Futurism logo

The wrong bus

Change is coming

By Hanna VPublished 4 years ago 9 min read

I realized that I was sitting in the wrong bus when I was the last person and the driver turned around to me and said

“Sorry love, but that’s the last stop. I’m not going back to Oban until 3 pm.”

I swallowed and stood up to leave the bus, it was noon.

“I must have misread the sign when I got in, can you please tell me where we are?”

I had been reading a book and didn’t pay attention to signs on the way, which bit me now in the arse – again.

The bus driver smiled friendly

“We’re in Campbeltown, where was it you were meant to go?”

“Damn, I should be in Fort Augustus” I sighed “3 pm, you said?”

“Oh, dear. Yes, love”

“Cheers, I’ll see you later.”

The bus driver left the bus with me, locked the doors, and went away whistling, while I tried to bring my thoughts in order.

Stupid! Stupid, stupid, stupid idiot! How difficult is it to catch the right bus! For crying out loud, you’re 28 years old and too stupid to breathe! One day you’ll end up in the very wrong place.

I sighed again and tried to find my bearings.

Campbeltown seemed to be a typical Scottish coastal town with a marketplace, which was surrounded by a church, small cottages which spread along the high street, overlooking the harbour, which was filled with fishing boats, small yachts, and two small trawlers. Seagulls were cackling over my head, looking for careless tourists to steal their chips and ice cream from. Near me was a pile of lobster traps, smelling of seawater, algae, and fish – not the most pleasant smell in the world, really. A few sparrows were sitting in the mesh, chirping at me expectantly but when I didn’t provide crumbs they flew off.

I looked around to find a café or restaurant because I was hungry and needed a toilet. The sun which had been shining for most of the day was hiding behind big dark clouds now, which promised rain. Another reason to find a place to kill time. Also, I didn’t like to be too close to the sea, it gave me shivers. My parents said I nearly drowned when I was three years old. We were spending a day at the beach when I went too close to the water and a big wave pulled me in. I remember the pain in my lungs from breathing in seawater and a friendly face helping me back ashore.

Some nights I dream of that day and I see a beautiful mermaid. I’ve asked my parents once whether a mermaid saved my life and my older brother Jack laughed and started calling me “little miss mermaid”. I never asked again, and the dreams came less often. The only thing remaining from that day is a crescent scar on my right cheek, where I must have hit a stone while being tumbles around by the waves.

The Harborview grille seemed to look nice, but before I went inside, I had to make a call.

“Hi mom…yes it’s me. No, I’m not there yet. I know I should be there by now, but…yes, it happened again. I’m sorry, I…I know its dad’s birthday tomorrow and I will be there tonight; I promise! The bus driver said he’s leaving at 3 pm again but I can try and find a carsharing option…”

While receiving a verbal lashing from my mom, I nearly fell and dropped my phone in a puddle, when someone bumped into me.

“I’m so sorry…” I said because usually, it was my fault when something happened

“I’m so, so sorry, I couldn’t see you!” a female voice behind a tower of boxes said. They didn’t look too heavy and a gust of wind threatened to blow the top ones over.

“Can I help you?” I asked her after fishing my phone out of the puddle. Luckily it was in a waterproof case, but my mom had hung up. I shrugged, deciding to call her back later when she had cooled off.

“If you don’t mind? They are not heavy.”

I grabbed the top two boxes and a freckled face with very bright blue eyes appeared. She wore her dark long hair in a ponytail and smiled gratefully. I had a feeling I knew her from somewhere.

“Where do you want them?” I asked

“Do you see the red car at the corner? That’s mine.”

It was only a few doors down the road

“I’m so sorry I was in your way,” I said

“No, really. I’m sorry and now you’re even helping me. I feel so bad. What’s your name?”

“I’m Melissa, don’t worry about it. What’s your name?”

“I’m Jessy. Can I at least invite you for a coffee? There’s a nice little café not far from here.”

“OK, I have to wait anyway for the bus. I caught the wrong bus from Oban and now I’m here when I’m meant to be at my dad’s birthday in Fort Williams.” I didn’t know why I told her, a total stranger, but it felt right.

“Oh darn, that’s very far from your destination! I’m so sorry to hear that!”

We had reached the car and stored the boxes inside when the first raindrops started falling.

“Let’s grab a coffee before we are drowned.”

The café close by was overlooking the harbour and we managed to grab a window seat, being the only customers. Over the sea yellowish clouds were rushing towards us, promising a thunderstorm.

I heard Jessy muttering “Oh no, please no! I don’t want to go!” and her entire attitude changed from being a cheery young woman to a frightened girl.

“What is it? It’s just a thunderstorm, right? We really shouldn’t go anywhere right now anyway.” Jessy just shrugged. After serving our coffee the waitress had vanished, and it was only the two of us in the small room. Something felt off and I started to get nervous, especially since Jessy had become quiet. We both stirred our Latte, an awkward silence stretching between us.

After a few long minutes, the waitress brought our cakes – a millionaire’s shortbread and my lemon drizzle. I tried to jumpstart a conversation.

“Soo, are you moving? I mean…Ehm all the boxes…?”

“Hmm.”

So much for a conversation…

I nibbled a few bites from my cake, just to have something to do.

Jessy, who had been staring over the sea with a blank expression suddenly looked at me, her eyes which now had the greyish colour of the sea hanging on my cheek.

“Where did you get the scar from?”

Wow, no small talk then. Eh?

“I got it from a day at the beach when I was a kid. A wave pulled me in and I nearly drowned.”

“Ah. Sorry.” I could see the cogs whirring in her head, but I didn’t know what she was thinking about. She was confusing me a lot. A few bites into her shortbread Jessy started talking

“Listen, I’m sorry for my behavior, it’s just I can’t deal this kind of weather.” She reached over the table and put her hand on my arm.

I could feel the tiny hairs on my arm and in my neck rising and was about to answer, when the first lightning hit, immediately followed by thunder, I jumped, Jessy shrieked. It was raining heavily now, I couldn’t even see the pier any longer, which was only a stone’s throw away from the house.

In the back, a window was rattling and burst with a bash, which brought a cold draft pulling the front door open and rain-soaked the floor.

Something in the café fell over with a bang and we both turned to look but couldn’t see anything. When we turned back, we both shrieked, my hand finding Jessy’s, holding on for dear life. A tall and very muscular man with a dark beard and salt- and pepper hair stood in front of us, wearing a toga and a trident. A toga and a trident? Who the hell he thinks he is? Neptune? His bright blue eyes looked furiously at Jessy.

“Jessy! Your time here is up since the last new moon! Come with me…NOW!” his voice boomed and sounded like actual thunder.

“Dad, please. I know I’m late; I was just tying up loose ends. I promise I will be home tonight!”

“NO! You had enough time! We go now!”

Normally I’m no one to intervene an argument, especially not with a burly guy like this, but something inside me snapped and I liked Jessy. I felt we had a connection of some sorts.

“Excuse me, sir. Don’t you think she’s old enough to make her own decisions? I don’t want to intervene, but …”

“ENOUGH! Jessy, I told you not to get involved with HUMANS!” hold on “Humans”???

“I just met her today, please dad. She doesn’t know anything! Don’t hurt her!” Whoa, hurt me?

“I’m not going to hurt a human, but now she knows too much.” He replied, even angrier than before, if that was possible.

“Ehm, I don’t know anything, sir. Only that you’re a bully.” Where did that come from? Usually, I don’t even stand up for myself.

He seemed to contemplate for a minute, staring me down and then - laughed. Jessy and I looked at each other with raised eyebrows.

“I have been called many names young lady, but never a bully! I admire your attitude; however inappropriate it is. You will forget all about Jessy and myself and go back to your family.” Having said that, he lifted his trident and was interrupted by Jessy.

“Dad, please. I think she’s the girl.” There was silence, a very puzzled silence on my side.

“Are you sure? What’s your name?” His eyes narrowed and it seemed he saw me for the first time.

“Me…Melissa, sir. Melissa McDonald.” I didn’t like the way he studied my face, but Jessy squeezed my hand, which gave me some comfort.

“Hmm, come with me, both of you.” He turned around, left the café, and went towards the pier. Jessy smiled at me and tugged at my hand while following her father, I had no choice but to follow them.

When I stepped out, the storm had passed, and the sun was about to break through the dark clouds, a rainbow had appeared over the dark grey sea. When the sun hit Jessy’s father, I had to squint my eyes, because he was sparkling, as if someone had dipped him in fairy dust. Odd…

He waited for us at the end of the pier and before I could say another word, he started chanting in words I couldn’t understand but felt drawn to. It was beautiful and with the song came images of a woman, who looked similar to me. Who was she?

When he finished, he looked at me and banged his trident three times on the pier. I felt fuzzy all over and somehow wobbly on my feet but before I fell over, Jessy caught me and helped me sit down. When I looked up, I saw the sun reflecting on the ocean and heard a melody in my head, which I had forgotten. I wanted nothing more than to swim in the ocean and find the voice which was humming the melody. I bent forward and fell off the pier, into the cold water, sinking like a stone, my eyes shut. When I couldn’t hold my breath any longer, I was expecting the pain I had experienced when I nearly drowned as a little girl – it never came! Surprised I opened my eyes and looked around me, Jessy was there and her father, something was different. It took me a moment to realize, that they had fishtails! I gaped in shock and tried to paddle away from them, but instead of paddling with both feet, one solid movement catapulted me towards the surface.

My head was sticking out the water now and, in the sun, I could see my hands sparkle, as had Jessy’s father. Talking of my hands: they had freakin’ webs! When Jessy and her father appeared at the surface, I shouted at them

“What have you done to me?! Don’t touch me, Jessy!” I flinched away from her when she swam towards me, feeling betrayed.

“Listen, I cannot image how difficult this is for you, but believe me, you’re home now.” Jessy said.

“Home?! Are you kidding me? My family is in Fort Williams and that’s where I will go now.” I turned to swim towards the shore.

“Melissa! You’re my granddaughter.”

fantasy

About the Creator

Hanna V

I worked on cruise ships, which didn't leave me much time for writing, however I always loved reading, mostly fantasy.

Over the past months I felt, that there are stories in my head, which demand to be written and I'm happy to obligde.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hanna VWritten by Hanna V

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.