthusiast.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kalli MWritten by Kalli M

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.