Futurism logo

My Inter-galactic Dream

Dreaming about the glory of Space

By Carol TownendPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
My Inter-galactic Dream
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

I'm laid in my comfortable bed and I'm floating through space as I fall into a deep, peaceful sleep. Nobody can disturb me from the wonders of my beautiful dream.

I'm floating on my bed through the cool night sky, floating up above millions of star and the beautiful hue of colours behold me as I pass the Milkyway, yellow, white, orange and red, which deepen as my mind wanders through this beautiful dream. A shooting star passes me, bright and silver, like a jewel in the sky, showcasing a tail of wonderful glitter as it goes on its full journey to reach its destiny.

I'm at peace in this world as I pass the planets of Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn, Neptune, Uranus and Pluto, all a beautiful vast range of rich colours I see as I float by. The misty Milkyway surrounds me, adding to the serenity of the colourful images embracing me and comforting me as I sleep. There are wooshing noises like waves and crackles like fireworks as the infinite universe works its magic around me.

Suddenly I see a beautiful big shining gas giant, showcasing its disco and fascinating to see. Brilliant glows of yellow, orange and red, radiating its hot heat and blinding me with brilliant light. This heat makes me warm, then hot causing sweat to drip down my face. However, I am mesmerized and stunned, yet not ready to wake up!

Still drifting in the beautiful universe that is in my mind, I see space dust raining glitter across the sky. Beautiful shimmers of pink, green, red and blue showcasing the galaxies fancy hue. I am floating towards the moon, its soft light giving me comfort in this beautiful never-ending scenery of darkness and light.

There is no oxygen out here but luckily I'm in a trendy space suit. Suddenly there is a large WOOSH!!! as an asteroid flies past. It just misses the Earth! I watch in amazement, then I'm nervous. 'Will it really hit Earth?' I wonder. I now find myself floating closer to the big gas giant I saw earlier, making my face burn hotter and hotter, I can't breathe because the heat is worse than sunbathing in the desert.

I am now moving towards the earth, and suddenly I feel as though I am falling...falling down, lured in by its gravity pull. Slowly moving through the vast darkness and never-ending atmosphere of space, I feel myself sinking further and further until I fall onto the silky sheets of my bed.

The daylight finally shines through my curtains and I feel the warmth of the sun on my face. I wake up sweating and disoriented, not knowing where I am. "I swear I was floating high above the earth with the planets!" I tell myself, shaking my head in disbelief. Every memory is vivid in my mind; the stars, the planets, the gas giant. Suddenly realization kicks in and I realize that the gas giant was the sun!

I always wanted to live in space, away from the hustle and bustle, and the smell of petrol on Mother Earth, tormented by the cruelty of human mankind's hands. I feel disappointed to be back home in the ruined world that we live in. I visualise life on Mars, and I wonder if life would be different there. Would we learn to live cleaner and look after our precious planet? I shake my head in disgust. The thought of mankind ruining Mars does not appeal to me. Our oceans are ruined, our icebergs are melting, our atmosphere is failing. Oh! I just want to go back to sleep and get away from the evil nature of the humans living on Earth.

I walk to my bathroom and splash my face in order to wake me from the disorientation that now holds me, yet wanting to fall back in that peaceful slumber, where I can float in space again. I think to myself, maybe one day we will look after Earth. I look in the mirror and I wonder... was this a dream? Once I am cool, I wander back into bed and I fall deeper and deeper back into my slumber...where the dream starts again! This is a dream, I never want to wake up from.

I love creative and imaginative writing, and I love writing about dreams like these. However this isn't the only topic I write about. I write about many things. You can read more by visiting my link below:

https://vocal.media/authors/carol-townend

I love hearts, they show me that you love my work. I also love optional tips as they help me to buy things I need.

astronomy
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.