FYI logo

Approaching Midnight

More Mindramblings About Nothing

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
3
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

It's twenty to midnight and Vocal has annoyed me several times already since I logged on. I can't say why because it involves Creators and it is Vocal that has annoyed me, not the creators, but that is always the way. The thing is this will pass very quickly because, believe it or not, I actually like Vocal and the good far outweighs the bad.

The real reason for this, after that initial moan, is that I have twenty minutes to kill before midnight, well at the moment sixteen minutes, then it's Wordle to share with Dharrsheena and Les and then to slink off to my dark pit.

Although I can also do my Saturday Nightcafe Challenge as well once midnight hits.

It's also an excuse to include Gregg Allman's take on "Midnight Rider", not as good as the Allman Brothers original but still worth a listen.

So, What Can I Say?

Friday night is a sort of best night of the week for Monday to Friday workers because you can stay up well into Saturday morning because you don't have to get up for work, except this Saturday I need to be up at six thirty for some domestic reasons, and Sunday it's the same for a journey to Scotland, and then Monday it is back to work, so absolutely no rest for the wicked.

Obviously, next weekend is pre-Christmas so that is a four-day weekend (I think it would be a good idea if every weekend could be a four-day weekend.

No doubt I will get ideas for Vocal stories. I am pleased that the new Villanelle Challenge has specified the true form of a villanelle, so people can get the form right.

There are two Vocal Challenges live at the moment but I think I have done all my entries. I have probably written hundreds of villanelles but I have written one new one and submitted about five old ones. They are perfectly formed villanelles but I doubt they will be considered as Vocal have thrown me my Challenge place, but I am fine with that. I don't write for Vocal, I write for myself and my audience and Vocal is an excellent platform to share my work on, in fact, I would say it is the best.

So I have been writing and have done all the peripheral things, and it is now into Saturday morning and I am about halfway through this piece.

So I will sleep tonight and hope my dreams provide me with some inspiration. Today's piece which you can read below, came from a totally unexpected source.

I think linking back to your own stories while maintaining so kind of relevant context can be useful in putting a story together. It gives readers the opportunity to explore more of your work while reading your current story.

I realise that I could have written a poem for this, and by now it might have been finished but I have gone for the prose piece which requires a few more words.

Also with this being an article (not sure which community yet) it can't be a microfiction, so it has to hit the six-hundred-word minimum limit.

At this point, I realise I have written over five hundred words about doing nothing. I do feel a bit of a cheat. I have churned out these words and told you not a sausage.

Conclusion.

So really this is an exercise to see if I can write without anything to write about. I do hope that people are not too disappointed, but they all can see what can be done with the minimum of raw material.

Thank you so much for reading.

VocalPop CultureHumanity
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Much ado about nothing. I think someone else wrote about this, lol.

  • Omgggg, that's it! You have like hundreds of Villanelles! Pleaseeeeee enter all of them into the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.