Gamers logo

I loved Tetris before i loved Minecraft

Gamer forever

By DragonFlyPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
I loved Tetris before i loved Minecraft
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

If there was ever an electronic device with a screen, there was Tetris on it.

That's how I stumbled upon this epic game. It was on my computer OS and I played it every day after college. I was also dating a guy at that time but only Tetris kept me hooked forever.

Also video games, anything internet and technical was my first love. When I was doing my graduation I fell asleep on Tetris and not on a similar sounding word starting with p and ending with s.

Tetris eased the pains of data structure algorithms. First in first out, last in last out. In my dreams, the irregular blocks of Tetris used to fall on my head with their amazing sound effect. Later on, I found out it's actually called the Tetris effect.

So far Many scientific research papers have been written on the Tetris effect and its cool impact on our human brain. But We can only accept the fact that few special minds want to arrange blocks more than anything else. (A self-proclaimed special attribute )

If anyone is interested they can find a few articles on the web, citing all benefits of Tetris, how the game tones players' cognitive abilities, and how it can also serve as a therapeutic tool.

I don’t care about any of it much, as long as it satisfies my tidying up urges. I always felt a calming effect, a relaxing effect in bursting the properly arranged line of blocks. It kept on creating an “I want more “ effect. After boom resultant hanging askew block taunted me. I would go on bursting them until my roommate is pissed and shouting to switch off the dorm lights.

Visit this for nostalgia: Tetris theme

I heard tetris is back on mobiles and everywhere for free again.It triggered a lot of memories and I know every gamer will have their own tetris addiction stories to tell.

Personally I have not found any game this simple and this addictive. It is perfect already . It can not be enhanced or improved. Anything added is just a desperate attempt to monitize our old classic puzzle game.

It has been here for 30 years and will continue to do so.

I might have unknowingly ditched Tetris for another block game called minecraft. I swear i would have named my kids tetriminoes 1 and tetriminoes 2 in some other reality . Well for now am i wanda ….i am not. But least i can do is to introduce the game to my kids and carry on the legacy.

To tetris :~) ( i used this smiley on purpose to show i belong to tetris era)

After all this time .

By Ali Yılmaz on Unsplash

Tetris and Minecraft are distinct games with unique gameplay mechanics and goals. Tetris challenges players to arrange falling blocks to create complete horizontal lines, while Minecraft is a sandbox adventure that allows players to build, explore, and survive in a blocky 3D world.

Did you know that Tetris was created by a game designer named Alexey Pajitnov in 1984? The game gained immense popularity in the Soviet Union and soon spread to the United States and other parts of the world. Nintendo secured the rights to release Tetris on their Game Boy console in 1989, which helped make the console a huge success. Over the years, Tetris has been enjoyed by millions of people on various platforms. Today, the game has made a comeback with new versions and adaptations being released on modern gaming platforms.

Wow, I just found out that there's going to be a movie about the history of Tetris! It's going to be a biographical drama that tells the story of how the game came to be and became so popular around the world. Apparently, a businessman discovered the game and saw its potential, teaming up with the inventor to make it a global sensation. The movie is directed by Jon S. Baird and has an amazing cast, including Taron Egerton, Roger Allam, Toby Jones, Nikita Yefremov, and Anthony Boyle. I can't wait to see it!

Tetris, the drama movie, has recently been released in theaters and on Apple TV+’s official website.

Unfortunately, it is not available for streaming or purchase online at this time. However, if you are interested in an immersive experience and would like to watch the story unfold on the big screen, you can find showtimes and book tickets on Fandango. I hope you have a wonderful time enjoying the show!

nintendoplaystationesports
Like

About the Creator

DragonFly

She was a software developer in the past, but now she's a full-time creative writer. She is hopeful that she will be able to nurture kids who are future of our planet earth. She loves reading ,finding mysteries of universe in full time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.