Futurism logo

Fearless 3

The Making of a Hero

By Ada ZubaPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
Part 3

The next day, Jon was waiting for me down in the bonus living room or I guess it was more of a salon than anything else. Anyways, a coffee table stood in the center of the room and a fireplace was on the right of it and behind was a couch. On the coffee table was a black box that looked like it contained cash or something of high importance. Jon opened it and in it were white stickers and a device that looked like an old Nokia phone.

"These will help measure how fast your body is changing and I can make a training schedule according to that," he explained as he sat down and started to take out the stickers. "I just need your ankles and your wrists," he said and I pulled my wrists toward Jon and he carefully looked for my vein and he placed it on the inside of my wrist.

"How do you know?" I asked him.

"Know what? Be specific," he replied.

"Know that I will have powers?" I asked.

"Your sisters do," he answered. That reply made me laugh out loud, I could not picture my sisters saving the world, but then again I couldn't picture myself either.

"I know it's hard to believe, but trust me it will all change," he said and he stuck the sticker on my left ankle. I then felt a weird tingling around the stickers. "You might feel tiny spikes around the stickers," he said. Well, that explained the weird tingling feeling. "You just need to wear these for five hours and your parents told me you need to rest, so do that, but don't get wet or soaked," he said. "I've got to run now." Jon stood up and put the phone in his pocket. I was then left alone. I was not sure where my sisters were but my parents had gone to work. All I got was a note instructing me to stay at home and get rest. I went back upstairs to my room to change from my pajamas and that's when I looked in the mirror. All my bruises had disappeared and my scratches were nowhere to be seen. Maybe it was the change in the climate and things just healed faster here. I mean, I was always a fast healer. Right after I changed I went downstairs and sat by the pool in one of the lounge chairs. It has been a while since I saw the sun and it was a beautiful day. Then, out of nowhere, the stickers sent a jolt through my body and it felt like they were burning my skin. I called Jon immediately.

"The stickers are burning me," I panicked.

"Peel them off right now," he told me and I did as he said. The stickers, however, burned the tips of my fingers.

"They're off," I informed him.

"Okay, I will be by shortly," he said and he was not kidding because then the doorbell rang. I went to open it, but it was not Jon it was a guy about my age. He had grey eyes and black hair that was cut short. He was very attractive, but what was he doing at my doorstep?

"Hi, you don't know me but I'm your next door neighbor your mail keeps coming to my house," he explained and he handed me a handful of mail, which fell from my hands and he helped me pick it up. "I'm Jess, you must be new," he said.

"Yeah, I am Asmerla. Nice to meet you," I replied.

"Oh that's a really cool name, anyways I got to run. I guess I will see you around," he said quickly.

"Yeah, sure. See you around," I said and he was already past the gate. "Or not," I mumbled to myself. Then Jon's car rolled up the driveway.

"Where are the stickers?" he asked.

"I threw them on the counter," I replied and he took out the Nokia looking object from his pocket.

"Oh, that's odd..." he said.

"I think there has been a mistake then, apparently you have not been affected by the plane crash," he said looking at his device.

"Oh?" I asked him.

"It only got your sisters...how very peculiar," he thought out loud.

The next few weeks got really weird. My oldest sister would become invisible from nowhere. I mean literally. We were sitting at the dinner table having a regular conversation, she was excited about something related to science. I usually have a hard time keeping up with what comes out of her mouth because it is all in the language of science and that has never been my strong suit. Anyways, she then disappeared her face and hair were all gone and then her hands disappeared. She was invisible but her clothes were just floating by the table. My parents had called Jon right away, when he came by he sat down next to my sister and told her to try and learn how to control it, he made her take deep breaths. Amy then started to reappear.

"Now, next time this happens to you, remember to get yourself in a confined space as soon as possible and calm down," instructed Jon. "For now, I am going to give you a tracking device for anywhere you are and if this occurs again, you just have to press a button and I can instruct you on what to do next," he told Amy.

Then, a few days later my other sister Alexis had woken up in the middle of the night because her body would not stop moving. It was as if she had ADD or ADHD, but it times one hundred. Then, it was like she was super fast at everything possible. That's when we called Jon for the second time and he told her exactly what he told Amy.

"Calm down and take deep breaths and control your feelings, that is the most important part for you, that means excitement and happiness. If you feel yourself getting out of control, you need to take a few of these pills," he said and he pulled out a capsule of pills to Alexis and gave them to her. "It will only help control your emotions, there shouldn't be any side effects, but if you feel something funny, contact me okay?" And once again he was gone.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.